We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Loyal Customer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New Loyal Customer”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My fiancé and I had a wonderful experience at this hotel. It is completely ADA accessible, we had no trouble getting around, finding parking and the bathrooms were ADA compliant also! It was so nice to sit outside on our balcony, or near the pool. I believe that Sand Key is the best kept secret in Clearwater. My fiancé and I just happened to run into the general manager as we were leaving to go to dinner. Great guy and really made our night with a nice gesture! I can't wait to go back and visit. Thank you to the staff for making it such a great stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Sand Key view of the room! You can have a view of the pool, ocean, and sunsets! The balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. I am pleased that you and your fiancé found the hotel properly equipped for your needs. Our GM does lead by example as he genuinely cares about our guests. I have shared your review with him. We do have an award winning culinary staff preparing your meals and our servers are friendly and professional, I am sure you enjoyed your dining experience. This location is beautiful and relaxing and we are pleased that we could share our “tropical paradise” with you both. We look forward to this just being a start to a great relationship.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    950
    337
    124
    48
See reviews for
920
752
49
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The worst thing about this place is not the small bathrooms that everyone complains about, it is the fact that there is no mini fridge/microwave so you are forced to eat out everyday. I loved the pool bar! The pool is small for a resort area, the beach is great! I see alot of people complaining about the walk to the beach, but that did not bother us. The fact that you can sit back, have a drink on the beach and watch the people is great! Plus we found some awesome shells! The staff was very accomodating. I would recommend if you do not care to eat out every day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tconley2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
You are correct; you do not need much to enjoy a day at the beach. Clear skies, warm breezes, not too many people and liberal amounts of sunscreen – that’s about it. Yes… and a few tropical drinks by the pool. It’s here that you can tune out the world, your worries and your obligations and just reflect. We now have refrigerators in most of the rooms and will finish putting them in all the rooms when occupancy allows. We hope you will return the next time you want to relax and recharge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton Sand Key as an extension to our Spring Break. We visited and stayed in the Tampa Bay area in a beach house the week prior. Our room was one that had recently been updated. (I understand from the bell hop that some haven't been updated.) The room was spacious, beds were comfortable and our view from the 6th floor was great. Rooms all have balconies which are great to watch the sunset, but you're close to all others sitting on their balconies too. The pool was crowded with kids as it was spring break, but it was nice. Lots of chairs for everyone on the grounds. If you didn't want to be pool side you could sit in the grassy area under a palm tree. Pool snack bar and pool side cabana bar for all to enjoy as well. Long walk to the beach but that's where we spent most of our time. Simply that the hotel is set back from the beach. You walk from the pool deck to sand but have a little walk to hit water's edge. Lots of activities and water sports. Cabanas available for rent on beach with food and beverage service ocean front in your cabana which is nice. Breakfast buffet was included with our stay. I'm not sure I would have paid for it otherwise. Good place for families for vacation. We did happen to have a fraternity formal going while there. The dance wasn't at the hotel, but they were quite rowdy. We had an incident at the beach where our rented cabana and chairs had been taken over by several college aged couples doing some early morning drinking. No harm once we asked them to move, but a pain none the less. Well maintained white sandy beaches. At the end of the beach next to Sand Key nature preserve so less traffic than other properties too.

Room Tip: We stayed in 636? The building is a an "L" shaped and we were in the corner of the "L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Whether you're looking for a peaceful, relaxing vacation or a fun-filled family getaway, we provide the perfect setting to make new memories. I am pleased you enjoyed your room. We are constantly renovating and all of the rooms will be completed as occupancy allows. The view from your room begins at palm trees blowing in the sea breeze and extends to the horizon; it is a great place to enjoy a Sheraton sunset. We love being here on tranquil Sand Key as it is truly “paradise.” Sand Key and the Clearwater area are known for their exceptional beaches. Our wide beach is due to the Jetty on the waterway to the north of Sand Key Park. That makes our Island beach serene as it away from the sounds and sites of the outside world. We just have added several new activities such as Beach Tennis which is an electrifying new sport. Thank you for being so understanding with the incident concerning the cabanas. I hope you will return again and I thank you for a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were looking for a quite gateway for a few days and the location of this place turned out to be ideal - it is located away from the busy Clearwater beach area but not too far, it is next to a park, it has it's own private beach, it is close to multiple restaurants [multiple price ranges], it is close to a grocery store, it is close to the bay and the ocean. Harbor view from the room is nothing spectacular, but it is a view. Room was standard size with the necessary amenities [no refrigerator], but the bathroom was on the smaller side. I do have to state that the bed was very comfortable and relaxing. The pool is not that big and on weekends gets a bit crowded. Although located on the ocean, there is no view from the pool area and the ocean is couple of minutes walk away. The pool bar is normal - over priced - but service was not the best. Beach rental costs are average.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vodkatonics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We are way from hustle and bustle of Clearwater Beach, yet still close enough. We love being here on tranquil Sand Key. I am pleased that it was just what you anticipated. The sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico, the beaches of Sand Key, dolphin sightings, and shell collecting all truly showcase Florida’s natural beauty! There are even nesting turtles and eagles in flight. More than 50 native birds can be found by just taking a few minute walk to Sand Key Park. We are working on a project and there will be refrigerators in all the rooms by the end of this year. I will share your comment on the service at the pool bar with our Director of Food and Beverage; we apologize. I am pleased you enjoyed our “Sweet Sleeper Beds.” They were put in the rooms with our guests comfort in mind. We do hope you will think of us the next time you are planning a quick get-away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

This was a spg award stay for two adults and two teenage daughters in a double room

We just finished spending 7 wonderful nights at this property. The rooms are average and the pool was extremely crowded (spring vacation week), but the part we enjoyed the most was the beautiful beach.

I find the sand quality of Sand Key a notch below that of (unnaturally perfect) Clearwater Beach, but the best part of Sheraton's beach is that there is no need to fight for space. No need to rent the $25 cabana.

I found that the staff went out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Our favorite were the folks attending the club lounge.

Any negatives? In addition to what you heard from other reviewers (small bathroom, etc) I found the AC too loud. Not a big deal.

We'll be back next year.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Panaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
If you are a beach person this is definitely the place to be … It is an exceptionally large and private Island beach. The smell of salt water and the gentle roar of the waves combine to create a sense of peace and calm. Two things determine the size of sand on beaches: the energy (height) of the waves, and the size of the material furnished to the beach. Other things being equal, the higher the average waves on a beach, the coarser the sand. The Pier on Clearwater Beach breaks the waves before they reach the shore. I am sure your two teenage daughters enjoyed their experience and hopefully memories were made for you all. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the Sheraton Club lounge and its associates. Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize all our outstanding associates. They truly enjoy going above and beyond to make your stay special. We do thank you for being a SPG member and we appreciate your loyalty. We will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel is a pretty average hotel. The food options weren't many and the quality was okay. The snack area by the pool was pretty bad, only serving limited fast good like burgers, fries and frozen-style pizza. The pool was always crowded and didn't look very enticing. Most disappointing was the beach itself - sand was not soft with little peoples and shells everywhere and the water itself was rough and not clear. Probably would not choose to go to Clearwater or this hotel again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandinmyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
I apologize for your experience being disappointing. Mother Nature is in control of our beach and the amount of particulate matter in the water depends on the degree of water movement and the size distribution of particulates on the sea bottom. For example, wave action and storm surge can stir up the sea bottom and suspend particulate matter in the water. So the clearness of the water changes with the weather conditions.The food issues I have shared with our Executive Chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We chose the Sheraton Sand Key because we wanted more of a holiday experience for the long weekend getaway. It was a good choice and a pleasant stay. The only negative was that it was spring break but that had nothing to do with the hotel. Overall a very nice stay and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Upper floors seem to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClamTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We would love to have you join us at a more tranquil time. We truly want your next stay to be completely the experience you anticipate. When planning a future weekend getaway we hope you will consider the Sheraton Sand Key.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,324 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
1.0 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#4 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Property: Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton
Sheraton Sand Key Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing