We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are just starting our journey together in this world and we chose The Sheraton Sand Key Resort to stay at on our honeymoon. We are blue collar middle class people so this hotel is indeed a change from what we are used to. The bell hop took our luggage when we arrived and was extremely nice and courteous. The room was clean, and we were pleased to see free water, wine glasses, and Starbucks coffee waiting on us in the bathroom. The bed was out of this world comfortable and I truly don't think a bed could get much softer. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the pool area and beach is amazing. I recommend this hotel to anybody and will definitely be returning.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I am delighted that you chose the Sheraton Sand Key to spend such a memorable time in your journey and am pleased your experience was even more then you anticipated. I hope many memories were made while here and you will return over the years to make many more. Long walks on the beach with beautiful sunsets are here waiting for you. The Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed is found in each of our guest rooms and is comprised of luxurious sheets, a deluxe duvet, a selection of feather down and hypoallergenic pillows, and a custom mattress, It was made with your comfort in mind. Our associates are genuinely friendly and caring and personally enjoy making your stay special. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    978
    342
    128
    52
See reviews for
960
768
51
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed here for a long weekend and found the atmosphere very comfortable and accommodating. The location is perfect and the room was clean and had a nice view. The staff were polite and helpful when needed. I loved that I could be there all day and have PLENTY to do, and definitely wouldn't starve! The food at the restaurants on site is pretty good. We ate there at least 4 or 5 times. The pool is nice and appropriate for families and in a gorgeous setting. The beach is right there!!. I also had a jaunt in the fitness center and loved using the treadmill with a beautiful view.
Overall, I found it to be a very pleasant stay and will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
It is very satisfying to hear that your expectations were fulfilled during your stay. Our associates truly care and do their best to ensure that you enjoy your time with us. As a top year-round destination, Sand Key offers a seemingly endless supply of natural beauty, and outdoor activities both on land and at sea. We are pleased you enjoyed our location. Sheraton Fitness does have a panoramic view; it gives you the feel of running the beach in air conditioning. Thank you for recognizing our talented culinary staff. We will look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was a little nervous about staying here because there are mixed reviews. But I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed our stay very much. Check in and check out went smooth. We requested a refrigerator and a crib and they were both in our room as soon as we put down our luggage. It couldn't have been any faster. The room was a good size. Clean. Well maintained. Free bottle of water daily and free starbucks coffee in the room. During the week we got 2 different newspapers delivered to our room. The pool had a few umbrellas but you had a lot of green area and palm trees that gave shade and a pleasant breeze from the ocean. No complaints! We had a 3 1/2 yr old and 8 mon old with us and we were fine. The beach was beautiful. The hotel is on the beach but it's a walk to the shoreline but the hotel brings you drinks and lunch (chips, sandwiches, alcohol,etc..) to the beach...nice perk! They have balls and toys for the kids that you can borrow. They provide swimmies for the little ones too. They provide towels for the pool and beach. You can rent daily cabana or umbrella with 2 chairs for $25. Free parking is great too. The only thing we weren't too crazy about was the food. The food options weren't too great and the food was just okay which shouldn't be the case considering the price. The best place to eat at the hotel is Island Grille but limited hours. But their menu was better than anything else and the food was very good and price was great. For breakfast we had the buffet breakfast for $15. It works out because if 1 adult gets the buffet than the children are free so you can't beat it. The location is perfect - away from the crowd of Clearwater beach. But not many restaurants at all to walk too that's the drawback.

I would definitely go back without a doubt. Service was great. They are very attentive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I was very pleased that you did not let those reviews effect your decision to stay with us. I am delighted you found our resort to be an oasis from the busy Clearwater Beach area and that you had a relaxing and enjoyable experience. This is a great place for a family vacation. Our beach is beautiful…the perfect place for you to relax and reconnect. The smell of salt water and the gentle roar of the waves combine to create a sense of peace and calm here on the beaches of Sand Key. There are several restaurants in walking distance in the shops across the street. There are a couple of local places for casual dining, a pizza place and two fine dining restaurants. We looked forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel is in desperate need of an update, in every sense of the word. The building itself and customer service. it is not the best Sheraton I've stayed at as far as customer service,it is really important that the front of house staff are polite and curtious , some of them really do need to be updated on this especially the guys on reception, they are really not what you would expect to represent the Sheraton, however we did find the maintenance and cleaning staff very polite and curtious, perhaps they could change roles or maybe the could advise the other staff how to behave towards the customers. The room very badly located very dark, had no sunlight at anytime of day and the noise from the generator made it impossible to use the balcony. will not use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Poppie123186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Please accept our apologies for having missed the opportunity to impress you. It is our goal to effectively meet the expectations of our guests and provide excellent customer service. I am pleased that you enjoyed the heart of our house associates and I am sorry that our front of the house did not give you that same warm and welcoming feeling. It is definitely not the genuine service we strive to deliver. We are constantly renovating on a regular basis to keep the hotel updated and will continue to do so to fix those worn out areas. We are in the first phase of putting new furniture and refrigerators in the rooms at this time and will finish when occupancy allows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I was debating with myself, whether it is 3 or 4 stars out of 5. Really 3.5.
First of all, location is quite good, in our opinion. Not as crazy as Clearwater Beach on another side of the bridge. Nice beach with short pleasant walk on the sand. Don't understand the comments of the people who complain it is long walk to the beach. Don't you want to go for a pleasant walk on your holiday?!
Our room of the 6th floor had balcony with a nice view of the Gulf.
Rooms are ok at best, dated, and generally worn out. Bathroom and outside sink are tiny and old.
Service is generally good, with friendly, cheerful and professional staff. There were some "less friendly" people at times at the front desk.
This resort definitely lack sophistication and rightfully positions itself as family resort. That would be fine, if not for the lack of facilities for kids.
Pool is very crowded; kiddie pool is tiny, playground is not nice, and not used much, and there is really nothing else. Charging $5 per night for cribs is also annoying. Interestingly enough, on the website this charge is not disclosed.
The area has numerous kids attractions though, including Clearwater Aquarium 10 mins away: very nice! Tampa Zoo is also very impressive, but 45 mins away.
There is room for improvement at this Sheraton, and it can be transformed into better place, with some improvements and upgrades.

Room Tip: higher floors with a Gulf view are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
I appreciate that you enjoyed the location and our associates. I apologize for the less friendly associates at the front desk. I will share your comment with the Director of Guest Services. Enjoying the relaxing sounds while on a beach walk is hard to beat with the gentle sound of waves rolling in and breaking against the sand. It’s continual, more or less universal and that is the perfect background noise to think or just enjoy bonding with your family. It is a restful place to come to after enjoying all those kids’ attractions. We are committed to the quality of our hotel and are constantly renovating on a regular basis to keep it updated. We do not charge a resort fee and only charge for amenities used such as the cribs. Through each comment we receive, both positive and negative, we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it is truly appreciated. We would like to remain your hotel of choice when visiting our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a nice place on a beautiful beach. We used points to stay here, so I can't speak to the cost/value. Upon arrival, parking was very simple and free. Our room was ready and the property was sold out as it was Mother's Day weekend. We were pretty hungry when we arrived, so we ate at the bar/grill. My husband had a Grilled Grouper sandwich and I had the Cuban. Both were excellent. All rooms have a refrigerator so I was able to take half my sandwich to go and eat later.

Our room was cozy. It was a perfectly good size for an average hotel room. The balcony was very small, but we could stand on it and look outside. The toilet and tub were in one small room, and the sink was in another. I actually like this because it allows one to get ready/brush teeth while another is showering/using the bathroom. Bed was very comfortable.

The pool is beautiful and well-maintained. Though, it seems that there were many pool crashers as several people we met came to the property to eat a meal at a restaurant, and then stayed to hang out at the pool. Although the hotel was sold out and there seemed to be crashers, there were still plenty of lounge chairs and room in the pool. The pool bar made excellent margaritas and mojitos. We learned that we could BYOB to the pool. There is a Food Mart across the street and we went there, bought beer, and had that at the pool. Much cheaper than the pool drinks.

Lots of kids at the pool. LOTS! They provided swim diapers for free which was a bonus.

The beach is very nice, though it's not private like the hotel website wants you to think. Anyone can rent a shade and lounge chairs ($25). But it is much less crowded than the rest of the beach. There was sand volleyball and beach tennis that the hotel provided and it was very popular.

In the little strip mall across the street (Food Mart location), are a few restaurants that are great. Backwaters offers good food at good prices. Pizza Bizzar has DELICIOUS pizza and hummus. Outdoor seating in the back overlooks the bay and it's so peaceful. There's also a Duncan Donuts and some little shops.

Sheraton is nice. It's clearly one of the older hotels, but the friendly staff and beautiful beach make up for the aging façade.

Room Tip: Must be platinum level to access the club. We are gold and were not allowed to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizrainh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
The Clearwater Sand Key area offers a seemingly endless supply of entertainment, natural beauty, and outdoor activities both on land and at sea. We have brought beach tennis Pro, Steven Cutler (Coach Rhino) as the Pool and Beach Activities Director to coordinate activities and provide resort guests with beach tennis lessons. Along with beach tennis, Coach Rhino will be providing an array of activities for guests of all ages. He will be coordinating programs such as beach tennis clinics, sand volleyball games, corn hole and other outside activities. Your review of the area amenities was perfect it; certainly informative to anyone planning a stay here, thank you. I do apologize for incorrect information given to you about BYOB… that is not allowed. We are pleased you enjoyed a great night’s sleep on one of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds which is found in each of our guest rooms. The bed is comprised of luxurious sheets, a deluxe duvet, a selection of feather down and hypoallergenic pillows, and a custom mattress. I do hope there will be another stay planned in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Cheam
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel twice and absolutely have the best time. We had a lovely view from our room, the bathrooms are small but don't be put off as the rooms make up for sheer comfort and convenience, there is also a fridge in the room. Laundry facilities are available. The staff are always on hand to help you. The beach bar is a welcome addition in the afternoon, and there is lots of beach activities. Rustys bistro is great and the food is delicious. Definitely worth staying at the hotel and we will be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NCSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
I was delighted with your comments. Our goal is to ensure that each time you return your experience is exactly what you anticipated it to be. The dedication of our friendly, efficient associates to ensure that there is always a smile and that they are there to assist you when needed. Playing Volleyball or Beach Tennis, enjoying a refreshing beverage at our pool bar, and dinner in Rusty’s Bistro enjoying their culinary delights definitely sounds like a return visit is in order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,392 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,249 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#23 of 98 in Clearwater
4,667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Property: Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#6 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton
Sheraton Sand Key Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing