We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beware!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Sheraton, right! You would think they'd be honest and up front for their rooms. NOT! We booked a room from three choices. GulfView (most expensive), Coastal View(mid range) and Parking lot view. What they don't tell you is that A. The coastal view overlooks they roof of the Conference Center and all of the noisy, loud and unsightly rooftop A/C units. We couldn't even enjoy our balcony due to the noise and the hot air blowing towards us. And B. the so called Parking Lot view had the best of both with views of the Gulf and Coastal without paying for the upgrade. The beach, is a Gazzilion miles from the resort. Not fun lugging chairs, cooler, toys and children to the water. Oh did I mention a drink at the pool bar was $11.00. BEWARE before you book this place!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
I sincerely apologize as it is our goal to effectively meet the expectations of our guests and provide excellent customer service. Not meeting our goals and your expectations is very concerning. The beach is a bit of a walk; Sand Key and the Clearwater area are known for their exceptional beaches. Our wide beach is due to the Jetty on the waterway to the north. I am sure it felt like a long walk trying to get chairs, children and all that goes along with a day at the beach. Arrangements can be made if someone needs assistance to the water’s edge. I apologize that the room view did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, we do have times where we are unable to upgrade from the room type that was booked. We strive to put accurate descriptions such as parking lot view on each of our rooms so the price difference for each different view is easy to see and understand. The drink you had at the Tiki bar is in line with the other beach hotels in the area. Our average Tropical drink is $9.00, specialty drinks can cost $11.00.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,027
    961
    337
    126
    51
See reviews for
934
760
50
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Sheraton Sand Key resort June 30 to July 5th. We were not allowed to check in until 3pm sharp. After being on the hot road we were a little disappointed we had to wait. We ended up sitting in the lobby which had WiFi and cool air. There was a law enforcement convention going on inside the resort so the parking situation was not good for the first 3 days of our stay. It seems that the police think they don't have to abide by the same laws we do. They parked wherever they wanted even parking near signs stating "no parking by City ordinance ". This was not Sheraton's fault so I will move on. That being said we checked into our room to find our refrigerator had froze up and was not cool. We notified the front desk and the refrigerator was promptly removed and a new one delivered in minutes. We also got free breakfast buffet credited to our room for the trouble. Other than that it was the perfect week in the perfect place. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was flawless and clean. The bed was so comfortable we had to see what kind of mattress it was. The resort was perfect and I will return. The dining was a bit pricey but worth it as there is nothing on the island to eat. We found the breakfast buffet to be delicious. Coffee was excellent. The pool was beautiful as was the entire property. We did not see one single eye sore or anything dirty or rough on the entire property. This is a nice beautiful place worthy of the Sheraton name. Good job Sheraton Sand Key and thank you for a great vacation!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Your review was delightful and it seems as if you easily can adjust to any situation and for that thank you. It is a beautiful relaxing property, breathtaking sunsets, walks on the beach and all that nature offers. Our associates are here to ensure your experience is a success. They are genuinely friendly, warm and caring. The Sheraton “Sweet Sleeper Bed” is found in each of our guest rooms; it is comprised of luxurious sheets, a deluxe duvet, a selection of feather down and hypoallergenic pillows, and a custom mattress. Which can be ordered on line. If you missed the different Venus for dining which are just across the street in the Shoppes of Sand Key. We defiantly look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, FL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel is located on the prettiest beach in the Clearwater area. It is quiet, clean, and lovely. You can rent 2 chairs and an umbrella by the water for the day for $27.50. It was well worth it for the shade. Our room was super clean and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are delighted to be able to share with you all of nature’s beauty that surrounds us. We are pleased you enjoyed being on “Our Island.” Sitting under an umbrella just enjoying the relaxing and gentle sound of waves rolling in and breaking against the sand is wonderful. It is the perfect background noise to think about nothing at all. Then ending your day in the comfort of our “Sweet Sleeper” bed. We hope you will return to our beautiful beach sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

comfortable beds and pillows. Quick check ins. good ala carte dinner at restaurant. Definitely return again during off season when the rates drop significantly. Get a beach chair with an umbrella sit back and debbie will bring you a coctail

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
It sounds as if you are a person who knows how to enjoy a beach experience. The pillows and beds are part of our standard “Sheraton Sweet Sleeper.” They were chosen with our guests’ comfort in mind. I am truly delighted you enjoyed them. We do have a talented culinary staff. I am pleased you enjoyed their efforts. We look forward to having you return for your next beach get away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We were here for a week, with an upgrade to 'gulf view' for travelling with Virgin Holidays. Reception staff, Laura in particular, were lovely and the concierge staff. But the hotel is 40 years old with added on air conditioning which is exceptionally loud to the point that it gave you a headache. We asked if we could try another room, but when Laura asked her manager, he said that there was no point as they were all the same, so we accepted it. The room was very small and narrow, The bathroom was so small that you had to back onto the toilet, and once you were seated you could not shut the door because your legs were in the way. The wash basin and coffee machine were outside of the bathroom and the extractor fan made an horrendous noise - age again. The bath was the length of the bathroom, the smallest I have eve seen, approx 4 foot 6 inches - too small to lie in and too shallow to ever really feel washed properly. Water pressure was terrible, never felt fully rinsed. Small narrow balcony looking over tennis courts and the sandy part of the hotel where weddings and corporate activities were taking place. Lovely location, great for Clearwater and exploring other places up and down the coast, Dunedin, Tarpon Springs, Johns Pass, Gulfport, St Pete Beach and over the mega scary, 20 storey high Sunshine Skywalk Bridge to Sarasota (WHAT AN EXPERIENCE - YOU MUST DO IT!!!!) So a good place for having something to do every day. Ate in the bar 3 nights, good food, and excellent service , first class - worthy of 20% tip, ideal after tiring day out. To sum up - brilliant location, great staff but old hotel - should be knocked down and rebuilt - not worthy of 5star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, pool view or tennis court view, one block overlooked the car park - if I had g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
I sincerely apologize as it is our goal to effectively meet the expectations of our guests and provide excellent customer service. Not meeting our goals and your expectations is very concerning. We have noted your comments and they were shared with the Director of Guest Services regarding the location of your room and the comment made by the manager. I apologize that the manager was not clearer with the explanation. Unfortunately, we are unable to change the size of the room. We have also looked into several options for re-designing the bathroom, however, we have not found a solution that does not take away from the rest of the room. Rest assured these items are always on our mind and we do hope that someday we will find an improvement. I appreciate that you enjoyed the location. We are committed to the quality of our hotel and are constantly renovating on a regular basis to keep it updated. I have shared your comments with Laura; she and the other associates you mentioned truly care … thank you. The Sheraton Sand Key Resort is the perfect base for exploring the area and there is much to see. I agree, the Sunshine Skyway Bridge is quite the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Excellent service from arrival thru departure. Beds were amazing!!!! Beach was pristine and pool was beautiful. Loved the sand pail beverages! The food was excellent! Would recommend this property to all

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
It is our goal to effectively meet the expectations of our guests and provide excellent customer service. It is gratifying to read that your experience here with us was very positive. It seems as if memories were made. I am pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of our Sweet Sleeper beds, our beautiful beach, the pool, the culinary delights prepared by our talented kitchen staff and of course the sand pail beverages. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I asked if I could upgrade my room and he said there was nothing available, Andre was very rude. We get up to our room and it was a view of the roof. I immediately went downstairs and asked if I could be switched because the view was terrible. I got a different guy this time and he looked on the computer and even went to ask the manager. He looked but all he could find was a room two floors up. We took it because it was a little better view. I booked this trip on Priceline and it said and an intercostal view. If I had known it would have been a view of the roof, dumpsters, and trucks coming early in the morning and workers spraying things down late at night I would have paid more for a better room when booking. This is a family hotel with a lot of kids. You can't get in the pool or the hot tub because there are so many kids in it. One night we decide to sit by the pool and there was poop next to one of the chairs. The parking was terrible, we knew every time we left the hotel it would be very hard to find a parking spot when we came back. There are no refrigerators in the room. The pool bar closes at sunset. You have to pay $27 a day if you want beach chairs and an umbrella. A lady comes along the beach with drinks and food, but it is very expensive and not worth it. The drinks were very small. We got massages and the massage room is right in the gym area so you can hear people on the machines and dropping the weights, not very relaxing if you ask me. They say no resort fees but you have to pay for a fridge, wi-fi, chairs/umbrella, even the water bottles they leave in your room. I would not recommend this hotel and I will not be going back.

Room Tip: Make sure you book an ocean, pool, or tennis court view. If not you will have a terrible view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
I understand this does not resolve the issues or the disappointment you experienced. I have spoken to the Director of Guest Services and she has addressed the issue with Andre. I am pleased that the other front desk associate was a better example of our training and helped you be reassigned to a different room. We do have many families this time of the year. There are also many months when it is a very tranquil environment. I do apologize for the unsightly mess by the chairs at the pool. I am sure it was taken care of when it was brought to the pool staff’s attention. We are a small Island surrounded by water. Unfortunately there is no place to go to enlarge the parking lot. We are in the process of having refrigerators in all of our rooms. We will continue this project as occupancy allows. You are able to request a refrigerator at no extra cost when making your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,349 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#13 of 98 in Clearwater
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
1.6 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#23 of 98 in Clearwater
4,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Property: Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton
Sheraton Sand Key Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing