We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the hotel and location. We ate at the mainstay restaurant for chips, salsa, soup, and appetizers as well as the bistro for breakfast. We enjoyed our meals. They offer a good drink menu! Prices are high, but the watermelon lemonade drink was INCREDIBLE!
There is a little shop off the lobby that is open 24 hours, and sells donuts, cookies, candy bars, a variety of drinks, and a few other things.
Yes, the pool gets crowded, but the beach isn't. You can find plenty of shells and coral. Watch out for stingrays and jellyfish. They were spotted almost daily.
My only complaint are the washers and dryers. The clothes come out smelling worse than when they went in and the dryer doesn't dry hardly. A small load was dried twice and was still very wet.
Also, there are no microwaves in the rooms.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank sunshinesandy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Whether you're looking for a peaceful, relaxing vacation or a fun-filled family getaway, we provide the perfect setting to make new memories. I am pleased that your stay was a success. The beach does have many treasures and everyday there is a new gift from the sea. Yes! there are stingrays and jellyfish this time of the year. You just have to remember to do the stingray shuffle. We appreciate our loyal guests who inform us on areas we need to focus on and the washers and dryers have been addressed. We hope you will revisit “Our Island”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,131 - 1,137 of 2,623 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

This has been a great hotel experience minus a few things;

Positives;

The lobby is spotless and very beautiful. You are greeted immediately and treated like family!

The room was very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. The view was amazing. The room was the perfect size for two people. The hotel location was also very nice for what we were doing with beach access!

Most of the staff were very friendly, helpful, and approachable. Many of them would go out of there way to help you anyway they could. They made our stay even more nice by the way we were treated.

Negatives;

The hotel is very crowded with screaming kids in every direction. I cannot place blame on the hotel for this as this is the parents fault. You will not have much privacy here.

Mainstay Pub was not very good at all. Outside of a free pool table we avoided the area and the food at all costs.

The pool is was too small for the rooms this hotel has. This needs expanded asap. My wife and I literally had to stay in one spot in order to not get kicked in the face. The pool employees are awful. They literally walk around looking to reprimand someone but when the time comes to report a real problem they do not care. My wife went to them about a kid tearing up the floats and they literally looked up at her, and the back down to their phones. This was NOT okay.

I would love to stay here again. The pros for sure out-weigh the cons!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Through each comment we receive, both positive and negative, we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our guests. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We have noted your comments regarding the level of disturbance coming from the children and would like to apologize for these occurrences. We know how frustrating and disappointing it can be when you are trying relax and enjoy your time away from home and your expectations are not met due to noise. We will also address the issues with the pool staff, you should have been treated with the respect you expect and deserve. I shared your comments on the Mainstay with our Executive Chef. There are many months of tranquility hopefully you can return during that time as it is a totally different environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I can't tell you enough how much we enjoyed this hotel! The staff was so friendly and displayed enthusiasm when making recommendations. The pool and hot tub were refreshing after a long day at the beach or shopping! Beds were wonderful, I actually slept in without waking up throughout night!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Our associates truly enjoy being attentive to our guests needs. Their personal goal is that your stay be memorable by ensuring you benefit from their knowledge of the area and what it has to offer. It pleases us when the experience you anticipated becomes a reality. The Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed is found in each of our guest rooms and is comprised of luxurious sheets, a deluxe duvet, a selection of feather down and hypoallergenic pillows, and a custom mattress for the comfort of our guests. It seems as if we succeeded. We will look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Sheraton sand key resort is a very nice property and the staff is very friendly. The resort has the mainstay Tavern, Island Grille which I would recommend and is not expensive for lunch . The restaurant hours are from 11:00 am- 5 pm for the Island Grille. Also the Rusty Bistro is another amazing place to catch some breakfast ( No reservation required, walk in's are welcome). The staff is very attentive and our server was Roberta and she was great. Some of the other option this property has is the Slo Joes's Turtle bar and pool side cafe which both are located right outside the pool area. If you plan to dine outside the hotel I recommend to check out the clear sky draught haus located in dunedin which is not that far from the resort and is great for the whole family or even if you are in a business trip. Other then that the only down fall about the Sheraton sand key resort is the pool that when it gets to crowded it gets crowded even though they have a kiddy pool but the main pool is not that big. I would recommend this property .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and share feedback from your most recent stay. Our guest feedback is important to us as often times it may pinpoint an area of needed focus and attention. We greatly appreciate your informative review and recommendation. The exceptional personal touches Roberta brings to the table defiantly makes her our morning star! I have shared your comment and she appreciates it. Yes this time of year the pool does fill up with families … There are many months that our environment changes and becomes more tranquil. We will look forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed at this resort with my 78 year old father and my 20 year old 3rd born son the first week of August 2014, and I am somewhere in the middle, sort of. The staff is second to none and the ammenities are amazing. My interactions with Caress who was in reservations was so patient with all my questions while I was making this reservation. We arrived to see everyone cheery and having genuine smiles on their faces. Our room was a 'Gulf View' and was an out of the park homerun. My father had plenty of places to hang out as he did not want to go to the beach. My son and I took advantage of the beach and "Debbie" who drove the portable bar was a woman after my own heart... you could not have asked for anyone more personable who made sure all the lounge chair lizards could not have asked for more. The room was spotless, the deck was comfortable and when we called for a clean set of towels housekeeping was there in minutes.

Do not hesitate to stay here. Yes, the bathroom is a tad small, but doable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caroline411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

It is satisfying when we receive a review such as yours. Time spent with family is very precious and memories made will always be with you all. It is hard to please everyone so it is nice when you can find a place that each individual enjoys. When they are enjoying what they are doing it makes it all worth it. We also appreciate our associates and you are correct they are genuine smiles, they sincerely enjoy the interaction with our guests. Caress and Debbie do set the bar, they truly enjoy being a part of your successful stay. We hope you will consider staying with us when planning your next stay in area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed for 6 nights last month before and during a family wedding weekend. Overall, it's a beautiful property, well maintained, with big, well appointed rooms. We booked a deluxe Ocean View and that's exactly what we got - overlooking the pool with a beautiful view of the Gulf to the front and side from our private balcony. Clean, comfortable beds (I love Sheraton beds), with lots of closet and storage space. We had a chair and a small table in the room, and honestly there was probably room for more furniture. As others have mentioned, the bathrooms are small, but there's plenty of room of the tub and toilet. I personally love having the vanity and sink separate from the enclosed bathroom -- it makes it much easier for two people who are unaccustomed to sharing a bathroom get ready. Yes, it's a bit of a hike to the beach, but the sand is packed down and well groomed...it really was an easy walk, and very convenient to be able to rent chairs and umbrellas by the day. And, Deb and her drink cart made sure we never went thirsty while laying in the sun!

But, for us, it was the level of service that sealed the deal...and we were provided with examples of that time and again. Checking in at 11:00pm? No problem, the bellman will take your bags to your room. Need to have a package shipped and waiting on arrival? We'll bring that right up to your room. Round trip transportation for 9 to a wedding and back? We'll arrange that no problem. Need a box to store the wedding cake topper in because for some reason your wedding coordinator didn't put it in one? Let me go search the kitchen, I'm sure I can find something. Oh...and now the cake topper won't fit in your fridge? Not a problem at all, we'll just put it in the hotel fridge for you...here's a claim check. Twelve of your closest friends and family want to hang out in the bar until closing time a few nights in a row? We'll make sure you don't go thirsty! I could go on and on. An unfortunate afternoon of no water in the hotel due to unexpected repairs was even handled well. Signs in the elevator, a letter in our room, free drinking water in the lobby, and a poolside announcement when water service was restored 30 minutes prior to when they anticipated it. From the front desk, to the bellmen, to the concierge, and the bartenders and servers, everyone we interacted with was pleasant, helpful, and went out of the way to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Biz1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We are delighted that your stay was a success. We are very proud of our associates as they genuinely care about our guest’s experience. They enjoy ensuring that they personalize your stay by doing those extras to let you know that you are appreciated. We do have stars such as Deb that set the standards for exceptional service. Thank you for understanding that there are things like a water main break that are out of our control. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our family stayed at this resort in July and it's a great experience as long as expectations are kept in check on the property which is ok but not great.

The staff were exceptional: from the concierge who checked our luggage when our room was not yet ready and provided superb local restaurant recommendations for each night, to the pool and beach staff who quickly and graciously took care of every need, to the front desk staff who were always there to provide extra room keys or additional information.

The Sheraton beach is a family paradise -- especially for kids under 6: fine white sand perfect for sand castles, gentle waves that go easy on the little ones, plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas (the $25 fee for the day seemed reasonable), lots of water activities close at hand (jet skis, para-sailing, banana boat pulls), and truly spectacular sunsets. Note: the Sheraton pool is rather small for a resort this size and it was always crowded so that's important to take into account if your kids like the pool over the ocean which ours do not.

The public areas of this Sheraton are functional and clean but not exceptional. The rooms are similar. The beds were comfortable and they brought in a roll away bed at no extra charge which is really nice. The resort is set back a long way from the beach so the views are more sand than surf. It's important to note that this is a family resort with lots of children and the accompanying noise which we do not mind at all as we have kids but if we would not go as a couple without kids.

As an SPG elite member we had access to the club lounge and the performance was mixed. The staff were attentive and kind. However, the food choices were limited and not up to the standards of most other Sheratons or Westins we've experienced. Also, they closed the breakfast PROMPTLY at 10am which seems early for a family beach resort. The workout facilities were above average for a Sheraton and the staff again were most helpful.

All in all, we would return and in fact have spent time here as a family on three different occasions over the last decade. The location (near plenty of cute little towns and restaurants and only 90 miles from Disney and Universal), the beach itself, the sunsets and the excellent staff all outweigh the weak club lounge food and the so-so property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high with view of beach - 3rd floor or below and there are really no views of ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

It is our goal to effectively meet the expectations of our guests and provide excellent customer service. It is gratifying to read that your experience here with us is what you anticipated it to be. It is a perfect place for a fun but relaxing beach get-away. Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize our outstanding associates. They truly enjoy going above and beyond to make your stay special by ensuring personalized service. We are thrilled your vacation was one to remember and hope to see you again soon! There are many months that our environment here becomes tranquil. That is a great time for Mom and Dad to get away alone. I will address the noted issues with the appropriate department managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,487 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#6 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#11 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £153 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton
Sheraton Sand Key Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing