We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, gorgeous views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Blairsville, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, gorgeous views!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Clearwater beach is gorgeous and this hotel sits right on the beach. Rooms are spacious and the beds are beyond comfortable...they are amazing! Great views from windows and balconies..has several restuarants in lobby so you don't have to leave hotel. Super nice pool and walking distance to the beach....love this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewels417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
I am so pleased that your experience at the Sheraton Sand Key was what you anticipated. Clearwater and Sand Key are just what you expect a tropical paradise to be; beautiful views, large and private beaches. It is a place where you can shut out the outside world and just soak in relaxation. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    978
    342
    128
    52
See reviews for
960
768
51
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Traveled recently with my husband and an 8 and 10 year old. Room was very small. When traveling with kids, you really need a mini-fridge, but there was none in room. Also, the walk to the beach is very far, approx. 2 football fields long. On checkout, I mentioned the need for refrigerators and a golf cart or shuttle for the beach and was told those things were available, you simply had to request them. ???? Those things should've been mentioned at check-in. The breakfast buffet was great; join starwood rewards at booking to get buffet coupons for the whole family. Take the trolley to downtown Clearwater to avoid the parking nightmare. For the price, I expected more.

Room Tip: Tennis view room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinL617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay. I apologize that you were not made aware that those amenities were available. Many of our rooms do have refrigerators and we are in the process of installing refrigerators in all the rooms as occupancy allows. You can request one when reserving your room or at check-in. We are an Island beach and the shore is around 1200 feet from the hotel, it is a bit of a walk with all the items that go with taking two children to the beach. Thank you for becoming a SPG member and we hope you will enjoy the rewards that are associated with that program. Our prices are in line with the other hotels on the beach, you can check our web site for special offers. Clearwater is a small but busy Island, the trolley is a great way to get around and relieve the stress of parking. We do hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lecanto, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We went as a quick getaway using Starwood points and were very satisfied with our stay. We had a fantastic view, and the beds were very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was very good, and we look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lecano_FlStan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
It is always delightful to hear that your time spent at the Sheraton Sand Key was the experience you anticipated. The views are fantastic; there is just something so peaceful and relaxing when looking at the water with maybe Sea Gulls and Dolphins making special appearances. A good night sleep on our “Sweet Sleeper” bed is key to enjoying your stay, waking refreshed and ready to enjoy the day and all it has to offer. We also look forward to your next beach getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streator, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the hotel and location. We ate at the mainstay restaurant for chips, salsa, soup, and appetizers as well as the bistro for breakfast. We enjoyed our meals. They offer a good drink menu! Prices are high, but the watermelon lemonade drink was INCREDIBLE!
There is a little shop off the lobby that is open 24 hours, and sells donuts, cookies, candy bars, a variety of drinks, and a few other things.
Yes, the pool gets crowded, but the beach isn't. You can find plenty of shells and coral. Watch out for stingrays and jellyfish. They were spotted almost daily.
My only complaint are the washers and dryers. The clothes come out smelling worse than when they went in and the dryer doesn't dry hardly. A small load was dried twice and was still very wet.
Also, there are no microwaves in the rooms.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sunshinesandy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Whether you're looking for a peaceful, relaxing vacation or a fun-filled family getaway, we provide the perfect setting to make new memories. I am pleased that your stay was a success. The beach does have many treasures and everyday there is a new gift from the sea. Yes! there are stingrays and jellyfish this time of the year. You just have to remember to do the stingray shuffle. We appreciate our loyal guests who inform us on areas we need to focus on and the washers and dryers have been addressed. We hope you will revisit “Our Island”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This has been a great hotel experience minus a few things;

Positives;

The lobby is spotless and very beautiful. You are greeted immediately and treated like family!

The room was very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. The view was amazing. The room was the perfect size for two people. The hotel location was also very nice for what we were doing with beach access!

Most of the staff were very friendly, helpful, and approachable. Many of them would go out of there way to help you anyway they could. They made our stay even more nice by the way we were treated.

Negatives;

The hotel is very crowded with screaming kids in every direction. I cannot place blame on the hotel for this as this is the parents fault. You will not have much privacy here.

Mainstay Pub was not very good at all. Outside of a free pool table we avoided the area and the food at all costs.

The pool is was too small for the rooms this hotel has. This needs expanded asap. My wife and I literally had to stay in one spot in order to not get kicked in the face. The pool employees are awful. They literally walk around looking to reprimand someone but when the time comes to report a real problem they do not care. My wife went to them about a kid tearing up the floats and they literally looked up at her, and the back down to their phones. This was NOT okay.

I would love to stay here again. The pros for sure out-weigh the cons!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Through each comment we receive, both positive and negative, we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our guests. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We have noted your comments regarding the level of disturbance coming from the children and would like to apologize for these occurrences. We know how frustrating and disappointing it can be when you are trying relax and enjoy your time away from home and your expectations are not met due to noise. We will also address the issues with the pool staff, you should have been treated with the respect you expect and deserve. I shared your comments on the Mainstay with our Executive Chef. There are many months of tranquility hopefully you can return during that time as it is a totally different environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Box Elder, MT
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I can't tell you enough how much we enjoyed this hotel! The staff was so friendly and displayed enthusiasm when making recommendations. The pool and hot tub were refreshing after a long day at the beach or shopping! Beds were wonderful, I actually slept in without waking up throughout night!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Our associates truly enjoy being attentive to our guests needs. Their personal goal is that your stay be memorable by ensuring you benefit from their knowledge of the area and what it has to offer. It pleases us when the experience you anticipated becomes a reality. The Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed is found in each of our guest rooms and is comprised of luxurious sheets, a deluxe duvet, a selection of feather down and hypoallergenic pillows, and a custom mattress for the comfort of our guests. It seems as if we succeeded. We will look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Sheraton sand key resort is a very nice property and the staff is very friendly. The resort has the mainstay Tavern, Island Grille which I would recommend and is not expensive for lunch . The restaurant hours are from 11:00 am- 5 pm for the Island Grille. Also the Rusty Bistro is another amazing place to catch some breakfast ( No reservation required, walk in's are welcome). The staff is very attentive and our server was Roberta and she was great. Some of the other option this property has is the Slo Joes's Turtle bar and pool side cafe which both are located right outside the pool area. If you plan to dine outside the hotel I recommend to check out the clear sky draught haus located in dunedin which is not that far from the resort and is great for the whole family or even if you are in a business trip. Other then that the only down fall about the Sheraton sand key resort is the pool that when it gets to crowded it gets crowded even though they have a kiddy pool but the main pool is not that big. I would recommend this property .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank proudmommy2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and share feedback from your most recent stay. Our guest feedback is important to us as often times it may pinpoint an area of needed focus and attention. We greatly appreciate your informative review and recommendation. The exceptional personal touches Roberta brings to the table defiantly makes her our morning star! I have shared your comment and she appreciates it. Yes this time of year the pool does fill up with families … There are many months that our environment changes and becomes more tranquil. We will look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,392 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,250 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#22 of 98 in Clearwater
4,668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Property: Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#6 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton
Sheraton Sand Key Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing