We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit with kids this time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“2nd visit with kids this time”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was our 2nd time to the Sheraton and this time we brought our 4 & 7 yr olds. We went 1st week of August and as expected it busier than our first trip which was in April.

I highly recommend trying to go during off-season as the hotel gets very crowded during the summer.

Pros: clean, semi-private beach, free parking, pool activities for kids, clean hotel, clean rooms

Cons: this time we heard everything with our neighbors (thin walls), crowded pool during peak season

Highly recommend for off-peak season or weekdays.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
I am sure you enjoyed some memorable moments … it is gratifying to look through your children’s eyes and see all the adventure that can be had when along the shore line. Pirate Ships, Dolphins, Sand Castles or just chasing the waves. We have noted your comments regarding the level of disturbance coming from the other rooms and would like to apologies for these occurrences. We know how frustrating and disappointing it can be when you have a few minutes to relax and your expectations are not met. It is a much more tranquil environment September till February and then again after Easter till May. We do hope you will plan a return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,024
    960
    337
    126
    49
See reviews for
931
758
50
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort August 9 - 13th. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The resort had lots of guests. The room was clean and had a pretty good view of the beach.
Because of the recent storms, the beach had a lot of seaweed, but by day 2 was much clearer. Everything at the hotel was lovely and the breakfast buffet was very good. We went to Clearwater to go to the beach, but anyone with kids knows you have to go to the pool too.
And the pool is my only complaint. There are easily 40-50 people in a pool built for less and they are standing because there is no room to swim around.
Such a nice resort needs a second and much larger pool but because of all the wonderful things to do in Clearwater, we were able to save pool time for night time when there were less people.
All in all, lovely visit and lovey hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCmamato2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
It is our goal to effectively meet the expectations of our guests and provide excellent customer service. It is gratifying to read that your experience here with us was very positive. The view is beautiful and hopefully you were able to see one of our breathtaking sunsets. Yes! The pool fills up with families at that time of year. Starting now till Spring Break there is plenty of room in the pool. I realize that does not resolve the issues you experienced at the time. A night time swim is such a nice way to end a busy day. We do hope the next time you visit Clearwater you will once again stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
762 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This review is just for the conference center area. I attended a special event at the hotel and the meeting room area was very nice and the food was excellent. The hotel staff was very friendly and kept the area very clean. The Hotel was very clean and well decorated. I would attend another event at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
The Sheraton Sand Key is uniquely qualified to welcome you and make you feel right at home - whether you're visiting us for business or leisure. We're always working on new ways to better care for you. Thank you for recognizing our associates the truly care and are very efficient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Clearwater beach is gorgeous and this hotel sits right on the beach. Rooms are spacious and the beds are beyond comfortable...they are amazing! Great views from windows and balconies..has several restuarants in lobby so you don't have to leave hotel. Super nice pool and walking distance to the beach....love this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewels417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
I am so pleased that your experience at the Sheraton Sand Key was what you anticipated. Clearwater and Sand Key are just what you expect a tropical paradise to be; beautiful views, large and private beaches. It is a place where you can shut out the outside world and just soak in relaxation. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Traveled recently with my husband and an 8 and 10 year old. Room was very small. When traveling with kids, you really need a mini-fridge, but there was none in room. Also, the walk to the beach is very far, approx. 2 football fields long. On checkout, I mentioned the need for refrigerators and a golf cart or shuttle for the beach and was told those things were available, you simply had to request them. ???? Those things should've been mentioned at check-in. The breakfast buffet was great; join starwood rewards at booking to get buffet coupons for the whole family. Take the trolley to downtown Clearwater to avoid the parking nightmare. For the price, I expected more.

Room Tip: Tennis view room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinL617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay. I apologize that you were not made aware that those amenities were available. Many of our rooms do have refrigerators and we are in the process of installing refrigerators in all the rooms as occupancy allows. You can request one when reserving your room or at check-in. We are an Island beach and the shore is around 1200 feet from the hotel, it is a bit of a walk with all the items that go with taking two children to the beach. Thank you for becoming a SPG member and we hope you will enjoy the rewards that are associated with that program. Our prices are in line with the other hotels on the beach, you can check our web site for special offers. Clearwater is a small but busy Island, the trolley is a great way to get around and relieve the stress of parking. We do hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lecanto, Florida
Level Contributor
275 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We went as a quick getaway using Starwood points and were very satisfied with our stay. We had a fantastic view, and the beds were very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was very good, and we look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lecano_FlStan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
It is always delightful to hear that your time spent at the Sheraton Sand Key was the experience you anticipated. The views are fantastic; there is just something so peaceful and relaxing when looking at the water with maybe Sea Gulls and Dolphins making special appearances. A good night sleep on our “Sweet Sleeper” bed is key to enjoying your stay, waking refreshed and ready to enjoy the day and all it has to offer. We also look forward to your next beach getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
230 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the hotel and location. We ate at the mainstay restaurant for chips, salsa, soup, and appetizers as well as the bistro for breakfast. We enjoyed our meals. They offer a good drink menu! Prices are high, but the watermelon lemonade drink was INCREDIBLE!
There is a little shop off the lobby that is open 24 hours, and sells donuts, cookies, candy bars, a variety of drinks, and a few other things.
Yes, the pool gets crowded, but the beach isn't. You can find plenty of shells and coral. Watch out for stingrays and jellyfish. They were spotted almost daily.
My only complaint are the washers and dryers. The clothes come out smelling worse than when they went in and the dryer doesn't dry hardly. A small load was dried twice and was still very wet.
Also, there are no microwaves in the rooms.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sunshinesandy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Whether you're looking for a peaceful, relaxing vacation or a fun-filled family getaway, we provide the perfect setting to make new memories. I am pleased that your stay was a success. The beach does have many treasures and everyday there is a new gift from the sea. Yes! there are stingrays and jellyfish this time of the year. You just have to remember to do the stingray shuffle. We appreciate our loyal guests who inform us on areas we need to focus on and the washers and dryers have been addressed. We hope you will revisit “Our Island”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#13 of 98 in Clearwater
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
1.6 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#23 of 98 in Clearwater
4,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Property: Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton
Sheraton Sand Key Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing