We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Nice Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Super Nice Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

I traveled for a conference that was hosted at the hotel (and brought my husband along). The entire staff was very very friendly and overly helpful with everything. The concierge desk is always staffed and there are multiple other staff members availablein the lobby. One even got on my cell phone to give directions to a lost friend trying to find the hotel! I felt that everyone at the hotel went out of their way to be helpful. The location on the beach is very nice as well. As a person who likes to do a little more than just the beach...there wasn't much else around the hotel to do. There are a couple of places to eat right in the hotel, but public transportation in this area is just "ok'...I would rec having a car.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amybethcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    981
    915
    319
    122
    46
See reviews for
880
725
47
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

I stayed here in June 2009, I was going to stay at the Marriott over the road from the Sandkey but I am so glad I stayed at the Sandkey its right on a fantastic beach. The staff are very friendly and have time to make you at home. I stayed with my wife & son, we had a relaxing time after going round Disney for a week. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Some people have commented on the size of the bathroom maybe the people were to big ! I found everything just right

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

We stayed @ the Sheraton Sand Key after attending a concert because we wanted to spend the next day @ the beach. The room was "ok", the bathroom was TINY...toilet and shower practically on top of each other with little room to close the door, the single sink and seperate vanity were outside of the bathroom opening right into the room. The bed and linens were VERY comfortable. The flat screen TV and leather chair and ottoman were an updated touch. We booked a room on the "club" level because it included breakfast, which was served in a tiny room, with about 6 tables. The breakfast was very disappointing, mainly because we stayed at the Hilton down the street on a previous visit and were served in a dining room, with a full breakfast, not just the continental breakfast that we were served here, where the lines to use the toaster and get coffee were long and we had to wait for a table to sit down at. Of course, all this is after waking up to hearing the cleaning crew vacuuming the hallway @ 8 am!!! The pool area was nice, but alot of children. If you wanted to sit out by the beach, be prepared to walk a 1/2 mile as the hotel sits far back from the water. My advice...seriously consider the Hilton down the street for the same price, 1st!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Good_Friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

I travelled to Clearwater for the first time and was very careful in picking a hotel as close to the beach as possible. I also try and stay only at 4 star hotels as I am kind of picky with cleanliness, food and room standard. From the checking in experience and thru our 3 days stay we were nothing but pleased. Especially the staff was so warm, friendly and welcoming. We were upgraded as Starwood preferred guests and had access to the lounge with some drinks and hour douvres available to us complimentary. That was super and I still remember the friendly hostess Peggy who was truly a role model in service and friendliness! The hotels rooms were nice and the bed very comfy. The pool big and the hotel is right at the beach so romantic walks in the sunset will for sure materialize if you travel with a loved one! We had dinner once at the hotel, room service and I still to this day remember the fantastic taste! Their restaurant is truly outstanding.

Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

I stayed at this hotel as part of a recent conference. As a guest, I was treated very well. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The one downside is that the walls seem very thin- I could hear the conversation in the next room.
They do have an exercise room, but it wasn't open early enough on the weekend. Wi-Fi is available in the rooms but you have to pay for it (about $12/day). The breakfast on the 9th floor was great, but only available to Sheraton select guests. The pool is not large, but adequate. Even better, the beach is just steps away. The white sand is soft and the water a blue/green. It was perfect at night. The beach was very crowded on a Sunday- probably because of the local crowd.
There is a restaurant at the hotel. I ate there for their Sunday brunch. It was over-rated. It wasn't much more than you get at other hotels with breakfast bars (like the Marriott). They had eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits and gravy, grits, crepes with cheese filling, fresh fruit, waffles, and muffins/doughnuts. I wish I would have ordered something from the regular menu. The service at the restaurant was excellent.
The hotel is not near any attractions or other stores. This makes for a very quiet location. You can take the trolley down to the pier or it is a 2-3 mile drive.
Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheProf06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

My girlfriend and I spent this past weekend at this hotel and let's just say that it didn't live up to expectations. Don't be fooled by the pictures which make it look like an upscale property ..... it isn't. The pool area is tiny, rundown, and crowded to overcapacity, the rooms were old, small, loud (paper thin walls) and lacking some basic amenities, and the entertainment in the hotel (restaurants, bars, etc) left a lot to be desired. Not that this hotel is horrible, it's just very very average, in need of a makeover to get it into the new millenium, and absolutely not worth the $200+ a night they're charging.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdub441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

We just returned home from Sheraton Sand Key Resort. Our family loved this hotel. The room was big enough for five (although the bathroom was small). We spend everyday at the beach or the pool. Everything was well kept and clean. We will return soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mytwingirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shephard's Beach Resort
Shephard's Beach Resort
#15 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Property: Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#4 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton
Sheraton Sand Key Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing