We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst stay of my LIFE”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #86 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst stay of my LIFE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

I have many health problems and we were in FL for nearly a week. We stayed I different cities around the state. Out of all my years as a disabled individual, I have never EVER been treated like this hotel! Our AC was not cooling the room down at all, I took 3 cold showers to try to help and stay the night. Management was ignoring our phone all together, and my husband went to office. After stating "no refund" and no help either, we checked out before I went into heat stroke. I am unable to adjust my body temperature due to small nerve neuropathy, and the AC could not cool the room. Even with our high power fan, I was getting chills and nuaciousness from the heat. They offered no help, and when I asked whom to speak to in regards to our complaint; I was told the owner was the only person. They were "independent" from a chain. We left, with no compensation or apology and went 1 mile down the road to a great Travelodge who was cheaper price, great staff, and accepted our dog for free. And NO A/C problems! Do not waste your money, please go to one of the well known and trusted chain in the same area! Rudest employees I've ever dealt with! Contacted their corporate office and the BBB.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this ABVI!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    5
    16
    27
See reviews for
17
15
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

While I am always looking for "cheap" I was disappointed. There were no dresser drawers, so we had to live out of our suitcases! Staying for 6 nights, we opted for one-time linen change. But they changed it after 1 day, not in the middle of our stay. Also, because they didn't come to change linens they also didn't come to empty trash. Continental breakfast was juice, coffee, and a glazed bun in a plastic wrapper. A sign was posted: One to a customer. No choice of bread. I stayed at Days Inns on the way south and they have juice (2 kinds), cereal (2 kinds), rolls and buns, option to make waffles, and coffee. There was a sign on the fence which enclosed the parking area that read Motel 6, so I have to assume this was a conversion. Never again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We got a room on the top floor, everything was fine, the room was for the price relatively clean. Fridge and microwave in room. At breakfast waffles and coffee, I was only once and I did not want it. Big disappointment was that the room I forgot to dress in the bathroom. After the call two days later, I was told that the dress did not found. I do not understand the lady who cleans cast her and threw them or had them. I'm sorry for the dress.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

When checking in asked if breakfast was included and advised that it was. My husband is diabetic so it is important for managing blood sugar levels. Could not believe that the only available item was a waffle and a cup of lousy coffee. Asked if there was at least cereal or some type of fruit such as an apple and was told that all they offer is waffles absolutely nothing else. No cereal, no bread/toast, no muffins, just waffles and you must make them in the waffle maker. Have stayed in several Americas Best Value Inn's and never seen such a cheap dirty franchise as this. No pride in ownership at this one. I appreciate that it is a recent takeover from a Days Inn but to be so cheap is amazing. No alarm clock in room, no hangers, no drawers to put clothes in. Seems like furniture obtained from a flea market. Have to make several more trips to Clearwater and will not be staying with this Americas Best Value in the future. The room we had could also use updating like a new bed and a thorough cleaning. Mold around tub that could use a little bleach and some elbow grease. Generally overall it was dirty and not worth considering. Keep driving. We will.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEMBROKE PINES
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Do not stay here!!!! It is disgusting,smells disgusting, overall disgusting! And worse, on our way out we saw a roach crawling on the refrigerator. Roach motel FOR SURE!!!! We were booked by hotel chain agent over the phone......LIAR!!!!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank EandIPembrokePines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iron Mountain, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

What a disaster! Room was noisy, carpeting was disgusting, paint in the bathroom was peeling. When we checked in we said it would probably be for 2 nights but maybe only one. They said it was no problem that if we changed our mind and stayed only one night they would removed the charge from our credit card. Ha! When we tried to do that, of course someone different was at the desk. She tried & called the inn manager who after some heated words agreed to a credit for most of the extra night but not a full refund. So we decided to stay the extra night. When we got back to our room that evening they hadn't even made the bed! The towels were still on the bathroom counter. Obviously the cleaning staff had not even entered the room. I will never never again stay in this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veejai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times in the last few months, the price is very reasonable, and the night lady has always been very nice to me. They do have a non smoking building that does not have that stale musty smell others have reported.This place is not the Hyatt or Ritz.....but for the money and central location, it is fine. By the way, they have a small free breakfast for guests. Maybe I have been lucky here, as I have read the other reviews, that are not good stories about their stays?

Room Tip: I would ask for a second floor room in the non smoking building, if you don't smoke. The first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwater
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
10.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Clearwater Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
#59 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Northwest / Oldsmar
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 28596 US 19 North, Clearwater, FL 33761 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Hotel Clearwater
Days Inn Clearwater
Clearwater Days Inn
Rodeway Inn Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing