We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it... ” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
Ranked #56 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not worth it... ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I've never stayed at such a horrible place. The furniture was old and stained, not just regular wear and tear but bad, bad!! The rooms reeked of some unknown odor as well as the carpets. The beds were one higher than the other, what's up with that? As well as the water coming from the tub...it was almost the color brown. That's just describing the interior to a point...oh our door wouldn't fully shut and our window with curtains...were transparent. Then there is the outside.... People partying till 2am. People being loud and profane outside your bedroom. Very scary, always looking at your surroundings. On the positive more, the breakfast was good. Would not recommend them to anyone. We paid 67 or so...not expensive but we stayed at the comfort inn after that for about 5 dollars more with no.issue what so ever. Not trying to steal your business, but y'all we're beyond disappointing.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    204
    111
    56
    37
See reviews for
222
166
58
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I had to try 3 different rooms in order to get one halfway clean.I had to go buy cleaning materials and really clean in order to stay.I drove 13hrs for vacation to have it start off badly due to the conditions at the hotel.There's prostitution openly. This place is run down.DEFINITELY 1/2 STAR MOTEL!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeClearwater, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Shantineaka, Thank you for leaving feedback on our hotel. We are constantly using Tripadvisor to help improve our guest experience. We do remember your stay and working with you to find a room to your satisfaction, unfortunately I thought you were satisfied once moved rooms. We strongly believe we have the best housekeeping staff in the area and are disappointed they did not live up to your standards, as a housekeeper yourself you know how hard they work to keep the rooms clean and live up to our standard of excellence as a multiple award winning property. We have made the staff aware of your situation as well as our supervisors. The supervisors do check 100% of our rooms when industry standard is 20%. You were also correct that we did have an active prostitute in the hotel and you knew this because we were removing her when you were checking in I am sorry you had to be there at that time but as our clientele is tourists, family and business travelers we believe the best time to remove them is instantly. It is an difficult part of the hospitality industry and happens in every hotel from 1 to 5 stars but do know we are aware, actively monitoring and acting aggressively when we do find issues. Thanks again for your valuable feedback, Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

Sellersville, PA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

All in all, this was my fault. The Trip Advisor reviews seemed relatively OK, and I tried to parlay some Wyndham points into two rooms for my family of six. We were staying in Orlando at a Marriott resort for a week, but wanted some beach time for one full day, so how bad can it be? Just a place to shower and sleep for one night. Plus, being a Phillies fan, I thought it would be fun to eat breakfast at Lenny's next door, and show the kids the Phils' Spring Training home.
Scratch all that. The trouble started when we went to check in. The lady at the counter spent at least 15 minutes trying to input a reduced rate for a customer, and had trouble doing that with her computer. Not once did she make eye contact with us to at least apologize for the delay. When she finally finished, she looked at me and said "I assume you are here to check in"...Really? Once we got checked in, it was apparent that we really didn't want to be here... the hotel is old, the doors to each room are a mess, the bedspreads on the beds were scary, and the final straw for our adult girls and their husbands was a dead roach on the floor in their room. They just decided to forget it... they managed showers and headed back to Orlando (we came in two cars). My wife and I decided to try to at least get some value for our points so we decided to stay, and plan to visit the area the next day. I will say our bathroom and shower were OK, and our room was passable. We slept some, but got up early and left to be with the rest of our family. I'll end this by saying this hotel may be OK for some, but if you are used to better...don't come here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PA_Traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeClearwater, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear PA Traveler, Thank you for your feedback even though we did fall short or yours and my expectations we can use this to make improvements for future travelers. Based on your experiences we implemented a policy that our staff must read reviews at the beginning of the shift, they have all been trained in customer service and are extremely nice people but we hope this will improve future check in experiences. We will are also adding a second computer system to the front desk to try to eliminate waiting for check in at busier times.

The pest your daughters experienced in the room is frustrating. We do have professional pest control service with a monthly preventative service. Vito our rep has been with us for 3 years and is the best I have experienced. Roughly 3 or 4 times a year we do get Palmetto bugs dead in the entrance area to the rooms, they do look like cockroaches and most people mistake them, while it can be a disturbing it does mean the service is effective and it eliminated the pest before it made it further into the room. I certainly hope this was the case for your family and I am sorry it happened to you, it is unlucky as it occurs very seldom as we will rent over 28,000 rooms this year.

On a positive note we do work very closely with the Phillies and they are our largest group account we have players from the farm system on the property year round and every year 1 or 2 of the big league guys will have a short stay. Go Phillies…

If you are going to be in Clearwater in the future please call me directly and give us a chance to show you why we are a highly rated budget hotel. We want the only Major difference between us and the Marriott you were at to be the price. We do have more work to do but will be constantly improving till we get to that level. Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central
5.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
#58 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#61 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central

Property: Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
Address: 21252 US Hwy19 North, Clearwater, FL 33765 (Formerly Travelodge Clearwater)
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the MAGNUSON HOTEL CLEARWATER CENTRAL, located just a .5 Mile from the Phillies Spring Training Camp. Start out your day with our complimentary HOT continental breakfast. Take advantage of our beautiful weather and take the free shuttle from our Hotel to the Beach. After the game, throw some steaks or burgers onto the barbecue, located in one of the picnic kiosks surrounding our tropical outdoor pool. Enjoy our free WiFi, Beautiful resort pool and outdoor sitting area. And to help keep you in touch, we offer a complimentary Business Center right off the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing