We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SECOND POSITIVE STAY” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
Ranked #56 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Mexico City
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“SECOND POSITIVE STAY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

Our second stay this year....we had two rooms for one week..all well again...a minor electrical problem was resolved immediately. Totally recommendable. Perhaps one suggestion...the free continental breakfast could include some bread items like bagels or toast...present offerings had only sugary rolls and muffins etc...
Reiterate great location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicoMadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    204
    111
    56
    37
See reviews for
222
166
58
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

My mother (in her 80's) and I stayed at this Travelodge while visiting my brother who lives nearby. For an economy hotel, I was pleasantly surprised at the rooms, great pool, and amenities. What really stood out was the staff who couldn't have been more of a pleasure to talk with and who were obviously very concerned about making our stay an enjoyable one. The one suggestion I have is that some hand rails be placed in some of the rooms so an older person would feel more secure climbing in and out of the bathtub. I plan to be back in the area for another visit, and would definitely stay here again! ~ Beth Q

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeClearwater, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review, 17 December 2010
Hi Beth, Thanks for staying with us on your trip to Clearwater Florida. We really enjoyed having you and your family here and we would love to see you again in the spring. Please let us know if your mother is coming and I will personally make sure you are in a room with hand rails. Hope you won the card games; you were one up on your brother last time we talked. Happy Holidays from Veneita, Maxine, Kelly and all the staff at Travelodge Clearwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

Just spent a few days here, and the rooms were clean & recently renovated. This hotel is located within a stones throw to anything you will ever need while in Clearwater. I noticed, this hotel has a few shady looking perminant residents living here, which I wasn't crazy about. All in all it was a good experience for me & my family.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BXDIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

We got a fabulous rate on this basic hotel and would certainly recommend it for folks who want a comfortable, basic stay. The rooms aren't huge but do come with a refrig and microwave and a desk and chair. Wi-Fi is lightening fast and always available.

Desk clerks were friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to assist. We ended up staying there nearly 2 weeks and never felt like we were going stir crazy.

It's located right next to U.S. 19, but it is very quiet.

The hotel is dog friendly and there is a great, well lit grassy area in back to play. There is a fenced area, formerly 2 tennis courts, for dogs who need to run. Best yet, they don't tack on those pesky "pet fees" that so many are doing now in an all-out money grab.

Breakfast is a bit lame, but it will give you something to get going. Several wonderful restaurants right in walking distance: Lenny's, Tilted Kilt, and Hacienda (great Mexican food and cheap prices).

Pool area is lovely although water on the cold side.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenjenocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

I wasnt sure when i booked this hotel - it was VERY cheap! We wanted somewhere to stay after a day on Clearwater beach for 1 night only to save having to drive back to Kissimmeee before a trip to Busch Gardens.

We were really pleased with the rooms we had - both had been recently decorated - were spacious, had good furniture and air con. A massive bathroom which was also very clean and newly refurbished.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and we would certainly use it again.

Its a bit of a trek from the beach (10 mins by car), but that made it closer to Busch Gardens so it suited us toi be honest.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippin1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

The renovated hotel was a pleasant surprize, clean room, close to Clearwater Beach, pool was excellent, and you really can't beat the room rate, excellent value. The staff were so friendly and helpful, giving me all the right advice on where to visit. The owners, Kelly and Maxine went out their way to ensure my stay was a pleasant one, and are just nice people. Would recommend to all looking for a pleasant stay in the Clearwater area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llawrencelarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeClearwater, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review, 25 October 2010
Thanks Lawrence, we really enjoyed you staying with us for a week. Hope you had a great vacation and a safe flight home. It’s a little quieter around the BBQ since you left, and we will make sure its ready to cook when you return next year.

Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

I read glowing reviews on trip advisor and trusted a hotel ranked in the top 20 in clearwater. Perhaps it's because I've never stayed at a 1 star hotel before (and never will again) I didn't know that a pillow, bed, sheets, and towel situation could be so dire. So uncomfortable I think my sedan would have been more comfortable. My sister and her husbands room also had a semi renovated dirty bathroom. The front desk lady was very nice and the location was good. Comfort non existent. After 1 bad night of sleep we couldn't cancel the 2nd night but we left anyways and went to hampton inn next door. Would recommend that for anyone who wants a comfortable nights rest and better bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetpea1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeClearwater, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review, 25 October 2010
We appreciate your feedback and agree with you - a top 20 hotel on TripAdvisor should not present a dire situation. We apologize for this, and I do remember your party checking out and mentioning you had to get back to Miami early. Next time please do not hesitate to let us know you are not satisfied as we have 120 guest rooms and would have been able to address the problem and find you accommodations that meet your needs.

Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central
5.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
#59 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#62 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central

Property: Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
Address: 21252 US Hwy19 North, Clearwater, FL 33765 (Formerly Travelodge Clearwater)
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the MAGNUSON HOTEL CLEARWATER CENTRAL, located just a .5 Mile from the Phillies Spring Training Camp. Start out your day with our complimentary HOT continental breakfast. Take advantage of our beautiful weather and take the free shuttle from our Hotel to the Beach. After the game, throw some steaks or burgers onto the barbecue, located in one of the picnic kiosks surrounding our tropical outdoor pool. Enjoy our free WiFi, Beautiful resort pool and outdoor sitting area. And to help keep you in touch, we offer a complimentary Business Center right off the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing