We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hotel Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel is old but the location is EXCELLENT, right next to the pier. The sand at the beach is wonderfully soft (like flour). This hotel will overcharge you for everything - chairs at the beach, $2.50 for a bottle of water, etc. Walgreens is an easy walk across the street and another 100 yards. The hotel room was a bit dirty (see photos). It was nice to have a balcony, which I used every day. Nice to have a safe. The double beds are small and short. My room faced the street and it was quite noisy with loud pedestrians and really loud traffic. For some reason, the motorbikes and cars must outdo each other with noise. The rooms have VERY thin walls. You can hear EVERYTHING in the next room. It's as if there were no walls between you and the moaning couple in the next room. One night, I had to listen to a full movie in the next room and my TV turned up still couldn't drown out the TV next door.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators. The trade-off of sunset view is the heat in the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather T, Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We do take pride in the product we provide to our guests . Obviously, in this case the ball was dropped and we did not execute as we are accustomed. I have spoken with my housekeeping team to ensure these issues are fixed and do not occur in the future. I thank you for being our guest and sharing with us and I hope the next time you are in the Clearwater area, you will give us another opportunity.

Sincerely,
Heather Thomas
Director of Housekeeping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,962 - 2,968 of 4,839 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Great location on the beach and within a stone's throw from food and pier 60.

Other than that, std fare hilton. Not excellant but not bad either.

Pool was nice and warm which helped aituations since it was april.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank YippieKiyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripper059, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for being our guest and sharing. We appreciate you writing. Looking forward to having you with us again.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in March 2014. The hotel is in a great location and sits directly on the beach.
There was a bit of discussion at check in regarding room location and views. We do not think that the website provides an accurate description of where each type of room is located and which type of view comes with the different room types. We were given a room overlooking the main street but on the 9th floor, which was good because we did not hear any traffic noise while in the room. We did note that the balconies on the 9th floor (top floor) do not have an open railing. It is a solid wall, so the view is somewhat obstructed, but this is mostly likely for safety reasons.
We were quite pleased with our room. The bedding was comfortable, the temperature was just right, and it was immaculately clean and quiet.
Food is okay, not great. We opted for the breakfast package but if we return, we would most likely not take it again. There are many, many other dining options nearby, and the food is a bit on the pricey side (and not the best we have ever had). It was just ok.
The pool areas tend to get very crowded, so it can be tough to find 2 chairs together, but we managed. The beach is excellent.
We enjoyed being able to walk to the pier, and also to get the trolley right outside the hotel.
We would return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slt50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripper059, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for being our guest and for writing a review. Guest feedback is most important and your comments will be reviewed with our Executive team. Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Hilton Clearwater Beach. We are looking forward to having you with us again upon your return to Clearwater Beach.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just returned from a three night stay in this great location. Really, that is all this "resort' has going for it. The location is second to none. About the structure - very poorly designed and not in keeping with the Hilton brand. We were checked in by Amanda, who was pleasant enough but clearly spoke in a rote manner giving us the corporate line about how the resort fee was "mandatory" - she kept on repeating the line over and over - $21 - but we kept on insisting that the agency we booked with noted that the service fee was "optional now". It was only after we produced the document in writing where this " optional " clause was cited, did she relent. So, a word of caution, if you are booking this " resort" on the internet and being informed that the resort fees are optional, then make sure you have this in writing when checking in. She was pleasant but clearly was trained to not be flexible with her clients. Now, about the room - room was in the inner area - the bottom " L " part of the hotel which faced what appeared to be an ill planned add on to create a business convention centre. Upon entry into the room on the fourth floor, the door would not close smoothly as the frame and door were not aligned. The bathroom was tiny but clean. Shower water power and the shower head proved to be excellent providing a powerful water flow for a quick and effective rinse but the tap water flow from the sink was so poor that it was hard to rinse the tooth brush and shaver. The way the toilet bowl was designed was problematic since the water in the bottom of the bowl was very high and when you flushed the toilet it was a " ferociously" loud flush action which at first was rather shocking. The bed, which was a king, was comfy and the linens were fine. The housekeeping staff were very pleasant. The view from the window was scenic but we were not too concerned since we were there to sight seeing and our time in the room was minimal. Really, we were there for the location so we give the hotel full marks for that. The beach was lovely and the pool area was fine but was not up to the standard of other similar resorts in the area, such as the Sand Pearl and the the Hyatt. We did not pay the rack rate, so all in all, the rate was fair but if I had to pay over $ 200 / night, we would have been very disappointed. The staff were friendly and professional. Sam was pleasant while tending the bar and the happy hours were a good deal with two for one on domestic beers. We loved Clearwater Beach and feel that this beach has so much to offer. The town is fun. Hilton's location is the best in Clearwater but the building itself has seen better days. Stay here for location only.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FriendlyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripper059, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us at the Hilton Clearwater Beach. Your issues and comments have been passed along to our Executive team for review and discussion with departments.. Our apologies for the inconvenience you incurred as our guest, and we are further looking into your issues.. Thank you for your kind words about our staff who will be made aware. Hope you will return to the Hilton Clearwater Beach.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is ideally situated on the Clearwater peninsula and easy to get to and from. The room i had was on the 9th floor overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. The problem was the age of the facilities, they appear dated and not as modern as other Hilton hotels i have visited around the world. I was also concerned that the hotel services data pack in the room was not up to date and the staff at the bar were not aware of the opening and closing times printed in the literature. The happy hour 2 for 1 promotion was only available on limited drinks and not publicised at all, this was not helpful. Saying that, the valet parking guys did a great job as well as the house cleaners and bellboys.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripper059, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Our apologies all of your expectations were not met.. In recent months upgrading has been done to enhance our property. The happy hour is publicized on our Activities calendar, posted at the Front Desk, business center , restaurant host stand and recreation department. Moving foward discussing with our Executive team the calendar will be placed in every room. Our hours at the Tiki bar are extended too for later in the evening based on flow of business. Thank you for eing our guests and we do hope you will return to the Hilton Clearwater Beach.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I know maybe it is my own fault but I was expecting maybe a bit more customer service.
We arrived early ( about 2 hours ) before our rooms were ready so had to wait but considering that check out time is 11am should have meant that some were ready as we were not the only ones told to come back exactly at 4pm!.
While we wandered around we thought the kids would have enjoyed some time in the pool as it was a glorious day but we needed a room key to gain entry.... we managed to persuade someone and were able to get into the pool area ( Phew some happy kids )..but it took a while...
The rooms are functional but what you would expect bar the noisy AC, our maid was very very nice and worked so well around us and others ( Due to the fact our week here was spoilt on a few days by rain.. so thank you ).
The beach is the main draw , beautiful white wide and seems only for the hotel.. big plus.
Very easy to get a bed in the morning either by the pool or on the beach and we all know that makes your day start well.
It is a shame it just feels like they churn and burn with no thought for repeat custom.

Room Tip: Try and avoid over looking the car park....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Screamers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripper059, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for writing. We appreciate you sharing your experience as our guest. Our apology you were not fully satisfied with your stay. Guest satisfaction is quite important to us. Arrivals prior to check in are able to use the facilities and changing room. I am sorry you were not offered this option. Thank you again for sharing and being our guest. We do hope when you return to the Clearwater Beach area you will return to the Hilton Clearwater Beach.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

You know how to make your guests feel pampered! We loved the new cabana bed grouping setup, and the bar and food service on the beach, etc. There is so much to do, you are right there in the middle of everything!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripper059, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for writing a review and being our guests. We appreciate your feedback and sharing. I will be passing along your kind words. Hope to see you back with us at the Hilton Clearwater Beach.

Sincerely,

Andrea Trimmer
Executvie Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.9 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 400 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767-2011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#15 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#24 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £161 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread across 10 acres of sandy white beach, surrounded by blue skies and the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Clearwater Beach Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Hilton
Hilton Beach Resort Clearwater
Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing