We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and Uncareing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Clearwater Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Ranked #24 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old and Uncareing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

I stayed at this Hilton from Sunday to Friday for a conference. This hotel is obviously not originally a Hilton, it is older and showing it. Two separate colleagues had broken AC when they checked in, this week was extremely hot and humid. My room was OK, lighting was very dim. My main complaint is that I got stuck in the elevator with 8 others for 15 min. I could understand this, but I later found out this same elevator broke down with people on board once a day for three straight days. They were nice enough to leave me a message with an apology on my room phone (big deal), Then when I checked out the big problem came up, I checked in with a conference rate, the clerk at check-in told me and showed me that I had that rate. I made the mistake to not check my bill until I returned home (late for the plane), they did not honor the conference rate and said I booked to late, I would understand that if the check-in clerk told me that at check-in and I had a choice not to accept. Location is all this hotel has, the area has many more newer hotels to choose from, choose them.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,674
    1,232
    789
    379
    258
See reviews for
1,735
1,219
108
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (775)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

Stayed here for a week with my husband to celebrate our 5-year wedding anniversary. There is no arguing that the hotel's location and proximity to the beach, shops, and restaurants made for a great stay, but the hotel itself could stand some improvements.

The rooms have neutral decor, but it is worn, and the bathroom was tiny. I'm glad we only had two people staying in the room because I can't imagine how a family of four would get everyone ready and out the door in the space provided. We also had a problem with our shower not draining the first day we were here, but maintenance was at our door within 15 minutes to fix it.

Pros: always plenty of beach umbrellas and pool chairs available, amazing beach location, free Internet for Hilton Honors members (just sign up before your stay), food and drink service on the beach

Cons: prepare to pay extra for parking ($5 per day) and beach chairs/cabanas/umbrellas (26.75 per day), service is slow at the poolside bar, housekeeping didn't come every day, thin walls (we could hear the kids screaming next door - luckily they weren't in the room very often)

I would recommend a stay here, but be aware that you are clearly paying for the location and not a luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crtarbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CB/BigD
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

I am an HH Diamond member and I found this property to be comfortable and as advertised. We visited off season and all ameneties were available and service was good. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeocaliJeepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

We arrived to unwind on the beach for a day in-between stops, parking is a nightmare and you have to pay for it on top of your nightly rate. The room was ok, the view was ok, a side view of the ocean. Location was not bad, we walked to dinner and shops. The beach was incredible but yes like other reviewers said you have to pay extra for chairs, umbrellas, everything but towels. So be prepared that once you pay that nightly rate you will be paying $$$$ for anything and everything. The cocktails on the beach were wonderful but it's again very pricey!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nett40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

I stayed here last October for a wedding and I really enjoyed my stay. Granted - the drinks on the beach were expensive - but I still think about them on a regular basis. They dipped the rim of my Miami Vice in caramel and then coconut. It was awesome. The room was really clean and had a beautiful view of the beach (white sand, clear blue water! Such a treat for a Connecticut girl in October). The pool was nice - maybe a bit small for the amount of guests. I spent most of my time sitting on the beach anyway. I didn't park there so I can't say much about parking or transportation (we took a cab to and from the hotel), nor did I eat here so I can't speak to that either. However, I really enjoyed my stay at the Hilton Clearwater. I would go back, for their cocktails alone.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLSuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leigh england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

have had a forced exile as this hotel had been dropped from virgins brochure but its back ,and we didnt need to think twice about booking. it was great to be back service outstanding as usual rooms are nicer than i remember location great two whinges prices for bar/dinning very steep but typical of hotels and parking hit and miss maybe they should stop charge parking for public when hotel is busy.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nessieuk96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

We took our vacation here again in May2010 From Scotland UK .and can't say enough about this hotel ,realistically ,nothing to complain about infact we enjoyed the experiance so much we have booked to return on the last week in September 2010 I have read some of the other reviews, and if you try hard enough, fault can be found with anything.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colint39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#10 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Clearwater Beach

Property: Hilton Clearwater Beach
Address: 400 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#15 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#29 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Clearwater Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread across 10 acres of sandy white beach, surrounded by blue skies and the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hilton Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Clearwater Beach Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Hilton
Hilton Beach Resort Clearwater
Hilton Clearwater Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing