We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful walk in hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Ranked #25 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a wonderful walk in hotel”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We walked In off the beach needed a place got a awesome deal better then the aaa rate everyone was nice and its so close to food beach and fun.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ninahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you so much for letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us recently! We hope you'll find reason to come back soon!

We invite you to join our Facebook page: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach for updates and events.

Have a nice fall!

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    520
    208
    82
    85
See reviews for
533
482
33
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of August 2011. Check-in was pleasant but was shocked to find that the Gulf view room that I paid for through Hotel.com was not what I expected.
The view from my balcony faced the side of the adjoining building, my view was 90% concrete and 10% the sea! Not very happy I went to reception to resolve the matter. I spoke to the assistant manager, he told us that the room we initially had was gulf view even though it was practically facing the concrete wall and insisted that if I wanted the 'Gulf View' that they called 'Gulf Front View' I would have to pay for the upgrade. What a joke as I paid a lot of money for what I expected to be a room facing the Gulf.....that's why I chose ...GULF VIEW! After much deliberation he finally managed to move us to a better room with 90% Gulf view!!
The room is very clean and the beds comfortable, slightly outdated compared to some of the other newer hotels in the area but then again you are not paying the slightly higher price!
Pool area is cleaned every morning which is nice and the view looking towards the Gulf is lovely.
We had free breakfast and kids eat free...if they are under 12! Ridiculous I know so if you are booking, you would be wise to change any kids over 12 to adults in order to get the free breakfast, in our experience the price for the stay whether it was 4 adults or 2 Adults and 2 kids was the same. The breakfast was limited to $20 for 2 adults and overall the quality was average but the buffet was rubbish when they had it at weekends. You will be wise to avoid ordering the coffee as it was very weak on the 3 occassions that we had it and finally had the sense to have juice instead. The free coffee in the hotel room was much better. We did dine there on the last evening and that was surprisingly good.
Overall we did have a good time but could have done without the stress at the beginning! So next time I will be looking at the other newer hotels and maybe pay that bit more.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vader69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We had an excellent girls weekend in Clearwater Beach. The hotel was great. The best part about it was the POOL! The beach view was good too, but there is ZERO beach access so we were surprised about that.

The only hiccup we had was that when we arrived we had one free night and one paid night. They expected us to stay in one room on one floor the first night, then pack up and switch rooms & floors the second night. They acted like it was non negotiable. Finally after speaking with a manager, they made everything right and our trip was perfect.

The restaurant at the hotel was super good. We also drove down to Crabby Bills (EXCELLENT crab!) for dinner one night. The walk along the boardwalk and beach area was wonderful. It was gorgeous weather to boot.

Room Tip: 4th floor & higher, also request an ocean view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxOCDMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your "Girls Weekend" with us on TripAdvisor! We're so glad your group enjoyed their stay, loved the pool and the restaurant, and that one of our managers was able to straighten out your room situation.

We hope you girls will come back again soon! There is SO much to see and do in Clearwater!

You're invited to join our Facebook page for updates: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Clearwater Beach. Maybe you'll find another tempting reason to return! (Also, we'd love to have you post photos in our FB album!)

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvis, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We were guest at this hotel from September 2nd to September 5th, 2011. As a former hotel maid and guest service representative at various beach resorts, I know first hand how very difficult it is to keep everyone happy all of the time, especially during busy holiday weekends. That being said, the accommodations were absolutely impeccable and every staff person we encountered did a terrific job making us feel welcome, including guest service members and management, housekeeping staff and management, the maintenance engineers, parking staff, and security personnel. The housekeeping staff did a phenomenal job, going above and beyond to keep the room warm and welcoming, including turning down the covers and tucking the remote into the covers right where we would find it! The grounds were beautifully maintained at all times. The pool deck was kept very clean and free of debris. Fresh warm towels were always available at the pool, if anyone happened to forget their own. The wait staff at both the pool bar and the indoor/outdoor restaurant were very accommodating and always cheerful as well. In general, it was a perfect place to relax if you wanted to get away from the crowds at the beach, which was only a short walk from the hotel. Everything we needed or wanted to do was within a short walking distance from the hotel. We just parked the car and walked virtually everywhere we wanted to go. Overall, we couldn't have asked for a better stay and we will most definitely book with this hotel for our next trip down.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
What a wonderful review! We certainly thank you for taking the time to respond to your trip here all the way from Iowa! It is wonderful to hear that we met and/or exceeded your expectations. Our staff, including housekeeping, will be pleased to hear your compliments to them, as will Jimmy's Fish House management.

As you could probably tell, there is so much to do in the Clearwater area, and one way to stay informed is by following our Facebook page: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach. In fact, you are welcome to post photos of your trip in one of our albums if you'd like!

Many thanks again and we hope you have a wonderful fall.

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

After a busy week this hotel in Clearwater gave us some chill time. The gulfside suite provided two rooms, 2 double beds and a sofa bed, fridge, microwave and coffee machine and crockery. Lovely views and good pool with adjacent pool bar. Restaurant and patio tables lovely to watch the sun setting and drink cocktails - dolphins also seen offshore. Children eat free. great location only 10 mins walk from pier 60 and 5 from main beach. Friendly helpful staff. Decent gym. Any gripes- communal areas ie corridors and lifts tired, sofa bed very
uncomfortable. I would stay again and would recommend

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopherleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights to begin a 10 day trip. My stay was booked on reward points, so that definitely impacts my overall review. We were upgraded from the standard room booked on points to a city view suite. We were very pleased to have the additional space. I considered paying to upgrade to gulfview, but that cost was an additional $50/night, which did seem excessive to me, but it wasn't a big deal. The room was very spacious with two bathrooms. Many spaces were a little worn/dated, like the elevator, carpet and some furniture. However, the room was clean and well equipped.

The location was wonderful. We never pulled the car out of the lot the whole time. We walked to Walgreens for supplies. The beach was a very short walk away, and we walked to and from Pier 60 a couple of times as well. Many good eating options nearby.

We ate at Jimmy's the first night, which was pleasant (will try to review separately), but the kids eating free was a great bonus. We also swam in the pool, which was a nice area, but the pool was a little deep even for me to enjoy so for non toddler children, it may pose some challenges.

Overall, we really enjoyed our time on the beach and we were happy with the hotel. I would say that if I had paid the regular rate, I might have had higher exectations for the room furnishings and common areas (elevator for example) so I'm sure my perspective was skewed by staying on points.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trirae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We traveled here with 3 families with kids ranging from 14-24. The hotel was clean and the staff were extra friendly. Great ocean views from the pool. Rooms were clean and tidy. Jimmys Fish House restuarant which is attached to the hotel had great food and service. We had sixteen people in our group and everyone had a great time. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: ocean view room is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachfun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
We are so glad you and your group had a great vacation! And glad you liked Jimmy's -- tt's the kind of restaurant where locals as well as visitors frequent.

We hope you'll return soon - maybe after "Dolphin Tale" debuts next month. Did you see "Winter" at the Clearwater Marine Aquarium while you were here?

We invite you to stay in touch on our Facebook page: Holiday Inn Clearwater Beach - and you are welcome to add photos as well.

Thanks again for taking the time to write!

Christine Bottger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#22 of 98 in Clearwater
4,658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shephard's Beach Resort
Shephard's Beach Resort
#21 of 98 in Clearwater
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Address: 521 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#17 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#31 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Gulf of Mexico-Sunsets & Dolphin sightings Complimentary! Discover all that Clearwater Beach has to offer at the convenient, comfortable smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. In the heart of everything, from shopping and dining, to entertainment, you are within walking distance of the white sands of Clearwater Beach, and Pier 60 where you can enjoy nightly sunset celebrations.. Located 30 minutes away from Tampa International Airport (TPA), the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is your best choice in Clearwater Beach. Whether you re coming to Clearwater Beach for fun or business the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is your personal retreat. You ll have room to relax, work or play most of the day in our spacious rooms, Kids Suites or One Bedroom Suites. Amenities such as flat screen LCD HD televisions, granite countertops, private balconies, free high-speed internet, plush towels, and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our heated Gulf-front pool, relax with your favorite beverage at Jimmy s Iguana Bar or our Rum Rumer s Tiki Bar. You can enjoy a dining adventure at Jimmy s Fish House providing nightly entertainment. The best of Clearwater Beach is waiting for you at the Award Winning Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. The only thing you won t find is a reason to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Clearwater Beach
Holiday Inn Clearwater
Clearwater Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing