We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Ranked #26 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great hotel!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights and we really liked it. It's only about a 200 meter walk from the hotel to the beach and it has a good sidewalk all the way there.
The staff at the hotel were overall very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast every morning at the hotel, you could either choose from the menu or have the buffet. You could either sit outside or inside. One morning some dolphins swam by. Since the kids (up to 12 years old) ate for free when we stayed at the hotel, it was a very good price.
We stayed in a double room, with a balcony. In the room there was also a refrigerator and a microwave (which we didn't quite figure out, but that was probably just us).
The pool area was very nice and there were no problems finding sun beds.
I will definitely stay at this hotel again, when/if I go back to Clearwater Beach and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank masi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
We love our international guests! Thanks for choosing our hotel for your familie's stay here from Sweden - we're so glad you found it to your liking, including the Kids Eat Free program, our inviting pool and friendly staff.

The best part is that you look forward to returning, and that pleases us most of all! Until you can return, we invite you to follow our Facebook page; Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach....share photos of your beach vacation if you'd like!

Have a wonderful summer and again, many thanks for your review and for staying with us!

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    515
    202
    79
    80
See reviews for
514
475
33
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This Holiday Inn offers an ideal location for activities in Tampa, St. Pete and Clearwater. The staff was helpful with directions and information about the local area. The hotel was clean, affordable and accommodating to our large group. The outdoor pool and hot tub were clean and the surrounding grounds were very pretty with a small pond and beautiful plantings.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dporcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thanks for taking time to write us about your recent stay with us. We're so glad you and your group enjoyed it here, plus all the amenities such as our pool and restaurant. You are correct, we are centrally located to many wonderful area activities!

Until you can return again, we invite you to follow our Facebook page: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach and even share some of your holiday photos with us if you'd like.

Thanks again - and we see you're from Beantown but were here during Spring Training time - so we don't know if we should end this by saying, "Go Sox" or "Go Phillies"..... (maybe it depends on how much you like Jonathan Papelbon!)

All the best,

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed here for almost a week. They have very courteous staff -- front desk and housekeeping. They clean the rooms everyday and also called for car service daily for us, special mention to Will. He was very helpful and informative.

Standard rooms had a personal fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron and board, hair dryer, TV and phone. WiFi is also free.

The hotel is walking distance to the restaurants and stores by the beach and also Pier 60. It was also by the bay so we were able to watch beautiful sunsets by the pool. They have a restaurant that serves great food (seafood too!) and alcohol, with live music. You can dine outside and watch the pelicans and herons feed. If you're lucky, maybe even dolphins!

Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aissanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
We're so pleased you took time to review your recent stay with us - thank you!

For sure we will pass on your compliments to Will and our other staff. We pride ourselves on our great staff who really want our guests to enjoy their holiday experience.

At no extra charge do we offer the entertainment by the seabirds and dolphin! LOL

We hope you have a great summer, and until you can return, we invite you to follow our Facebook Page: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach.

Thanks again!

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Our stay here was great until $100 and an IPod were stolen from our room. After WEEKS of run-around from the Clearwater hotel managers as well as Holiday Inn customer service, we were told "there is nothing that can be done." I would think twice about staying here or bringing any items of value to this hotel. Try Sheppard's or TravelLodge first!!!

Room Tip: Don't leave anything of value in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kbelle929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

Our hotel has a lost and found department where we keep found items for a minimum of 90 days. In the event any of your items are recovered, we will contact you immediately.. While we understand your item is of personal value, the hotel is not liable for lost or left items unless placed in our safe deposit boxes which are located at our front desk.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to contact us.

Sincerely,


Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We arrived in CB after seeing a Spring Training ball game in Viera (hours away). We arrived on a Sunday night in the midst of spring break. We could not believe the traffic and how congested the highway was driving in to CB. The college kids seemed to have taken over the place. I had read a bit about this hotel on line before we left, so we stopped there and asked what was available and if we could see the room. We were given keys to 758 and 758A, a two room suite, overlooking the ocean. We decided to stay mostly because of the balcony. The views from the balcony were beautiful. However, it was noisy -- the clatter and shouts from the pool and the outside dining area continue all day til 11 p.m. At 5 or 6 p.m. a band (while we were there it was a one man band) begins playing outside, and that is very loud. He quits at 11 p.m. though. If you keep your patio doors shut, it's not a big deal, and it never bothered us at all. I kind of liked all of the energy.

Our initial impression was that the place was rundown and needed some TLC. The rugs in the elevators were soiled (although throughout our stay, cleaning staff appeared to be scouring the place). The room decor was a mixture of nice, modern (the granite and sinks in the bathrooms) and dated (the rugs, the walls, the general colour scheme). Our adult son was joining us the next day. We wanted a 2 bedroom suite, but none were available, so we took a one bedroom suite. It was basically 2 hotel rooms made into a suite by the opening of the connecting door. That was tacky. It always felt like we just had two rooms; it never felt like we actually had a suite. I would suggest getting rid of those doors and installing some nice french doors (with privacy) so that it feels more like a suite.

One room was the living room -- nicely laid out -- a bathroom at the entrance (this bathroom had been totally remodeled -- a nice tiled walk in shower with glass doors, a beautiful granite vanity and sink (small but lots of storage space). There was a mini kitchen area -- a bar fridge, some cupboards and counters with a sink (again, lots of storage). There was a living room area (sofa bed, end tables, chairs) with flat screen tv and a round table with 4 chairs. Because this room did not have a balcony, it was slightly larger than the other room. The kitchenette included dishes for 4 (cutlery, glasses, mugs, plates, cereal bowls). That was a nice touch as we sometimes ate cereal in our room.

The other room had two queen beds, a flat screen tv, a desk area, two chairs and the balcony. There were two chairs and a table on the balcony. The balcony overlooked the pool area and the ocean; terrific views. It was wonderful to have the balcony for some afternoon/early evening sunning in the privacy of our suite.

The bathroom in the bedroom was very basic; the vanity and sink were redone but the rest was pretty standard -- small tub; small bathroom.

Both rooms had open closets at the entrances (you could enter from the hallway through either door -- that's also what made it feel less like a suite), with complimentary hangers. There were also dressers below the tvs with lots of drawers for clothes storage.

The lighting in the room was not good. There were no overhead lights except at the entrance by the closet. The rest of the lighting was provided by lamps, and when it got dark at night, that really wasn't enough. Plugins are also always a problem, and this room was no exception. To be honest, there were slightly more plugins than normal, but still not a lot. When will hotels learn that the average traveller has many devices to charge and they want to charge all of them at one time, when they are in their room!! Laptops, phones, ipads, razors, toothbrushes, cameras, video cameras -- etc. etc. I always try to pack a power bar but I forgot this time -- but wouldn't it be simple for hotels to stock a power bar in each room (just like they stock hair dryers?)

Hello to BeachbumPhiladelphia -- you are probably the people we met on our first day there -- we were looking for our room and we had gone up the wrong tower. My husband was the one wearing the EXpos shirt! We did find that there were definitely a "better class" of people staying at this hotel as opposed to some of the other rowdy spring break hotels where there were lots of young college kids. Although I don't know if Phillies fans are a "better class of people!!" (just kidding!). It was nice, though, to see that the hotel fully embraced the baseball community. We never made it to the Phillies stadium while we were there, but Dunedin, where the Blue Jays play, is only 20 minutes away as well.

Anyways -- the pool was very nice -- supposedly heated, but a little cool for my liking. I did get used to it rather quickly. There are pool towels at the pool and they never seemed to run out. There is a pool side bar and a wonderful lady (I forget her name) who served drinks and food at the pool. She was amazing -- served the whole area herself. You can sit around the pool or you can go down a few steps to a patio area that overlooks the ocean. That was very nice. Some people actually waded in the ocean right off our sundeck -- there are rocks there, no sand, but they seemed to enjoy it. Even though it was very busy there when we were there, there was always a spot at the pool. The actual beach itself is a 5 minute walk. I don't think I would want a hotel right on the beach (not that there really are any who are right on the beach) as it can get really noisy and crazy around the beach area).

A couple of more comments -- there was complimentary wifi. The only problem was that you had to keep signing in -- even if you hadn't turned your device off. As soon as you went off the internet for a minute or two it bounced you out of the connection. I have stayed at many hotels and have never had that happen before. We didn't ask anybody about it; we just resigned ourselves to the way it was. Unfortunately, what happened though, is that we ended up not realizing that right away, and our own internet (at a high cost) would kick in.

There was a nicely stocked gift shop as well -- I saw two different ladies work there -- one was warm and kind but the other one was so rude that I never went in there if she was there. There is also a nice video arcade area. Lots of games, but we didn't use them.

The bar and restaurant were good. Food was good and reasonably priced. One day a long necked bird snuck up to our table and stole the remainder of my husband's sandwich (he was done). It was kind of funny.

The cleaning staff must have been Cuban or something -- we had animals made out of towels every day -- ones I had never seen before. They were really cute. And they cleaned well too.

The fitness room was great -- two treadmills with TV's attached and a whole circuit training system. We used that every day.

Parking was great -- it is at a premiuim on Clearwater Beach, but was $12 per day. The normal rate for that lot for non hotel guests is $20 per day so I guess we got a discount. I still don't believe hotels should charge for parking but I guess space is limited.
Finally, I am a Priority Club Member, and in Canada, I don't think they make such a big deal about you being a member, but here they sure did. It was kind of nice. Got a free drink card and a nice letter welcoming us etc. It was quite nice. They made me feel important.

Room Tip: Ocean view -- but be prepared for the noise from the pool, restaurant and band.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxhermxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Wow, we sure thank you for writing such a thorough review of our property. We're so glad you joined us for your Clearwater Beach holiday, and thanks for being a valued Priority Club member!

We'll let our housekeeping staff know you enjoyed the towel creations they make - they really do strive to keep our property spotless and add nice little touches for our guests.

A lot of families have other family members join them, so we're happy your son could join you for part of your stay as well.

Our pool and restaurant staff will also be pleased to know you found their services to your liking. Of course, the beauty of looking out onto the Gulf has to be your best memory of all!

Hopefully we'll see you back here in the near future; until that time - we invite you to follow our Facebook page: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach.

Thanks and have a great summer!

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We traveled with our three young children and stayed in one of their suites which was very comfortable and clean. It was great that children eat free! The hotel was beautiful located right on the water! And was in walking distance to many things. Nice pool with tiki bar and terrace located right on the water too...in addition, the hotel has a fun restaurant and bar, again located on the water with live entrainment in the evenings. The hotel is on the water but does not have its own private beach. You can can access the ocean water from the hotel if your willing to climb over some big rocks, then it is shallow and sandy bottom for a little ways out. Otherwise the public beach is only about 500 feet from the hotel parking lot. It was nice that you could check out big beach towels to take with you. The water and views are beautiful!!! Great sunsets too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyMtnGirls4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
How nice of you to take time to review our property. We're so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay here, including the pool, restaurant and Kids Eat Free program.

You are right, everyone (including us) love the veiws from here, especially the sunsets!

Until you're able to get back here from Colorado Springs, we invite you to follow us on our Facebook page, "Holiday Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach".

Have a wonderful summer and thanks again!

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland, mi
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Nice place, nice pool.
Hotel is located on the channel; not directly on beach. That said, very nice pool.
If you get a suite with the kids bunkbeds, be warned, none of those suites are on the ocean side, they are all city view.

Room service food is non existent; called multiple times one nite; no answer. Lots of local restaurants however.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel49424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We're glad you and your family had a good time and enjoyed time in our beautiful pool. Hopefully you had time to explore the area and see all that Clearwater has to offer.

We hope you have a nice summer up there in Michigan and will be able to return for another visit in the near future.

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Shephard's Beach Resort
Shephard's Beach Resort
#16 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Address: 521 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#17 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#31 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Gulf of Mexico-Sunsets & Dolphin sightings Complimentary! Discover all that Clearwater Beach has to offer at the convenient, comfortable smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. In the heart of everything, from shopping and dining, to entertainment, you are within walking distance of the white sands of Clearwater Beach, and Pier 60 where you can enjoy nightly sunset celebrations.. Located 30 minutes away from Tampa International Airport (TPA), the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is your best choice in Clearwater Beach. Whether you re coming to Clearwater Beach for fun or business the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is your personal retreat. You ll have room to relax, work or play most of the day in our spacious rooms, Kids Suites or One Bedroom Suites. Amenities such as flat screen LCD HD televisions, granite countertops, private balconies, free high-speed internet, plush towels, and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our heated Gulf-front pool, relax with your favorite beverage at Jimmy s Iguana Bar or our Rum Rumer s Tiki Bar. You can enjoy a dining adventure at Jimmy s Fish House providing nightly entertainment. The best of Clearwater Beach is waiting for you at the Award Winning Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. The only thing you won t find is a reason to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Clearwater Beach
Holiday Inn Clearwater
Clearwater Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing