We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I didn't feel like the staff was friendly. I am a priority club member and stay at many Holiday Inn property. Usually they greet me with a smile and a welcome me with a bottle water. I didn't get either one. I am really disappointed with price I had paid and didn't get what I expected.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Applebottomjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Applebottomjean,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 735 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

The service was amazing, especially awesome Amy and Tom. The pool area was beautiful with plenty of seating. Great view of the gulf without a beachfront we were bumped, however it was a very short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thanks for taking time to review your stay. We let Tom and Amy know you were pleased with their service!

Glad you enjoyed the resort, our pool, nearness to beach, and stunning views. Hopefully, these add up to reasons to return soon!

Thanks again and have a great fall.

Christine Bottger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I had a long weekend to spend with my sister and I chose this hotel to try something different from the Quality Hotel a couple hotels away( wish I loved a month earlier). The room was on 9th floor with a fantastic view. I was surprised that we had an adjoining room with a kitchen, living room and another bathroom. We didn't need that room but the bathroom came in handy! The first night I couldn't sleep so my sister switched beds with me do I could sleep, but then she couldn't. The one bed was like sleeping on the floor!
The hotel isn't on the beach, but its a short walk to beach and pretty close to everything we wanted to do, including Pier 60 and shopping.
It was nice having Jimmy's Fish House right there with live entertainment. The trio appetizer was yummy and the blue margarita was enough for two (or more!).
My disappointments were the pool security men. After walking everywhere we sat at the pool steps with just our feet in the water and was told we couldn't bc it was after 11:00. It was 11:01! The next night a lady was swimming all over the pool at midnight and never was told to leave so on our last night we put our feet in the kiddie pool and was immediately told we couldn't.
Another con is the balcony. Though beautiful and roomy, the heat blowing from loud air unit was so unbearable we had to sit close to door with door open for some air!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarmGirl436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thanks so much for taking time to review your stay from last month.

We agree with you - the balcony views are spectacular, any time of day or night. Glad you enjoyed the resort atmosphere and Jimmy's. Sorry you were inconvenienced by late-night hour usage of the pool. That person you saw swimming at midnight obviously got away with it because our security people are pretty consistently on the watch.

Sure hope you can come back again soon to visit. Stay in touch with us on Facebook please! Have a nice fall.

Kind regards,

Christine Bottger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Reserved the room that wife and I try to get each year for our anniversary. Upon check-in Joan was very friendly, pleasant, professional and made sure we had the right room.
Within a half hour of getting to "our" room we were on the balcony and had a dolphin swimming in the shallow clear water about 20 feet off shore. First time we were able to see one other than just surfacing and it greatly added to the pleasure of this stay.
Dinner at Jimmy's was a disappointment this time but it may have been miscommunication with the server. Music was good to listen to from our 6th floor balcony but had wished the volume had lowered after ten but it stopped about 11:15
We really feel relaxed when here and I doubt that there's a reasonable request that any worker would refused.
If we're not back sooner we'll be back next September

Room Tip: If you want a balcony overlooking the Gulf your going to pay more, if you prefer to save some you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jas45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

How nice of you to review your September stay with us. We appreciate your kind words, because we want all our guests to feel at home!

Joan thanks you for the compliment. We are fortunate to have her as a dedicated staff member.
Glad you enjoyed the resort features, including the relaxed atmosphere. We hope Jimmy's was able to resolve your concern of your order. Management is always looking to make guests satisfied.

So glad we'll see you next September! Please stay in touch with us on our Facebook page - and have a great fall!

Christine Bottger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were overall very happy with our stay in this hotel. The staff was friendly, the rooms newer and clean and spacious. The fish house restaurant and the small coffee shop were just ok, although the ambiance and the look of the restaurant was really nice, water-side in the evenings, tiki bar hut and live entertainment. Good hotel for families.
The only drawback is that this beach overlooks the ocean, but does not have any beachfront. The beach itself is a 5- minute walk. The pool area is nice and my husband enjoyed being under the palms for shade. The hotel is on the southern tip of Clearwater beach, but you can easily drive everywhere, and there is a bus that goes up and down the strip. Note that there is a $12 parking fee per day and they do check to ensure beach parkers are getting by without paying. Parking must be paid for everywhere in CB.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelGirl645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thanks so much for writing a review of your September stay. We love our visitors from Chicago - they always seem to have so much fun!

Glad you enjoyed the resort's many features including the beautiful tiki deck and our nightly music. You are right, it is an easy trolley ride to so many areas of the beach. Always a reason to come back and we hope you will return as soon as you can.

Love to have you stay in touch with us on our Facebook page as well.

All the best,

Christine Bottger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very polite and friendly front desk. Our room was great and as we had family staying there also we had a fantastic time poolside with children, grandchildren and other friends and family !! Ate on premises several times and food was good.
Only bad part of 3 night stay was first night several fire alarms were pulled and my husband and I had to walk down and then back up 6 flights of stairs with 3 grandchildren ( 1, 3 and 7 years old ) at 3 in the morning. Hotel needs more security perhaps more cameras on each floor would help as guilty parties were not found!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJHTDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thanks for taking time to review your September stay. So glad you were able to enjoy your vacation on Clearwater Beach.

We're happy you enjoyed the family-friendly atmosphere here, plus the resort amenities. So sorry for the inconvenience of the fire alarm. That doesn't happen often!

Hopefully you'll be able to join us again, and we invite you to stay in touch on our Facebook page.

All the best,

Christine Bottger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stay last week at Holiday Inn for our third time. Always treated well there and location is great. Just a short walk from Pier 60 on Clearwater Beach. Great pool, tiki bar, gulf side bar & restaurant. Live entertainment.Be sure to get a room with gulf view and balcony. Be prepared for $12/day parking fee. Only complaints we had is every time we stay there seems to be a fire alarm going off. This time it was on our first night luckily at 8PM. Last stay it was at 3AM! By the time we got evacuated we turned around & went back in? Carpet is due for replacement in room & hallways. Would be nice to have a small refrigerator in all rooms.
We would highly recommend this hotel.
If possible go to the marina and go out on the Seascreamer. It's a very large speedboat that the dolphins love to chase and play in the boat's wake. Well worth the money!

Room Tip: 6TH floor is where we always stay facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SadieMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thanks for taking time to review your September holiday with us. We're glad you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and the resort amenities including the pool, tiki bar and restaurant. So sorry for the inconvenience of the fire alarm. That doesn't happen often!

Hopefully you'll be able to join us again, and we invite you to stay in touch on our Facebook page.

All the best,

Christine Bottger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel On the Beach
Quality Hotel On the Beach
#39 of 98 in Clearwater
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach

Address: 521 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#17 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#31 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £103 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Gulf of Mexico-Sunsets & Dolphin sightings Complimentary! Discover all that Clearwater Beach has to offer at the convenient, comfortable smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. In the heart of everything, from shopping and dining, to entertainment, you are within walking distance of the white sands of Clearwater Beach, and Pier 60 where you can enjoy nightly sunset celebrations.. Located 30 minutes away from Tampa International Airport (TPA), the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is your best choice in Clearwater Beach. Whether you re coming to Clearwater Beach for fun or business the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is your personal retreat. You ll have room to relax, work or play most of the day in our spacious rooms, Kids Suites or One Bedroom Suites. Amenities such as flat screen LCD HD televisions, granite countertops, private balconies, free high-speed internet, plush towels, and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our heated Gulf-front pool, relax with your favorite beverage at Jimmy s Iguana Bar or our Rum Rumer s Tiki Bar. You can enjoy a dining adventure at Jimmy s Fish House providing nightly entertainment. The best of Clearwater Beach is waiting for you at the Award Winning Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. The only thing you won t find is a reason to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Clearwater Beach
Holiday Inn Clearwater
Clearwater Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing