We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Ranked #26 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I use to travel for a living...up to 100%. I could be in 3 different states in a week or stay in one hotel for 2wks. I have stayed at many many holiday inns (mostly express).. I rarely have had any issues at these hotels. So maybe my expectations where too high because of previous experience...I'm not sure.
My husband & I stayed here Friday night (May 30th...we had only been married for 2 days!) We checked out of our hotel went to Clearwater with some friends and decided to stay out there on the beach. Called and reserved a room at Holiday Inn over the phone. All was well with reservations except they left out the detail of paying for parking! The person let me know I had 2 membership accounts and said she would forward my call to the appropriate dept to merge the accounts. I was directed to the wrong dept and they forwarded me to the correct dept where both parties introduce ourselves...the lady asked how can I help you? I explained I had 2 accounts & would like to merge them and "click". She hung up on me!
Get to the hotel and they did have our reservation, a surprise after all this, but then there's a parking fee. We ask for a management number to call because after being hung up on and not being notified that there was a parking fee prior to booking was unprofessional. It was about a $200 a night stay and there's no room for parking to be included in that price? They seemed hesitant to give us a number to call. Then eventually found "a number" for me to call.
Once we get to the room I was shocked to find the room to be quite small. I reminded me when I stayed in New York Times Square and my door wouldn't open completely because it would it the bed. Holiday Inn room wasn't that small, but it was a tight squeeze.
We never called to settle my 2 accounts or to let them know they should inform people about their parking charges. We just decided we won't stay there. They probably don't care because they are booked with travelers visiting anyway.
The restaurant inside was amazing and had great customer service (especially the hostess)!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naynay39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
naynay39:

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with our hotel. We appreciate the valuable feedback provided. We are saddened to hear of the difficulty you experienced trying to combine your two Rewards Club memberships. If this has not been completed for you, please reach out to me and I will be happy to contact IHG and have this corrected immediately.

We also apologize the parking charge was not communicated to you in advance while making the reservation. It is never our intention to not disclose this important piece of information during the reservation process.

Delighted to hear that your experience with our restaurant was excellent and that our hostess was great. Should you wish to discuss your experience further or if I can assist with your duplicate membership account, please reach out to me at cbottger@ClearwaterBeachHI.com. Again, sorry for any inconvenience you experienced and thank your for your valuable feedback.

Best Regards,


Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    515
    202
    79
    80
See reviews for
514
475
33
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

we have never been so disappointed. In fact, this is my first ever negative review. First, I was disappointed when trying to book our room for a wedding. It was very difficult to get the blocked rate and the person I was finally told could fix things, did not have a voicemail and it took a few days to get in touch with him. Second, the check in process was completely disorganized and chaotic Third, after checking in, we were not told that the two elevators take you to two different areas. We took the wrong elevator and had to come back to the lobby and catch a different set to access our room. While I attempted to take our baby upstairs, my husband had requested someone to helps getting our bags upstairs. After waiting 15 minutes, no one came to help him. He finally found an empty cart (none were previously available) and got our things to the room. Last...and not least...we killed FOUR roaches in our room in the 2 days we were there. I took the 3rd to the front desk and the night manager, Derek, was less than helpful and not friendly. The saving grace of this place?? Tim K. at customer service. When we went to leave, he was extremely apologetic and helpful. The rest of the staff could learn a thing from him. Thank you Tim K. for your exceptional customer service and professionalism!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrscottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Mrscottle:

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your most recent experience with our hotel. We strive to be the leader in accommodations and services on Clearwater Beach. We certainly fell short in this instance and for this we are truly sorry. Your comments will be reviewed with our entire team in order to ensure an instance like this does not occur again in the future. We were delighted to hear that Tim was able to provide you with the service you have come to know and expect from Holiday Inn.

Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please contact me directly at cbottger@ClearwaterBeachHI.com. Again, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your visit.

Sincerely,


Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just got home from a 3 night stay and I can't stop talking about what an outstanding experience we had! I have been to Clearwater Beach more times than I can count but have never stayed at the Holiday Inn and boy was I missing out! The front desk service from check in to check out was great! Joan was especially fantastic!! The room was clean and comfortable. The employees at the coffee shop were always smiling and eager to help us out! We mainly stayed at the hotel because we didn't feel like we needed anything more. The food at Jimmy's was great didn't eat one thing I didn't like- everything was exceptional! The bar staff was friendly and fun! (Pittsburgh) Jason and Irish Dude Jay are great! There's live music every night and a big sunset party which was a good time! Just sitting on the patio we saw dolphins swim by several times! The wait staff is a bit slow but the atmosphere makes up for it, being on vacation we weren't in a huge rush anyway. Hoping to get back there really soon such a great place for an even better price!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about your stay. It's easy to see you had a great time....and for sure, that is our goal, to make every customer leave with great memories and a positive experience. Our staff will be pleased you enjoyed them - and we'll say "hi" for you!

We're so glad you enjoyed the resort so much you stayed here for most of the time....and that gives you a reason to come back and explore other parts of Clearwater. There are so many fun things to do here!

Please stay in touch with us on Facebook and know we'll look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for four days from the 20th may to the 24th May and did not enjoy any part of this hotel one little bit. I'll start with the 12 dollars to park every night which is a rip off as anyone visiting Clearwater can do the same. The reception staff need training in manners and politeness as they are very miserable. The rooms are dated and a little scruffy for 4 star. We upgraded to a suite overlooking the gulf which was beautifull for 60 dollars per night but they neglected to say it was over the noisy pool area the noisy bar and the really noisy entertainment for the fish bar and goes on until 11pm every night and the fish bar is open until 2am. The most dangerous part is the security or lack of it. People can walk into the pool area from a unlocked gate of the car park so you have all the people who want to just use the fish bar walking through and can also just walk into the hotel ideal for robbers or worst still perverts. No safe in room either and the service in the fish bar is really bad unless we discovered you are American the they run around for you. They did not look after us at all and just because of the safety issues don't stay here. Oh and the beach is 5 mins walk away and you can't see the sunset unless you hang over the sea wall

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Micky49uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Micky49UK:

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is unfortunate your interactions with our Guest Service Team and Restaurant Team were unfavorable and prevented you from enjoying your stay with us.

The safety and security of our guests are a top priority for our entire team, which is why you will find our pool staff monitoring the pool area and parking area as well as our Security team consistently walking the property.

We will share your comments with our Management and Staff so we can review our policies and procedures and we are confident that if need be, necessary adjustments will be made to ensure complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments. Feedback is always welcomed and important to our success.

Best Regards,


Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
346 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Now, a vacation in a wonderful place like Clearwater Beach deserves the perfect hotel pairing. The Holiday Inn & Suites is located right on the sparkling Gulf of Mexico, and it is just waiting to welcome you with its comfortable rooms and seemingly never ending amenities.

This Mediterranean styled property is literally bursting at the seams with everything a traveler could possibly want or need in their "home away from home". Th accommodations range from poolside or Gulf-view guestrooms that can comfortably sleep a couple or a family of four. However, if you have something a little different in mind, it also offers suites with a full living room and kitchen area. And for a real getaway, stay in a family suite, complete with a separate space for the kids, with their own bunk beds, tv, and vanity area. All of the room are large and comfortable, making it extremely easy to settle in for the weekend or the entire week!

This beautiful Holiday Inn is right on the Gulf, with a lovely sundeck area reaching out across the water, adjacent to the blue ripples of the swimming pool and the lively libations of the tiki bar, where you can rest the day away as you hear the waves gently come in. Ready for some beach time? Less than 500 steps will place you on the sugary white sands of Clearwater Beach!

And when hunger calls, dine Gulf-side at the onsite restaurant, and experience delicious food, mixed with the breathtaking views of the sunset. There is even a coffee house and ice cream shop, conveniently located right off of the lobby.

With plenty of activities for every member of your family, this is the ideal location to call your "home base" on Clearwater Beach!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you! We're so pleased you took time to review us so thoroughly following your couple-time getaway.

We're pleased you found the resort, staff, and location to your liking and that we made you feel comfortable and relaxed. Thanks for the comments on the restaurant and area. Please know our staff really tries hard to make every customer's experience a memory.

You've made our day, and we do hope you can return again from Kentucky when you have time.

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
309 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I remember back in the day pre economic bust when the hotel was sold and turning into time shares/vacation rentals. Nice to see Holiday Inn had taken over this so families could actually stay on the beach without paying 400.00 a nite. That being said... I booked my room on hotels.com and then called the hotel to guarantee a late check in as my flight from Hartford was late. They said..no problem. I got to the hotel at 11PM and they did not have any rooms left for my 2 nite stay. I helpfully pushed the front desk person to help me find other beach accommodations but the beach was SOLD out everywhere. They had claimed to call me, never did (my cell was working just fine)... finally they found a room for me about 20 mins away only for me to arrive with my taxi to find out the room was booked already. Great help from a taxi driver and my hotels.com app I called around to find The Beso in Dunedin. 2.5 hrs later I had a room.

I returned to the hotel the next day to hear my 2nd nite room was not ready yet..at 3pm even though (front desk) had said it would be ready for EARLY checkin (ca. 11) due to my troubles. Anyway.. I battled and received a suite. Decent room, great view. Well appointed. Sand Key view. nice.. nice nice...

I eventually met with my family for brunch at Jimmys which was well.. horrible. Horrible service, tasteless food. Reminded me of a family restaurant with terrible service from the 1970s. I would not stay here again unless ALL OTHER hotels were booked solid and i HAD to stay on the beach.

Room Tip: ocean view, as high up as possible and away from the shepards side (loud). Food sucks so go to anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brynulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Brynulf:

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel, and for that we do apologize. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. I will also be sure to share your comments with our Food & Beverage manager regarding your experience with Jimmy's Fish House.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We recently had an unexpected trip to St Pete, as we're looking for property and one came up We needed to make plans fast. We'd booked a place in St Pete, but decided the area it was in wasn't where we wanted to be, so we headed to Clearwater Beach in an effort to find an available room. Holiday Inn Suites took us in without hesitation. We had a great room overlooking the main street so we could sit on our balcony and people watch. If I'd known we would end up there, I'd have tried to book a room overlooking the Gulf waters, as it's a beautiful setting.
They do have a small coffee shop and an onsite full serve Restaurant, which does have outside dining overlooking the water, next to the pool area. It is a tranquil spot. I have to admit, the service was less than stellar and the food, typical of a place that lives off it's name and the thinking, since you're there only a short time, there's no need to impress, apparently, which is really too bad because there's a LOT of potential for the place. With the proper staff, it could be so much better than it is., But that's the restaurant, not the Hotel.
I have NO complaints about the hotel whatsoever. The have a few computers set up; one in the main Lobby and the other in the back corner of the Coffee Shop, which I don't think many people were even aware of. While we were there, that computer was down, so we had to wait our turn for the one in the Lobby, but there's a 20 minute usage time, so you don't have to wait long, but if you need it, as we did to print our flight passes for our return trip home, you may just want to sit there until the person is done, so you can jump in, because being the only 'public use' pc, it's quite busy.
The Staff behind the desk of the hotel were not only Friendly, the were most helpful also. When we told them why we were there, they started giving us information about the different towns, etc in the area. Even telling us about the towns they lived in, which was helpful to us being from out of state and looking for our 'Retirement Home". They helped us in any way they could.
I would most definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone planning to visit the area.
The one 'downside' if that's what you'd call it, is that it's not 'right on the beach, but then, there's not a need for that since it's a very short walk to the public beach and local restaurants & shops. You don't even need a car if you're not planning on traveling around the area and just hanging at the beach because there is a local bus that seemed to run quite often and went up and down through the various coastal towns.

Room Tip: It seems every room would have some sort of view, but they have rooms with balconies that overlook t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WebstaMom58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you! We're so pleased you took time to write about your experience visiting us.

Potential guests who read reviews will get a good understanding of what to expect from a visitor's point of view, and that is so important. We're pleased you enjoyed the amenities of the resort and our easy access to beautiful Clearwater Beach. Please know that we keep our executive team in the loop when issues such as the service situation came up - our entire team is committed to making everyone's stay a good memory, so we appreciate your feedback.

Please stay in touch with us on Facebook and we'll try and entice you back with more exciting things to do in and around Clearwater.

Sincerely,

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Shephard's Beach Resort
Shephard's Beach Resort
#16 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Address: 521 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#17 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#31 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Gulf of Mexico-Sunsets & Dolphin sightings Complimentary! Discover all that Clearwater Beach has to offer at the convenient, comfortable smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. In the heart of everything, from shopping and dining, to entertainment, you are within walking distance of the white sands of Clearwater Beach, and Pier 60 where you can enjoy nightly sunset celebrations.. Located 30 minutes away from Tampa International Airport (TPA), the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is your best choice in Clearwater Beach. Whether you re coming to Clearwater Beach for fun or business the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is your personal retreat. You ll have room to relax, work or play most of the day in our spacious rooms, Kids Suites or One Bedroom Suites. Amenities such as flat screen LCD HD televisions, granite countertops, private balconies, free high-speed internet, plush towels, and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our heated Gulf-front pool, relax with your favorite beverage at Jimmy s Iguana Bar or our Rum Rumer s Tiki Bar. You can enjoy a dining adventure at Jimmy s Fish House providing nightly entertainment. The best of Clearwater Beach is waiting for you at the Award Winning Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. The only thing you won t find is a reason to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Clearwater Beach
Holiday Inn Clearwater
Clearwater Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing