We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First floor poolside was a must!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Ranked #26 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First floor poolside was a must!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed with a friend and his nine year old son who was visiting from out of town. All and all it provided a great view and location. Daily sunsets from the pool deck and the tiki bar left a great memory and offset the average lobby and service. The idea of being waterside for a front row view of all the water traffic on Clearwater pass was amazing. Also, having a first floor, pool side room helped with our children wanting to play in the pool constantly. I would certainly return and continue to suggest it to friends visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience here at the resort. We're pleased you and your friends were able to enjoy the facilities of our resort, and especially those suitable for the younger set.

We see a lot of in-state visitors come over to the beach several times a year, so we do hope you'll be back again for more fun. Perhaps you could visit during one of Clearwater's upcoming events such as SuperBoat competition or Clearwater Jazz Holiday. Always new things going on!

We're glad you enjoyed the first floor room - and the wonderful views! We do hope you'll stay in touch with us - perhaps on Facebook - and look to returning for more adventures in Clearwater.

Sincerely,

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    514
    202
    79
    80
See reviews for
513
475
33
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Arrived directly from the airport at 3pm and were told check in wasn't until 4, and to come back in 45 minutes to an hour and our room would be available. Came back at 4, and were told the previous guests had a late checkout and our room would not be ready until 5:30. Waited in the lobby for an hour and a half with an elderly family member - would have been nice to have been told that from the beginning so we could have made other arrangements. Staff at front desk told us the family member dropping us off would need to have a parking pass - took advantage of us being tourists and added another $12/day onto our bill. (Fortunately when we were checking out, the gentleman at the front desk was kind enough to refund it, as they were not staying overnight. However, this was the next day after another rep at the desk told us they did not have authorization to refund anything, which was apparently not the case. Another lie from the staff!) Stayed in a suite, which actually looked recently renovated, and was very clean and comfortable, but the guests directly above us were very rowdy and loud until early morning. Great location and coffee shop and gift shop on premises, but the coffee shop is only open 7am-3pm. It would have been nice to have had a latte in the evening as well. The barista in the coffee shop was very personable and the coffee and donuts were delicious.

Room Tip: When making a reservation, specifically say you want an ocean view - otherwise, you'll be lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. We're pleased you did choose to stay with us and that you left with some good vacation memories.

As for the problem at check-in and parking, we're sorry you were inconvenienced, and please know that comments such as yours are brought up with appropriate department heads so we can improve our customer service, which is a main goal of ours.

We do hope you'll stay in touch with us - perhaps on Facebook - and look to returning for more adventures in Clearwater.

Sincerely,

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Our family enjoyed our stay. Our room was simple but clean. Sadly we did not have a view of the Gulf of Mexico, but those views appeared gorgeous. The staff was friendly and accomodating, both the desk and housekeeping. The pool area is nice for families during the day. It is a brief walk to the beach, but it is safe and pleasant. It might be difficult for the very young, the very old, or the very lazy. We had the best meal of our stay in Clearwater at the hotel restaurant prior to checking out, and wish we had eaten there sooner.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey1968_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thanks for taking time to review your recent stay. We're so glad your family had a great time and found our location a real benefit to getting around to the area.

We appreciate your comments on Jimmy's and the resort in general. Our staff works hard to make sure every customer has a wonderful experience. In fact, we love for our guests to come back again, and now that you've found us, we hope you will do that. In the meantime, if you join our
Facebook page, we'll give you lots more reasons to plan that next getaway!
Sincerely,

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This run down property is disappointing for everything but the location. Grubby, Motel 6-quality amenities. The pool wasn't even open for the first day of our stay. The lobby is tiny and dingy. The elevator was broken as well, taking us to the 4th floor when we chose 3, then not responding to any of the buttons after that. We took the stairs from then on.

That being said, the location is good and it has a nice big pool deck with lots of chairs. The ocean (not the beach) is literally a few feet away from the failing. Lots of parking too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Erin J:

Thank you for taking time to share your most recent experience with our resort. We are happy to hear that you found our location convenient. We do get a lot of compliments about our location and our pool deck area.

We are disappointed to hear our lobby and decor was not quite what you expected. We are always welcome our guests suggestions and comments as a tool for improvement. We do apologize for the inconvenience of the pool not being opened on Monday. We worked tirelessly with two separate pool companies to get it opened as quickly as possible. The fix took longer than anyone antciipated. We hope that you were able to enjoy the pool area on Tuesday.

Again thank you for sharing your comments with us. We greatly appreciate the feedback.

Sincerely,


Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We loved this hotel. It was our first time there and the service and staff were friendly and courteous. The room was clean and they kept it clean and stocked for our whole 4 day trip. The lobby and other parts of the hotel itself were also well kept. The beach was only a 5 minute walk from the hotel and we were also able to walk to Pier 60 and other restaurants and shops. Jimmy's Fish House is the restaurant attached to the Hotel and had great food and friendly staff! We sat out every morning to a beautiful view before starting our day. We will definitely return again! Great place for family vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgamo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our location and resort amenities to your liking.

We do have a lot - and there are lots more reasons to come back - so we hope you'll stay in touch and come visit us soon. "Like" us on Facebook and stay tuned that way!

Sincerely,

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I hope that in telling our experience here we will save others from the same thing. We were traveling with family and after booking the hotel immediately called this hotel to specify the necessity to have adjoining rooms. The person on the phone was very accommodating, informing us there would be "no problem." Upon arrival, no adjoining room. We then went through numerous customer service people at the desk who, one by one gave us the "Sure! No problem!!" phrase to only discover that was their key phrase....one shift did not talk to the others, nor was there any sense of responsibility in following through with promises. My advice if you end up staying here? Demand instant results...get names, and see a manager (if that person is on.) Unfortunately for us, there never seemed to be one on. We got a business card for the manager but "he's not here today" was the answer EVERY day. So fast forward to day 3.....95 degree weather in Clearwater Florida in July. Down to the pool with the kids around 1:00 pm to find "Pool Closed" signs everywhere. We asked numerous times when the pool would open to which all 4 adults were told by different employees "5 minutes." Four hours later we were beyond hot and went to the desk AGAIN. This time the answer was "not opening" today "at all" and "not sure" when it would open again. WHAT?!?!?! We were told we could walk or pay for a shuttle to a "sister pool" and swim there. We were so disgusted by the lack of customer service skills and spending the entire day poolside...without a pool. There were numerous other people there, all waiting anxiously with NO idea that the pool was not going to open for the remainder of the day. Please, save yourself the stress and find ANY OTHER hotel on Clearwater Beach. You'll thank me, trust me.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter they won't acknowledge your request anyway!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Michelle M:

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent experience with our resort. I am terribly sorry for any inconvenience and misinformation you received during your booking process and while staying with us. Customer satisfaction is our #1 Goal and it is evident we fell short in this case.
Having the pool go down on such a hot sunny day was not something that we could predict but, and certainly not something we wanted for our guests. Our deepest apologizes for this experience. We worked tirelessly yesterday with two seperate pool companies to open the pool with no avail. While it might not mean much now, we are happy to report the pool as reopened and is operating.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I will be sharing your comments with our entire staff. Should you wish to discuss your stay and experience in greater detail, you can reach me directly at cbottger@ClearwaterBeachHI.com

Sincerely,



Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florissant, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach is located right on the Gulf with excellent views and location to where the action is. It is a short walk to the beach, restaurants and night spots. Rooms could be a little more spacious. The poolside cabana was great.

Room Tip: Ask about room size, views, and special room rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjbcqeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your comments! We're so pleased you and your family enjoyed our resort overall and left with good memories.

We do have a lot to offer, plus we're close to all the other attractions, shops and dining outlets in Clearwater. Hope you'll stay in touch with us for deals and reasons to come back.

Sincerely,

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Shephard's Beach Resort
Shephard's Beach Resort
#16 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Address: 521 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#17 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#31 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Gulf of Mexico-Sunsets & Dolphin sightings Complimentary! Discover all that Clearwater Beach has to offer at the convenient, comfortable smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. In the heart of everything, from shopping and dining, to entertainment, you are within walking distance of the white sands of Clearwater Beach, and Pier 60 where you can enjoy nightly sunset celebrations.. Located 30 minutes away from Tampa International Airport (TPA), the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is your best choice in Clearwater Beach. Whether you re coming to Clearwater Beach for fun or business the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is your personal retreat. You ll have room to relax, work or play most of the day in our spacious rooms, Kids Suites or One Bedroom Suites. Amenities such as flat screen LCD HD televisions, granite countertops, private balconies, free high-speed internet, plush towels, and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our heated Gulf-front pool, relax with your favorite beverage at Jimmy s Iguana Bar or our Rum Rumer s Tiki Bar. You can enjoy a dining adventure at Jimmy s Fish House providing nightly entertainment. The best of Clearwater Beach is waiting for you at the Award Winning Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. The only thing you won t find is a reason to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Clearwater Beach
Holiday Inn Clearwater
Clearwater Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing