We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a cave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater
Ranked #34 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This hotel is a cave”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

I must start by saying that the staff is wonderful. Everyone is friendly, just as you'd expect a Marriott property to be. The breakfast is good, just like you'd expect a Residence Inn property to be. But sadly, the rooms are dark, dank, and the walls are thin. My three nights here felt like the "cheap" apartments I used to live in back in the day. We wanted so much to open the curtains and look at the great Florida weather, but because of the courtyard style of construction, if we did so there would be no privacy. We were woken up at 5:30 listening to the people above us walk around and drag their suitcase downstairs to check out.

As a point of note, we did not book our room here. We were "walked" here because our original hotel choice was overbooked. We travel a lot, and stay in a lot of Marriott properties, but were truly disappointed here. This property might be good for those travelers who don't spend time in the room, but if you enjoy having a bright and airy room, this is not the hotel for you.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Alan,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater! First, let me apologize for the negative impression and feeling you received of our hotel. We pride ourselves on ensuring every guest experiences a “perfect stay” and I am truly disappointed that this was not the experience you had. Our staff would have been happy to locate a more private room location either on the second floor or at the back of the property so you would have been able to open the curtains on the larger picture window or the sliding glass doors we have in the suites. We would never want you or any guest to be dissatisfied with our hotel and I assure you we would have made every effort to rectify this situation.
I am very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our wonderful breakfast and will be sure to share your great feedback with my staff about their service. I hope that you will consider returning in the future so that we can have a second chance at showing you what a great location we have.

Sincerely,
Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    57
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
93
27
6
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
335 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Here for the week,check in was a breeze,clerk Tim was great,very professional and accommodating. The 2bedroom we have is comfortable and large enough that we aren't in each others hair. Bedding is great,housekeeping excellent. The breakfast is bland though, minimal variety and no healthy choices like yogurt etc,they offer an evening reception like other RI's but the one here so far is shameful,tonights was canned chef boyardi ravioli,salad was decent though. Had a minor issue with AC,which upon notifying front desk was resolved. As all in all,I'd say this is a nice place,kids love pool,they have a welcoming outdoor pool area with fire pit and shower,unfortunately they seemed to have done away with their hot tub and filled its shell with stones,which doesn't look too bad but ...they also have pretty grounds for a small RI'nice courts etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauinokaoi1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your vacation to share your experience at the Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater! I am pleased to hear that you are enjoying our spacious rooms and housekeeping services and I can’t wait to share your kind words with Tim!
I do apologize about your dissatisfaction with our breakfast and social services. We do our best to ensure we have a wide variety of healthy choices for our guests, including fat free yogurts, parfaits, boiled eggs and fruit. I assure you I will look into why these items may have been missing from the buffet at any time this week. Additionally, our evening social varies and does have some light offerings on certain nights and larger offerings on other nights. The nightly options do occasionally include ravioli and salad, however, we also offer items such as BBQ pork or ribs, hamburgers and hot dogs, our Southwestern Chicken Salad Bar, Antipasto, and a variety of other dishes. I hope you are able to enjoy some of these other options throughout your stay.
I am glad you and your family are enjoying all of our wonderful outdoor amenities. It’s nice to have so many activity options in one place and we hope you are also able to enjoy the local area while you’re here. If I can be of any further service during your stay, please feel free to contact me directly.
Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This hotel was clean and spacious and had a friendly staff. We were there for a wedding, and it was great to be able to spend time at breakfast meeting new family members. It was in very good condition.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverlybg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. I am happy to hear to you were pleased with your stay. We hope to see you again!

Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I recently spend 4 nights at The Residence Inn. We stayed in a 2 bedroom second floor room. The kitchen was outfitted perfectly. The staff was outstanding and accommodating. The only thing negative was not the fault of the hotel. I am not sure of its proximity to a police station or hospital but every night the sirens were wailing!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn St.Petersburg Clearwater! I am pleased to here that you enjoyed our spacious suites. I am truly sorry to hear about the noise you encountered. If you do return in the future and experience the inconvenience of noise, we do offer earplugs, headphones and alarm clocks that provide sleep sounds to help you get a peaceful night sleep. Our goal is for every guest to have a perfect stay and we hope to see you again!

Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmington, nc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The Residence Inn was very well furnished and designed. It had a nice kitchen, living room, 2 double beds, and a well appointed bathroom. The pool was nice and they had an evening fire pit. There is also a sports/basketball/volleyball court beside the pool. Each morning there is a free buffet breakfast, and Monday through Thursday night they have simple food fare, such as tacos or soup along with wine, beer, and tea. My wife and I were there six nights and found everything exceptional, including the staff of Jeff, Tim, and Elizabeth, who were most helpful and friendly. It's close to everything around Clearwater/St. Pete, as well as a short ride across the bay to Tampa. Lot's to do and see there.

Room Tip: We were in room 911 and found it to be very quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kagnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn St.Petersburg Clearwater! It is great to hear that you were happy with our spacious suites, location and all the amenities we have to offer. I am also excited to pass on your compliments to our outstanding Front Desk team and we all look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Wonderful visit . Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. Lovely place. Bedroom #1 French doors king room N-I-C-E!!!! Bedroom #2 Loft equally nice! Full kitchen. I would like to have that kitchen at home. Marble counter top. Full refrigerator and dishwasher. 2 full baths. Breakfast was great. Stayed on weekend so breakfast only but Monday-Thrusday they serve a dinner. Staff were eager to please every request.

Room Tip: Dog Friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresah572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel! I am so happy to hear what an enjoyable stay you had and that you were pleased with our updated, spacious suites. We hope to see you again in the future!

Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
436 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

At the last minute, we needed a reservation & knowing the good quality of Residence Inns, did not hesitate to book here. We were not disappointed. The room we had was beautiful, had a fireplace, very comfortable bed & full kitchen. Very roomy & had everything we needed although there were a few knats I kept swatting at. The check-in staff was very friendly & even though our room wasn't ready when we arrived, we left for about 30 minutes, returned & we were good to check-in. The staff was very pleasant throughout out stay & recommended a restaurant to us. The location was a bit out of the way from where I needed to be & since I am not from the area, when I was making my reservation & asked about how close they were to a certain location, that would have been the perfect time for them to tell me they had another location almost right on top of where I needed to be. As it was, this particular location was about a 20 minute drive away. There was major construction going on with I-9 north & south that made travel to/from very challenging.

Room Tip: Room 1022 was very nice & in a quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDDFJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our spacious suites, as well as our many amenities. We hope to see you again in the future!
Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton St. Petersburg Clearwater
1.6 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater

Property: Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater
Address: 5050 Ulmerton Rd, Clearwater, FL 33760-4032
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#18 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A TripAdvisor Award of Excellence winner, the all-suite Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Clearwater hotel provides the comforts of home along with unexpected services including free grocery shopping and free basic high-speed internet access. Start the day with a free hearty breakfast buffet in the Gatehouse and enjoy our complimentary evening Social Hour provided on a variety of weeknights. Enjoy our beautifully redesigned hotel suites with 31 HD channels, cozy fireplaces, full kitchens featuring stainless steel appliances, living areas big enough for entertaining and sleeping areas with plush new beds. Located just 1 mile from St. Petersburg Clearwater International Airport, 11 miles to Tampa International Aiport, a ten minute drive from white sandy beaches, Tropicana Field and Bright House Field and within walking distance of Carillon Park –we are conveniently located for business or pleasure. Relax and unwind at this hotel with our fitness center, Sport Court® and pool for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Residence Inn Clearwater
Clearwater Residence Inn
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing