We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, if a little dated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Ranked #35 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good value, if a little dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2007

We stayed for 2 nights on a break from Orlando.

This is one of the dying breed of family run motels. This means the service you receive is personal and swift; it also means less money available for refurbishment.

We had a room with a kitchen on the ground floor, overlooking the marina. Outside the door were a table and various loungers and chairs. It really was a relaxing view.

As has been mentioned, the rooms are a little dated but by no means shabby, and they were exceptionally clean. I also noticed the guy who takes care of maintenance was always busy - daily pool clean, paths, watering, and even daily cleaning of the pool/patio furniture.

The location, whilst set back from the beach (you have to cross the road) is good - we saw several dolphins in the bay. A little noise periodically from the boats, but less than expected from the road.

Very friendly staff - this would be a good place for a family. Nothing seemed too much trouble, no place to eat but morning coffee and juice was fine.

The pool is not large, but crystal clear and warm in September. The hot tub was a good size - note the control you need to use on the wall to get the bubbles going!

Over the bay, a 5 minute walk, was Crabby Bills and we had a good meal there at reasonable cost. We also tried Frenchies Rockaway grill a bit further away but did not enjoy it this time; it seems to have slipped a bit.

You are pretty much over the road from Pier 60; again a 5 minute walk.

This property was pretty much as I expected, seeing the reviews. It is not 5 star, or 4 star but it's comfortable, friendly, clean, in a great location, decent value for money and has some good views. It's a no-frills yet honest type of place which is difficult to really describe. We'd certainly stay there again if that helps.

  • Liked — Value for money and relaxing
  • Disliked — Rooms slightly worn around the edges but not distracting
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Chinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    75
    18
    15
    7
See reviews for
156
125
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2007

We have used Trip Advisor many times and have gotten numerous good recommendations. However this time we felt that we were totally misled. I can't understand why this motel was rated number one in Clearwater Beach. I would agree that the location on the bay was nice and that the woman who staffed the office was pleasant. However, the motel itself was very old and dated. Although the room was clean, it was decorated completely without any taste. Furniture and wallpaper were ugly. Baseboards were carpeted, and the bathrooms were small and obsolete. There was no sound insulation, and conversations outside the room sounded like they were taking place right in the middle of the bed, which was encased in plastic. Towels felt like sandpaper. We discovered a brand new hotel, the Sandpearl Resort, which was located directly on the beach about a ten minute walk north. We paid $110 for this small, depressing room. An elegant room at the Sandpearl with tasteful furnishings and a bathroom with a marble floor and granite countertops would have been $169 for the same time period. Yes, it was more expensive, but it was a world apart. It was like the difference between a trailer park and the Ritz Carlton. Next time we will stay there.

  • Liked — Location on the bay and proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — It was a dive!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank LeePalmBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2007

We stayed in this resort in August in one bedroom suite. The rooms were very well furnished, very comfortable and very, very clean. The maid service was absolutely fantastic. The staff was helpful on every occasion. We loved the pool and the view. The whole resort has a family feeling to it and the location is excellent with close proximity to all restaurants and the beach. The only comments we had was that the bathroom was quite dated and the air conditioning smelled a little. Also the kitchen was very small. Yet overall this resort features excellent value for the money. We would come again.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjmtCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2007

After a very long and stressful journey, we finally arrived at Sea Captains resort in the middle of the night - let ouselves into our very comfortable room (18) and started what turned out to be a great vacation.
The room was lovely, perfect for 2, clean , comfortable and spacious.
Throughout our stay the staff were great, very helpful and patient with all the questions we had about the area.
The view out over the waterway was fantastic, the pool always clean and the other guests were a pleasure to talk too.

A fair amount of construction in Clearwater Beach meant access to the beach was difficult and the view of the beach was obstructed but there was no noise disturbance. A shame to see so much changing in Clearwater Beach.

We hired a car for the entire stay of our journey and got to see some great places. St Pete Beach was breathtaking, Tarpon Springs made a great day out with lovely greek food, Tampa was a lovely city - especially the International Shopping Mall, Downtown Dunnedin was lovevly for a cosmopolitan night out, Busch Gardens proved to be a great day out (better than Disney World) and the Golf courses were beautiful and very reasonably priced.

All in all, I cant wait to return.........................we are even considering a move out there!!

Helpful?
1 Thank dreamgirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2007

We stayed at the seacaptain for two nights at the end our two week vacation. Our first impressions on arrrviing were not quite what we hoped for after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. The room seemed to be in need of abit of udating and decoration. But the level of service and the general cleanliness were good. Lovely pool and surounding area overlooking the bay. Ideal location to pier 60 and beach. Its not in the league of the big hotels but does represent value for money and would be happy to stay again if I was in Clearwater.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms abit dated
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Englandschatterbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2007

I have stayed in Clearwater many times and always stayed at the Hilton. The last time we went the Hilton's room were over $300 per night and did not wany to pay that, I knew the Sea Captain was very close to the Hilton and read it's many great reviews so we decided to try it. We had a marina view, that is the best view to have!! The rooms were spacious, clean, GREAT LOCATION and the staff was very friendly. We will only stay here in the future, you can not find any faults.

  • Liked — Location and View
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLHUFFMAN14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2007

Very homey feel to the Sea Captain Resort. All the guests were having a potluck dinner on the night we checked in! Talked to a family that had stayed there every year for 17 years, and they told us about the Post Corner Restaurant pizza (excellent).

The kitchen in our suite (room 5) had everything needed for our 5 day stay, including toaster and bottle opener. Clothesline out back was great for drying suits in between pool and beach sessions. Great location to watch ships (Captain Memo's Pirate Cruise, Little Toot) come in and out of the Marina. My two young daughters enjoyed the pool (90 degrees, nice), and I liked that they had floaties and noodles for us to use.

Good access to Clearwater Beach and Pier 60, an easy, five-minute walk to both. Publix Grocery store a quick three minute drive away, same road as the aquarium.

Went on Captain Memo's Pirate Cruise at 10 am, a lot less crowded than the night cruise. The kids had a great time on the boat, and so did the adults.

  • Disliked — Loud talking guests outside the rooms at night.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sockdrawer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.2 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#49 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
0.3 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Captain Resort on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Property: Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Address: 40 Devon Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#14 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Captain Resort on the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Resort Partner of Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Winter the Dolphin! Small resort located on the bay overlooking the harbor and Clearwater Marina, the Sea Captain Resort is only 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico public beaches, Pier 60, and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Resort features boat slips, fishing dock, grills, heated pool, hot tub, bicycles, shuffleboard, and free wi-fi. One-bedroom suites, efficiencies, and motel rooms available, with complimentary continental breakfast on the weekends; coffee and fresh Florida orange juice daily. One of Winter the Dolphin's favorite places to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Captain Resort on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel Clearwater
Sea Captain Clearwater
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing