We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So cozy! We felt at home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Ranked #36 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Sullivan, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So cozy! We felt at home.”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We really enjoyed our stay! Very pleasurable. The employees were helpful and friendly! Lots to do nearby. Our 2 teenage girls only had to cross the street to the beautiful whte sand beach and Pier 60. Our room was superior and very clean. Would definetly stay there again.

Room Tip: I had read the reviews and just knew this was the place for our family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    75
    18
    16
    7
See reviews for
157
126
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We just confirmed reservations for our mid-March vacation and are looking forward to another stay at the Sea Captain. We love this place because it is small and cozy! It's so clean and the staff is very friendly. The pool area is great and there are lots of lounge chairs available. We love watching the boats on the bay and enjoy the short walk to the beach. It's in a great location with lots of wonderful restaurants and shopping close by. Best of all is that it's a great value!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dkwIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2011

When i arrived at the resort, i was unsure at first of my decision. Traveling alone with my 2 daughters, i was not sure if i had picked the best place. It was sort of old and " motel" like. WOW, was i wrong. The place was perfect. The staff was amazing.....the room was so clean, immaculate. It was a friendly, very safe environment in between the beach and all the restaurants. I would highly reccomend this diamond in the rough, and i cant wait to return.

Marni

Room Tip: End room with a view...room 29?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonlady30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaptainResort, Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
We're so glad that you found the Sea Captain Resort to be better than you expected! Although we are and older 'mom-n-pop' beach motel, the entire staff takes great pride in our cleanliness and customer service. Our goal is for each and every guest to feel at home and comfortable, and as part of our Sea Captain family. Thanks so much for your wonderful comments ... we appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The staff was awesome, the rooms were plenty big enough for our family of 5.. Super comfortable bed, heated pool and hot tub were great. Centrally located for all the beachside activities. loved watching the pirate ship come right by us while we were in the pool.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoreyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampden, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband and I originally stayed at the Sea Captain's Resort last year as we wanted a hotel that was in the "center" of it all on Clearwater Beach but also wanted to have a boat slip as we thought we may rent a boat for a few days. It turned out that it was the best decison we could have made. We LOVE it there. We have stayed 4 times in less than a year. We live in Maine so we travel to Florida to escape the cold and the responsibilities of life, for a few short days.

The rooms are immaculate, the staff is incredibly friendly, the pool is spotless and the bars and restaturants are within walking distance.

During our last stay, I had forgotten my toothbrush - When I stopped at the front desk late that night and asked Darlene if they had a spare, she mentioned that they didn't carry those as a rule, yet she had just returned from the dentist and had a spare at her home. She actually went home and brought me back a toothbrush (in the package) at 11:00 at night. Who does that? They do!

Our last visit to the Sea Captain was the weekend of the 17th of November. We had a couple of friends going with us so they decided to stay at the same place that we were. When they called to make reservations, Darlene asked if they would like for her to arrange a taxi to pick them up at the Airport? How accomodating!

We fell in love with the Sea Captain Resort and highly recommend it. We will stay there every chance that we can and know that you will fall in love with with it, as we did.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights this past weekend. I found the Sea Captain online and was pleasantly suprised! A lot of times places don`t look quite the same in person. I cannot say enough about the cleanliness of the room and the well kept grounds. Unfortunatly my husband started feeling sick on the way there. We decided to make the best of it since we already had reservations. We were disappointed we didnt get to see and do all we had planned, but still had a good time. The view from our window was amazing!We had room 23 and we could sit on the bed and watch the boats go by. We did get to walk on the beach and sit by the water right in front of our room.It was a very relaxing weekend. The construction next door was not a problem at all. We will be back as soon as we can, are already checking the dates for January. It seems like a family friendly atmosphere for sure. Our grown kids want to come back with us!

Room Tip: We loved the view of the water on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy34496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

2011 was our 10th (at least) year staying at the Sea Captain. Love the friendliness/homy feeling you get when you arrive and stay. Would the Hilton, Sandpearl or new hotel houskeeping staff greet/hug you on a return visit? I think not. Can't wait for 2012.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Just depends on what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davcrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.0 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#13 of 98 in Clearwater
1,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#47 of 98 in Clearwater
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
0.3 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Captain Resort on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Property: Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Address: 40 Devon Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2436
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#14 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Captain Resort on the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Resort Partner of Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Winter the Dolphin! Small resort located on the bay overlooking the harbor and Clearwater Marina, the Sea Captain Resort is only 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico public beaches, Pier 60, and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Resort features boat slips, fishing dock, grills, heated pool, hot tub, bicycles, shuffleboard, and free wi-fi. One-bedroom suites, efficiencies, and motel rooms available, with complimentary continental breakfast on the weekends; coffee and fresh Florida orange juice daily. One of Winter the Dolphin's favorite places to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Captain Resort on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel Clearwater
Sea Captain Clearwater
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing