We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable, great location, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Ranked #35 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, great location, friendly staff.”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Much preferable to the vanilla, homogenized mega-hotels. Came here while visiting relatives and enjoyed the friendly staff, comfortable room, and location. There is complementary breakfast that is certainly adequate. Slept well and the parking was just steps from the room. We didn't avail ourselves of the pool and jacuzzi, but enjoye walking around the neighborhood along the water. Web site is www.seacaptainresort.com, 800-444-7488. Understand there are 28 guest rooms, and most have fully-equipped kitchens. Had difficulty in getting public radio stations on the room radio. Fortunately all rooms are non-smoking. The upper rooms seem a little more quiet in terms of foot traffic. Only wish they had a fitness center.
We'd certainly consider coming back here again.
Please advise if you find this review helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PublicHealthRxDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    75
    18
    16
    7
See reviews for
156
125
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We were a party of two families of 4 staying in august 2012 for three nights. it really is a fantastic place to stay. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We felt we were very well looked after and was given fantastic service. We had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We had suites 19 and 20 and the views were amazing. It was very peaceful and relaxing, our only regret is that we didn't stay for longer. Sea captain is an ideal location, Near the beach, bars and restaurants. If you are looking for somewhere small, friendly and extremely clean then this is the place for you. We couldn't say enough to do this little gem justice. We couldn't fault a thing and cant wait to visit again.

Room Tip: The views from suite 19 and 20 are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We have just returned from our 8th January visit to the Sea Captain in Clearwater Beach, FL. It is an older property, but the owner has been very conscientious about keeping things in good working order, painted, clean, and hospitable. We look forward to our visit every year, and this was no exception. It is well located, well managed, friendly, and appropriately priced for the area and the amenities. You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: We prefer the harbor side so we can see the Gulf of Mexico and the Bay from our window. There are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Very clean & cozy in a super location, at the harbor. We wanted something more unique, not high rise, not run of the mill...and this fit the bill! If only it had not been raining, we would have sat outside by the water and watched the boats...maybe next time. With a low key atmosphere, perfect for relaxing. I only regret we only could stay one night, this time!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lgrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort wayne, IN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My husband and I went to Clearwater for a weekend getaway. My husband loves the boat traffic of the bay and I love the beach/ocean. We both love spotless, affordable, accommodations. I had done a lot of research on Trip Advisor and made sure Sea Captain was on my list to check out when we arrived on a Friday to Clearwater. We were not disappointed. The grounds are meticulously maintained. There is a lovely large pool and hot tub overlooking the harbor. There many picnic tables and seats along the water with fabulous views day and night. The beach is just across the street. Parking is right out your door. We stayed on the second floor in a King room. The kitchen was very well appointed with all the utensils needed (if you are going to cook). There are grills and open air spaced to enjoy your meals. The staff could not be easier to work with. There are a few bicycles on the grounds that the office lends you if you want to ride around the island. My husband and I used these several times. Rode them to breakfast at a few of the local restaurants a few times. Although it was not really necessary, as the office offers a very nice continental breakfast with muffins, fruit, juices and coffee on the weekends. A short walk and you are at Pier 60 and many wonderful restaurants and shops. No need to drive anywhere. Also found a great open air roof top bar (Jimmy's right next door at the new Pier House hotel) You can watch your favorite ball game on the large wall while enjoying the surrounding views of water, harbor, beach and drinking a great drink and good bar food. I would recommend the Sea Captain to anyone looking for a locally owned and operated establishment that is in the heart of Clearwater Beach. We will be back!

Room Tip: There really is not a bad room in the place. They all have views of the harbor. One of the lower roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMatthias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We had seen this place on Trip Advisor and had pre-programmed it into our satnav hoping we could get a room when we got there. I wanted to stay here rather than a large mainstream hotel as it just looked lovely. We were not dissapointed the check in lady said she had a harbour view room available. We took it and it was fabulous, we had windows that overlooked the harbour that could be opened, we had a huge very comfortable king size bed, which provided the best two nights sleep that we had in the whole of the 10 nights that we were in the USA. Complimentary juice and coffee were available in the morning from reception which made for a nice start to the day. The hotel is extremely clean and very tidy. I would thoroughly recommend staying here just because it was as it used to be before the large hotels arrived with there not so bothered attitude.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandan, North Dakota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This hotel was the perfect find. When we travel we like to stay at small locally owned hotels. Thanks to trip advisor we have found the best hidden gems. The Sea Captain is located in a harbor but is about a block from the beach. They have a great pool and many chairs along the grass by the sea wall to relax on. The staff is very accommodating and personable. You could tell they enjoy their job and desire to make your stay as memorable as they can. We will be back again for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njeromchek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.0 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#47 of 95 in Clearwater
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
0.3 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Captain Resort on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Property: Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Address: 40 Devon Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#14 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Captain Resort on the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Resort Partner of Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Winter the Dolphin! Small resort located on the bay overlooking the harbor and Clearwater Marina, the Sea Captain Resort is only 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico public beaches, Pier 60, and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Resort features boat slips, fishing dock, grills, heated pool, hot tub, bicycles, shuffleboard, and free wi-fi. One-bedroom suites, efficiencies, and motel rooms available, with complimentary continental breakfast on the weekends; coffee and fresh Florida orange juice daily. One of Winter the Dolphin's favorite places to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Captain Resort on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel Clearwater
Sea Captain Clearwater
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing