We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Ranked #36 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Nothing but positive things to say. Great place and great location. I found this place on tripadvisor and happy I did. We always deal with noise issues when in a hotel/motel, but not this time. This place was quiet and we slept well.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    75
    18
    16
    7
See reviews for
156
126
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed here for five nights and upon check-out reserved for seven nights next year. This resort was built in the 1950s and has been preserved well over the years. One can see that it is loved by its owner as well as the many returning vacationers who know a unique gem when they find one.

Our room (#24) was a second-floor efficiency with a large bay window overlooking the harbor. It had a king size bed and two comfortable sitting chairs, nightstands on both sides of the bed, a small kitchen-height table, a big dresser, a nice sized flat panel TV, and a lower coffee table. The efficiency kitchen had a compact four burner electric stove (which included an oven), a microwave and an under-counter refrigerator. It was well supplied with kitchen implements including cutlery, dishes and stainless eating service for at least four people. There was a toaster and coffee maker and a nice set of pots and pans. The wifi worked very well.

The well worn bath had a small vanity with drawers of storage. The lack of vanity counter space was not a problem as there was a very nice shelf running under a full-width mirror running across the bath wall above the toilet and vanity. The tub had a good grab bar and a non-slip surface. Access to the bath was via a small dressing room with a closet bar. On the closet bar were approximately 20 REAL HANGERS! In a nutshell, there was ample storage in all areas including a large four-drawer dresser unit in the main room.

These rooms have no private balconies. The main relaxation areas were around the sunny pool deck, the shady chairs placed along the harbor, and at the large communal patio table on the second level public balcony. While we were there the clientele was mature in age, but there is absolutely now reason why children would not fit well in the provided environments.

The location is perfect. You are on the harbor, near all the tour boats, and just a short walk from the oceanfront activities of Clearwater Beach. Park your car in the resort lot and walk just about anywhere in town. Leave the hassles behind.

Room Tip: Book well in advance for peak season. Note that peak season reservations of less than seven nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hankski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pana, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We spent 10 days in Florida in January and the last two nights we stayed at the Sea Captain. My husband stayed here over 10 years ago and loved it so much it was the first thing he said when planning our trip. Many of these reviews state that the rooms are 'tired and outdated' but honestly to me they looked like a room that many have come to after a long day at the beach which was perfect because that was our plan! Our view was amazing. The first night we were on the top floor and we moved to a suit for the second night because it wasn't available both nights but our family wanted to be together. The staff was AMAZING!!! It really is a family oriented place. They were so good to our babies! In fact one of the ladies went above and beyond to help us get our clothes dried before the 20 hour treck home so they wouldn't mold. We had accidently thrown them in the wash provided for guests and could not stop it until it was finished. She offered to dry them super fast in their dryer so we could go. We decided that our next trip down we are parking our butts at the Sea Captain for the 10 days and will work on our tan! We cannot wait! Our babies (3 and 4) loved watching boats come and go!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Much preferable to the vanilla, homogenized mega-hotels. Came here while visiting relatives and enjoyed the friendly staff, comfortable room, and location. There is complementary breakfast that is certainly adequate. Slept well and the parking was just steps from the room. We didn't avail ourselves of the pool and jacuzzi, but enjoye walking around the neighborhood along the water. Web site is www.seacaptainresort.com, 800-444-7488. Understand there are 28 guest rooms, and most have fully-equipped kitchens. Had difficulty in getting public radio stations on the room radio. Fortunately all rooms are non-smoking. The upper rooms seem a little more quiet in terms of foot traffic. Only wish they had a fitness center.
We'd certainly consider coming back here again.
Please advise if you find this review helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PublicHealthRxDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We were a party of two families of 4 staying in august 2012 for three nights. it really is a fantastic place to stay. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We felt we were very well looked after and was given fantastic service. We had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We had suites 19 and 20 and the views were amazing. It was very peaceful and relaxing, our only regret is that we didn't stay for longer. Sea captain is an ideal location, Near the beach, bars and restaurants. If you are looking for somewhere small, friendly and extremely clean then this is the place for you. We couldn't say enough to do this little gem justice. We couldn't fault a thing and cant wait to visit again.

Room Tip: The views from suite 19 and 20 are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We have just returned from our 8th January visit to the Sea Captain in Clearwater Beach, FL. It is an older property, but the owner has been very conscientious about keeping things in good working order, painted, clean, and hospitable. We look forward to our visit every year, and this was no exception. It is well located, well managed, friendly, and appropriately priced for the area and the amenities. You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: We prefer the harbor side so we can see the Gulf of Mexico and the Bay from our window. There are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Very clean & cozy in a super location, at the harbor. We wanted something more unique, not high rise, not run of the mill...and this fit the bill! If only it had not been raining, we would have sat outside by the water and watched the boats...maybe next time. With a low key atmosphere, perfect for relaxing. I only regret we only could stay one night, this time!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lgrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.2 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#49 of 96 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
0.3 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Captain Resort on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Property: Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Address: 40 Devon Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2436
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#14 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Captain Resort on the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Resort Partner of Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Winter the Dolphin! Small resort located on the bay overlooking the harbor and Clearwater Marina, the Sea Captain Resort is only 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico public beaches, Pier 60, and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Resort features boat slips, fishing dock, grills, heated pool, hot tub, bicycles, shuffleboard, and free wi-fi. One-bedroom suites, efficiencies, and motel rooms available, with complimentary continental breakfast on the weekends; coffee and fresh Florida orange juice daily. One of Winter the Dolphin's favorite places to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Captain Resort on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel Clearwater
Sea Captain Clearwater
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing