We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Ranked #35 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

As we were leaving yesterday, one thought popped into my mind. When I come back to Clearwater, I'm only coming here. What a cozy, relaxed place. More like staying with family. Not 5 star, but no where near a dump. If you go for spring training make sure you go see George. He'll be at the table on the second floor drinking whiskey and telling stories in his Scottish brogue. Seemed like everyone staying there comes back year after year. That's saying something. They have regular hotel rooms, suites, efficiencies. Room for all tastes. Very Clean, very nice staff. No nickel and dime BS(IE, one of the few places with free parking for guest) . I would love to give this place 10 stars, but it only goes to 5. The second floor has a nice view of the marina/harbor. I would suggest staying on the second floor for the view alone. If you can't get the second floor, they have tables and chairs for anyone's use. They seemed to be community greeting areas for the guest. It' s located within walking distance of many bars/restaurants. The only time we used the car was to go to the baseball stadium and Aquarium. In hindsight, we could have walked to the aquarium and it is a very scenic walk along the bay side. There is a "Jolly" trolly that goes around to different points if you don't want to walk and Sea Captain is on the loop, so it's like door to door. I can't say enough good stuff about this resort. I'm thinking of booking next years room now so we know we're in.

Room Tip: We had room 25. Efficiency. view of the harbor thru the windows. This was down the hallway away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    75
    18
    16
    7
See reviews for
156
126
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The Sea Captain Resort on the Bay is an outstanding, well-run hotel with a caring staff. First rate clean room and bathroom. We were there last year and doubled our time there this year. Property right on Clearwater Bay, many deck chaises - fun to watch the pelicans, cormorants, gulls, turtles, and fish. Centrally located, short walk to Gulf beaches and restaurants, easy to find and ample parking very close to room. truly quiet at night, considering Resort was fully occupied.
We'll be there again next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed here in Feb 2013 in room 7.

The location is excellent. Walking distance to anywhere you would want to go on Clearwater Beach. The property sits right on the bay and the marina, and there is seating along the water.

Rooms were very clean. Beds are comfortable. Staff is friendly and attentive. Our room was a 2 double bed suite that had a good layout, and was well equipped for cooking in the room. It was a good room, especially for the price.

We only experienced 2 negatives. 1) There is a slight musty smell in the bedroom, noticeable but not offensive, so I almost did not mention it. 2) Noise from the room above and from the pool area. I think the construction of the building funnels the noise from the pool and accentuates it. One night we retired earlier than usual and there were kids swimming in the pool later than the pool is open. The noise really bothered us. The same family was staying in the room above us and you can hear every move that is made. This awakened us at night and early morning. Get a room on the second floor.

Overall this is a good place to stay, especially for the price.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room to avoid the noise from above. Book a suite...it is worth the small diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NauticalEndeavorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Nothing but positive things to say. Great place and great location. I found this place on tripadvisor and happy I did. We always deal with noise issues when in a hotel/motel, but not this time. This place was quiet and we slept well.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed here for five nights and upon check-out reserved for seven nights next year. This resort was built in the 1950s and has been preserved well over the years. One can see that it is loved by its owner as well as the many returning vacationers who know a unique gem when they find one.

Our room (#24) was a second-floor efficiency with a large bay window overlooking the harbor. It had a king size bed and two comfortable sitting chairs, nightstands on both sides of the bed, a small kitchen-height table, a big dresser, a nice sized flat panel TV, and a lower coffee table. The efficiency kitchen had a compact four burner electric stove (which included an oven), a microwave and an under-counter refrigerator. It was well supplied with kitchen implements including cutlery, dishes and stainless eating service for at least four people. There was a toaster and coffee maker and a nice set of pots and pans. The wifi worked very well.

The well worn bath had a small vanity with drawers of storage. The lack of vanity counter space was not a problem as there was a very nice shelf running under a full-width mirror running across the bath wall above the toilet and vanity. The tub had a good grab bar and a non-slip surface. Access to the bath was via a small dressing room with a closet bar. On the closet bar were approximately 20 REAL HANGERS! In a nutshell, there was ample storage in all areas including a large four-drawer dresser unit in the main room.

These rooms have no private balconies. The main relaxation areas were around the sunny pool deck, the shady chairs placed along the harbor, and at the large communal patio table on the second level public balcony. While we were there the clientele was mature in age, but there is absolutely now reason why children would not fit well in the provided environments.

The location is perfect. You are on the harbor, near all the tour boats, and just a short walk from the oceanfront activities of Clearwater Beach. Park your car in the resort lot and walk just about anywhere in town. Leave the hassles behind.

Room Tip: Book well in advance for peak season. Note that peak season reservations of less than seven nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hankski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pana, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We spent 10 days in Florida in January and the last two nights we stayed at the Sea Captain. My husband stayed here over 10 years ago and loved it so much it was the first thing he said when planning our trip. Many of these reviews state that the rooms are 'tired and outdated' but honestly to me they looked like a room that many have come to after a long day at the beach which was perfect because that was our plan! Our view was amazing. The first night we were on the top floor and we moved to a suit for the second night because it wasn't available both nights but our family wanted to be together. The staff was AMAZING!!! It really is a family oriented place. They were so good to our babies! In fact one of the ladies went above and beyond to help us get our clothes dried before the 20 hour treck home so they wouldn't mold. We had accidently thrown them in the wash provided for guests and could not stop it until it was finished. She offered to dry them super fast in their dryer so we could go. We decided that our next trip down we are parking our butts at the Sea Captain for the 10 days and will work on our tan! We cannot wait! Our babies (3 and 4) loved watching boats come and go!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Much preferable to the vanilla, homogenized mega-hotels. Came here while visiting relatives and enjoyed the friendly staff, comfortable room, and location. There is complementary breakfast that is certainly adequate. Slept well and the parking was just steps from the room. We didn't avail ourselves of the pool and jacuzzi, but enjoye walking around the neighborhood along the water. Web site is www.seacaptainresort.com, 800-444-7488. Understand there are 28 guest rooms, and most have fully-equipped kitchens. Had difficulty in getting public radio stations on the room radio. Fortunately all rooms are non-smoking. The upper rooms seem a little more quiet in terms of foot traffic. Only wish they had a fitness center.
We'd certainly consider coming back here again.
Please advise if you find this review helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PublicHealthRxDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.2 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#49 of 96 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
0.3 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Captain Resort on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Property: Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Address: 40 Devon Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2436
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#14 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Captain Resort on the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Resort Partner of Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Winter the Dolphin! Small resort located on the bay overlooking the harbor and Clearwater Marina, the Sea Captain Resort is only 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico public beaches, Pier 60, and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Resort features boat slips, fishing dock, grills, heated pool, hot tub, bicycles, shuffleboard, and free wi-fi. One-bedroom suites, efficiencies, and motel rooms available, with complimentary continental breakfast on the weekends; coffee and fresh Florida orange juice daily. One of Winter the Dolphin's favorite places to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Captain Resort on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel Clearwater
Sea Captain Clearwater
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing