We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Echo Sails Motel(Clearwater)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Traveler Motel(Clearwater)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
292
77
18
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
77
18
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetclearwater beachold florida stylehigh riseboat slipscoffee and juicehot tubshort walkmom and popwithin walking distancelocation was perfectgulf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 411 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2013

First the pros of this place.... The hotel has free parking (Which is hard to find in Clearwater beach), second the rooms have everything you need, the staff is very nice, (minus the front desk people. ) The sunrise on the bay everyday was beautiful and the boats were great to watch. We would stay here again for the price. It was a nice little place and right acrossed from the park and pier.

Now onto the cons... I am a clean freak and with two little kids, this room was not clean enough for me at all. The bathroom was the biggest issue, with hair all over and a dirty shower curtain. The tile floors were dirty and filmy, but the rest of the room was fairly clean, besides a few things that didn't vacuum up besides the couch. We used the washer and dryer on premise and it was very clean and nice looking but it melted a lot of our babies stuff. The heat was on normal and melted everything. The pool is a little out of date and small, but refreshing.

All in all a nice little place for the price and very convenient location.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19 which was on the top floor and right in the center it was a nice location.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Location, location, location!! The best!! Near everything u want to be close to including restaurants like Crabby Bill's, Pier 60, right across the street from the beach (less than 5 min walk), the marina where you can take boat rides to see wild dolphins, and so much more. It was a family vacation for us (our kids are ages 2 & 5) and we chose the Sea Captain based on the other Trip Advisor reviews.

At first I was nervous because when we opened the door to our room there was a weird smell that turned me off immediately. My husband thought it was their cleaning products but to me there was no way. Thankfully the smell vanished after the first day!! The room was outdated but served its purpose. The frig was tiny so dont think you can shop for a week. The freezer in the frig was good for ice cubes but didnt keep out ice cream fully solid.

The place was clean to the eye but our feet were black at the end of the night from the carpet. EW! Other than that and the fact that you can hear EVERYTHING outside of your room - it was great!! The last night if our stay, there were young people hanging out outside our room and we might've well had asked them to come in, their voices were that crystal clear.

Positives definitely outweighed the negatives though!! Very friendly staff!! Pool was big and hot tub was very nice. View from the balcony and pool of the marina were gorgeous!! Beds and pillows were comfy. The pull out sofa was a bit rough for my liking but my 5yr old loved sleeping on it.

Overall, GREAT place for families!!! Location is perfect!! Staff warm and welcoming!! Lovely view!! Would definitely come back!! Final note - my 5 yr old did not want to leave!!! He said he wanted it to be his "real house!" : )

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBianco79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This little, darling place was perfect for our family's short stay in Clearwater! The location is just right, as it is away from the busy crowds, but still so very close to the beach! The rooms were very clean and the staff was so helpful and friendly!
It was nice watching the boats come in and out of the marina, and even a dolphin showed up one day too!! Our family enjoyed the pool and the shuffle board court. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 986AngelaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We loved everything about this adorable hotel!! Everyone from the front desk to the maid service to the grounds keeper were nothing short of gracious! Rooms are clean and beautifully decorated. Great location. Close to everything. Pool, hot tub even BBQ's. Will definitely return to this gem on the beach.

Room Tip: Go for the king suite top floor overlooking the bay and watch the sunrise!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulubelle416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I not really one for taking the time to leave a review, but felt after our stay here I had to brag a little. After finding this place on trip adviser, we had high expectations. The Sea Captain does not disappoint. First of all, it is and older hotel. But that's kinda one of the many qualities we liked about it. The staff here takes great pride in their hotel. The hospitality is spot on. They make you feel like family. The price is right. Everything here is clean and fresh painted. Spacious rooms with kitchenettes, comfy beds and pillows. Great pool right out side your door. The location is perfect too, right next to the Clearwater Marina and many great shops and restaurants. The beach is a block away. Everything you want is within walking distance.. They even have free parking for guests, which is great since we have not used our rental car since we parked it on arrival. Their are many newer modern hotels scattered all over the beach, be we are glad we found a hidden gem thanks to trusting the reviews on trip adviser.

Room Tip: Rooms 8-11 have a back door that opens to a kinda private patio area overlooking the marina. Great place to enjoy your complimentary continental breakfast.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews