We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Small Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Ranked #35 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Braidwood
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Small Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have been going to the Sea Captain for 40 years now. It is one of the small remaining small hotels in Clearwater. It is reasonably priced, clean and private. The rooms are very clean and most are efficiencies. It has beautiful views and is close to everything! I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nukeguy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    75
    18
    16
    7
See reviews for
156
125
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

It was the first trip to Clearwater. My friend and I loved the Sea Captain! Everyone on the staff was amazing! They go above and beyond to ensure your trip is amazing. Everything you need is very close to the resort. We enjoyed the pool area and watching the boats come and go on the bay. Can't wait to go on vacation again, and stay at the Sea Captain.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I MADE THIS RESERVATION SITE UNSEEN,,, It is fabulous. CLEAN. We stayed in number 9 it was beautiful waterfront and private. Comfortable King bed...American front desk very nice people, very helpful, Simple but very nice breakfast! great waterfront area within walking of all activities! Even caught a few fish! We will stay there again!

Room Tip: downstairs Water front! # 8, 9, 10!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I have stayed at the Sea Captain for many years, it's the best. Great folks working there, grounds kept up top notch, great location. Easy reservations. Walking distance to many restaurants. Easy and close by parking.

Room Tip: Water side is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This place was recommended to me when I had to attend a wedding nearby, it was great! Not fancy, or new, but clean and convenient and all you need (you don't go on vacation to sit in your room!). Right on the waterway, had a great pool, could walk to everything! Office personnel were great with recommendations and answering questions. When I return to Clearwater plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazylady-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Wow, I was so disappointed with this place. The worst thing was the cigarette smoke wafting in from the outside smokers every time we opened our door. Would not stay here again. Room was also very dark. Curtains opened to hallway. Location is the big plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaptainResort, General Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear guest , we are so sorry your experience at the Sea Captain was not what you expected. Our wish for our guests is that of ,peace , quiet and relaxation.(and allot of fun) If you do decide to stay with us again , please notify one of the staff, of any concerns that you might have so that we can fix the situation immediately. Thank you for your honest review, with it we will continue to strive for # 1, Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

With all the big names in the area, I stumbled upon this 'throw back in time' quaint retreat. This charming little inn was comfortable and relaxing. When you think resort you think big sprawling hi rise hotels one might need a golf cart to navigate around. Here you were just a few yards to the pool or sitting on the bay relaxing as the birds and boats floated by. Even a little fishing pier to catch one if you can. Or a quick walk to the car if you forgot something. And if you wanted the beach, a short walk across the street to beautiful sunsets and a white sand beach. Beautiful clean beach-walk and bike path that the city has really done a fabulous job. Back to the Sea Captain's clean, comfortable rooms. Our assigned room was just not right for my wife and I to stay the week as we thought we would need a little more room. No problem, the friendly staff switched our room immediately without a lot of fuss.

This was the second time I stayed here. The first was for business when I found this little gem and only stayed a couple of nights. I couldn't wait for an opportunity to come back with my wife. We enjoyed the week long stay and didn't want to leave. Now we're looking forward to our next visit back with our children and grand kids.

Room Tip: we liked the suites by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.2 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#47 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
0.3 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Captain Resort on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Property: Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Address: 40 Devon Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#14 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Captain Resort on the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Resort Partner of Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Winter the Dolphin! Small resort located on the bay overlooking the harbor and Clearwater Marina, the Sea Captain Resort is only 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico public beaches, Pier 60, and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Resort features boat slips, fishing dock, grills, heated pool, hot tub, bicycles, shuffleboard, and free wi-fi. One-bedroom suites, efficiencies, and motel rooms available, with complimentary continental breakfast on the weekends; coffee and fresh Florida orange juice daily. One of Winter the Dolphin's favorite places to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Captain Resort on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel Clearwater
Sea Captain Clearwater
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing