We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please don't change!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Ranked #34 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Please don't change!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just returned from our first trip to sea captains & LOVE this little slice of 'Old Florida' heaven! In a great location with friendly staff, friendly visitors and everything you need to enjoy the gorgeous Florida sunshine! Only sad thing is...it was just sold to a company that wishes to knock it down and build ANOTHER cookie cutter high rise property! So sad, as this property has been a mainstay in clearwater since the 50's!! I'd love to see the new owners come in and give it a nice facelift to bring it back to it's glory days! (Like Frenchy did with the Oasis Motel). Will definitely go back...before d-day! :-(

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TampaNugget29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaptainResort, Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for writing to us. You, our guests make "The Sea captain Resort Experience" what it is!!! We are so happy our new owners also value the charm of the Sea Captain.We, here at the Sea Captain are continuing to do business as usual.You are why we are here, Thank you again for your patronage year after year. See you soon. The Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    75
    18
    15
    7
See reviews for
155
125
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have been staying there annually, around May time for about 10 years. We have casually looked at other places but nothing compares to the Sea Captain.. There is just something about the place that makes you feel comfortable from the moment you arrive. Its big enough to have a bit of life (unlike a number of others in the vicinity) but small enough to feel personal and informal. (unlike the hotels) . All the staff are great and it is kept spotlessly clean. The location is as good as you'll find anywhere. Lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaptainResort, Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for writing to us. You, our guests make "The Sea captain Resort Experience" what it is!!! We are so happy our new owners also value the charm of the Sea Captain.We, here at the Sea Captain are continuing to do business as usual.You are why we are here, Thank you again for your patronage year after year. See you soon. The Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just got back from another great stay here, was informed at reception on last day the place is being bought by the pier 60 hotel. I have to say that I can understand why the gentleman that owns the Sea captain is selling up as I have business experience myself but I cannot hide my genuine sadness that it is actually going to happen, I have been travelling to the Sea Captain all the way from Scotland since the early 1990's and my parents even longer, lots of memories of great times etc.
The girl at reception also informed me that it would be kept the same for 6 months to a year which means I may be able to squeeze in another trip to this wonderful location this year, i sure hope it stays the same for a lot longer, I personally don't want anything changed at all and im sure im speaking for the majority of repeat customers here. I would be happy to pay a bit more if it is just left as it is. Ian.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaptainResort, Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for writing to us. You, our guests make "The Sea captain Resort Experience" what it is!!! We are so happy our new owners also value the charm of the Sea Captain.We, here at the Sea Captain are continuing to do business as usual.You are why we are here, Thank you again for your patronage year after year. See you soon. The Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Grove, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here instead of staying in Tampa while visiting for a concert. Yes, it's about a 30 minute drive over to Tampa, but it's soooo much nicer. Property is lovely, and located close to beach, food, and the pier. View from our room was so pretty. Room was clean, actually an efficiency unit, which is good if you're looking to save a bit of money on food. Nice outdoor pool, too. They served a limited breakfast in the lobby in the am, which was enough to grab and take upstairs to our room and eat while looking out at the water. Would like very much to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeonlongisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have been coming to the Sea Captain for over 20 years and have yet to find another hotel that matches all the Sea Captain has to offer. From the acre of bay front land across from the marina to the best staff of any hotel, this is my all time favorite place to stay. Across the road from the ocean and the Pier 56 once we get here we almost never get in the car again for the entire week! Rooms have great kitchenettes so one trip to the grocery store when we first arrive and we are good for days. Great pool with lots of chairs plus a hot tub. All kept in pristine condition.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st.thomas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Another few nights at the best location on the island. Close to the beach, food, rides, pier. It's always the same here, let's not change it. You don't find this anywhere else in Clearwater Beach. Thanx

Room Tip: Any room here is better than being somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koho5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flat Rock, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My family, along with extended family and friends, have been coming to the Sea Captain Resort since 1976! We've never considered staying anywhere else and we've never been disappointed!
We just returned from a fun week at the Sea Captain and we'll be making reservations for next year. It's hard to top Sea Captain's location, cleanliness, top-notch staff, fishing opportunities and family atmosphere!! Hope we all can continue to enjoy our vacations at the Sea Captain Resort for years to come!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.0 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#50 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
0.3 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Captain Resort on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Property: Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Address: 40 Devon Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#14 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Captain Resort on the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Resort Partner of Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Winter the Dolphin! Small resort located on the bay overlooking the harbor and Clearwater Marina, the Sea Captain Resort is only 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico public beaches, Pier 60, and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Resort features boat slips, fishing dock, grills, heated pool, hot tub, bicycles, shuffleboard, and free wi-fi. One-bedroom suites, efficiencies, and motel rooms available, with complimentary continental breakfast on the weekends; coffee and fresh Florida orange juice daily. One of Winter the Dolphin's favorite places to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Captain Resort on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel Clearwater
Sea Captain Clearwater
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing