We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I've been staying here for 20 plus years with my in-laws who have been staying for 45 years. Great view of the bay, real close walk to the ocean. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean. Just a wonderful place to stay!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank rlhtide24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaptainResort, Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for writing to us. You, our guests make "The Sea captain Resort Experience" what it is!!! We are so happy our new owners also value the charm of the Sea Captain.We, here at the Sea Captain are continuing to do business as usual.You are why we are here, Thank you again for your patronage year after year. See you soon. The Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

If you are on vacation to make memories, you stay here. If you're on vacation to take a cold elevator ride down 10 floors while struggling with your kids and all their beach toys, then see the ocean from a nosebleed 9th floor room with no balconey or windows that open to the lovely gulf breeze....then you stay next door and vow to find a place like the Sea Captain on the next trip. In fact, while we were there in June, an older man came into the lobby from that awful commercialized hotel that just went up next door. He said he looked down and saw the place and wished he was there instead.

These type of hotels are highly attractive so don't underestimate the power of the return visitor to keep the place solvent. No one rembers a trip to the faceless highrise hotels but they remember the Sea Captain.

I know because we have been coming here for years - best place in Clearwater !! The rooms are unique and the view fantastic. My kids can sleep and I can sit outside and enjoy the breeze and marina. I can do this without hiring a sitter to watch them as I make a hurculean effort to leave the building.

Please don't take this away

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Traci I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaptainResort, Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for writing to us. You, our guests make "The Sea captain Resort Experience" what it is!!! We are so happy our new owners also value the charm of the Sea Captain.We, here at the Sea Captain are continuing to do business as usual.You are why we are here, Thank you again for your patronage year after year. See you soon. The Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

As a surprise for our 50th wedding anniversary our children & spouses planned a surprise three day family reunion...Having never been to the Sea Captain we were so pleasantly surprised by this hidden gem in the shadows of a high rise hotel. The access from our room to the pool, boat dock, out side games.. just steps away, no loading everything up, waiting for an elevator to go down several floors only to realize you forgot something.. We all where able to walk to the beach (across the street) , restaurants, short walks away, and being able to sit in our chairs & watch the tourist going out to para.sail , the pirate ship & other water entrainments.
As for the staff.. truly the most friendly, helpful I've ever been around.. the manager.. Laura made you feel so welcome...& was always smiling & so knowledgeable about the hotels history......As for the rooms "spotless"... the whole place was the same.. (no spider webs in the eves of this place ) every nook & cranny was like it had just been freshly painted...now of course your not going to get marble shower stalls, etc, but every thing in the high rise hotel was available, plus a kitchenette, the place was loaded with history & charm.
Will hope to return, & enjoy it again.

Room Tip: I liked the 1st floor corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaptainResort, Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for writing to us. You, our guests make "The Sea captain Resort Experience" what it is!!! We are so happy our new owners also value the charm of the Sea Captain.We, here at the Sea Captain are continuing to do business as usual.You are why we are here, Thank you again for your patronage year after year. See you soon. The Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just returned from our first trip to sea captains & LOVE this little slice of 'Old Florida' heaven! In a great location with friendly staff, friendly visitors and everything you need to enjoy the gorgeous Florida sunshine! Only sad thing is...it was just sold to a company that wishes to knock it down and build ANOTHER cookie cutter high rise property! So sad, as this property has been a mainstay in clearwater since the 50's!! I'd love to see the new owners come in and give it a nice facelift to bring it back to it's glory days! (Like Frenchy did with the Oasis Motel). Will definitely go back...before d-day! :-(

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TampaNugget29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaptainResort, Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for writing to us. You, our guests make "The Sea captain Resort Experience" what it is!!! We are so happy our new owners also value the charm of the Sea Captain.We, here at the Sea Captain are continuing to do business as usual.You are why we are here, Thank you again for your patronage year after year. See you soon. The Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have been staying there annually, around May time for about 10 years. We have casually looked at other places but nothing compares to the Sea Captain.. There is just something about the place that makes you feel comfortable from the moment you arrive. Its big enough to have a bit of life (unlike a number of others in the vicinity) but small enough to feel personal and informal. (unlike the hotels) . All the staff are great and it is kept spotlessly clean. The location is as good as you'll find anywhere. Lovely place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaptainResort, Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for writing to us. You, our guests make "The Sea captain Resort Experience" what it is!!! We are so happy our new owners also value the charm of the Sea Captain.We, here at the Sea Captain are continuing to do business as usual.You are why we are here, Thank you again for your patronage year after year. See you soon. The Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just got back from another great stay here, was informed at reception on last day the place is being bought by the pier 60 hotel. I have to say that I can understand why the gentleman that owns the Sea captain is selling up as I have business experience myself but I cannot hide my genuine sadness that it is actually going to happen, I have been travelling to the Sea Captain all the way from Scotland since the early 1990's and my parents even longer, lots of memories of great times etc.
The girl at reception also informed me that it would be kept the same for 6 months to a year which means I may be able to squeeze in another trip to this wonderful location this year, i sure hope it stays the same for a lot longer, I personally don't want anything changed at all and im sure im speaking for the majority of repeat customers here. I would be happy to pay a bit more if it is just left as it is. Ian.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaptainResort, Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for writing to us. You, our guests make "The Sea captain Resort Experience" what it is!!! We are so happy our new owners also value the charm of the Sea Captain.We, here at the Sea Captain are continuing to do business as usual.You are why we are here, Thank you again for your patronage year after year. See you soon. The Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here instead of staying in Tampa while visiting for a concert. Yes, it's about a 30 minute drive over to Tampa, but it's soooo much nicer. Property is lovely, and located close to beach, food, and the pier. View from our room was so pretty. Room was clean, actually an efficiency unit, which is good if you're looking to save a bit of money on food. Nice outdoor pool, too. They served a limited breakfast in the lobby in the am, which was enough to grab and take upstairs to our room and eat while looking out at the water. Would like very much to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeonlongisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.7 mi away
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
0.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
0.0 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.9 mi away
Royal North Beach
Royal North Beach
#45 of 98 in Clearwater
246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel On the Beach
Quality Hotel On the Beach
#37 of 98 in Clearwater
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Captain Resort on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Address: 40 Devon Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2436
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#9 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#14 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £76 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Captain Resort on the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Resort Partner of Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Winter the Dolphin! Small resort located on the bay overlooking the harbor and Clearwater Marina, the Sea Captain Resort is only 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico public beaches, Pier 60, and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Resort features boat slips, fishing dock, grills, heated pool, hot tub, bicycles, shuffleboard, and free wi-fi. One-bedroom suites, efficiencies, and motel rooms available, with complimentary continental breakfast on the weekends; coffee and fresh Florida orange juice daily. One of Winter the Dolphin's favorite places to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Captain Resort on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel Clearwater
Sea Captain Clearwater
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing