We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Ranked #37 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It was awesome the best place I have ever stayed. The view was legendary can't beat that. The service was excellent. The staff was really nice. The rooms were clean. The pool was cristal clear. Everything about that place was great.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaptainResort, General Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Wow!!! Thank you for your comments, see ya soon, The Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed in room 28 which is a very basic motel room on the second floor. We did not have a single issue with it and knew going in that it was just a couple of beds and a fridge. We were perfectly happy. Now, if a suite had been available, that would have been great too! We stayed at the Sea Captain July 23-27 for 4 nights. I will concur with all the other reviewers about the property. We spent a lot of time fishing, swimming, playing the board games available in the office and shuffleboard, etc. This place reminds me of the beach property I went to every summer as a kid. No big entertainment necessary. Good, old fashioned fun was a pleasant change to our norm. I can't explain what a great location this property is! You literally just walk around the corner and across the street to get to what I feel is the best beach area in Clearwater. I heard parking lot attendants charging people $30 per day to park in the public areas!!! How much do you pay at the Sea Captain?? NOTHING! One thing I will note: the weekend crowd at the SC was different that the weekday crowd who stayed there during our visit. There was a lot of drinking in the pool and a few other things we could have done without but we just tried to ignore it and go on. Overall, we would definitely stay again and we hope to before this property is a thing of the past. My husband said someone said it would be a couple of years before they do anything. (I hope they don't.) Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaptainResort, General Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Yes we like to believe we have a little bit of "summer camp" in our souls here at The Sea Captain Resort. I am so sorry there were some issues over the weekend that concerned you and your family. On your next visit, please notify me asap and I will help to make every ones stay a pleasant one to remember. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Sea Captain staff does an excellent job. Yes the sea captain has been sold and rumors of its future abound. The new skyrise hotel next to it is monsterous which by the way now owns the Sea Captain. The future of our beloved Sea Captain rest in the hands of corporate business. Only time will tell.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 574tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaptainResort, General Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your review! You are right , rumors are abounding, some of them even scared us also lol, but rest assured, we are doing business as usual and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Rumor has it the Sea Captain has been sold! We hope the new owners think twice, and leave it the way it is!! If your planning a trip or going on a trip to Clearwater Beach Fl this place is a must stay! If your looking for a huge spacious rooms not here, but if your looking for SUPER CLEAN and GREAT PEOPLE in the best location then this is the place to stay! Best price and best location in CB! Thx Donna hope to see u soon!! The Busse's

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaptainResort, General Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you so much for your comments and your honest reviews. We love this place as much as our quests and we hope it continues to show. Our new owners have been the best, valuing The Sea Captain as much as we do. thank you again, be safe , see ya soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

After returning from a cruise out of Tampa our family wanted to spend at least one day at the beach upon our return. I looked and looked trying to decide where to book a reservation for 1 night but was having a difficult time. I wanted something on or near the beach and close to Pier 60 so we could walk there. I kept seeing the great reviews the Sea Captain Resort was getting so I decided to give it a try. Fortunately there was a suite available for one day which happened to be the day we needed. Talk about luck...!! We arrived early and found that our suite was already available. It was great...very roomy and very clean. My mother sat on the balcony at one point during our stay while the housekeepers were cleaning another suite and made the comment several times to us that she didn't worry about the cleanliness of the rooms because she saw how thorough the housekeepers were while they were cleaning. She was quite impressed with their work. My son and his girlfriend spent most of their time fishing. They were quite impressed with the resort and the nice grounds on the bay just as we all were. The walk to the beach was just across the road--very convenient. Also, the short walk to the pier for the sunset festival was easy for all of us and the sunset was absolutely breath-taking! We were also able to walk to restaurants nearby which were very good!. We hated to leave after just 1 day but we know for sure we plan to return to the Sea Captain. We certainly hope the owner leaves the resort as it is...it is fantastic!.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaptainResort, General Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for choosing us for your stay, you were a pleasure to have with us . See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place is exactly what everyone is raving about. The grounds- if you love sitting outside and enjoying the bay and the scenery then its perfect. We had a suit for two nights and found it to be very nice with all that we needed including a kitchen. The grounds are really gorgeous and it is a very convenient location to all attractions and the beach. It seemed to be mostly families staying there or couples. We will go back if given he opportunity. If you like to fish too this is a great place you don't need fishing license on the grounds.

Room Tip: The staff is very helpful and helped us chose a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Caron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaptainResort, General Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write girls!!! Did you catch anything? Next time be sure to clean it there on the dock, and grill it up on anyone of our grills, be safe see ya next time, the Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This cozy little gem is nestled in the midst of enormous hotels and condos, right on Clearwater Bay. Staff is friendly and helpful; rooms are clean and efficient.

The only thing I would do differently is bring a coffeepot... The hotel offers FREE coffee in the morning, but the office doesn't open until 8:00am. <wink, wink>

Room Tip: Chose to stay in one of the "motel"-type rooms vs. an efficiency...good choice! Each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ernestine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaptainResort, Manager at Sea Captain Resort on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for writing to us. You, our guests make "The Sea captain Resort Experience" what it is!!! We are so happy our new owners also value the charm of the Sea Captain.We, here at the Sea Captain are continuing to do business as usual.You are why we are here, Thank you again for your patronage year after year. See you soon. The Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.0 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#52 of 98 in Clearwater
459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Captain Resort on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Address: 40 Devon Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2436
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#14 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £101 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Captain Resort on the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Resort Partner of Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Winter the Dolphin! Small resort located on the bay overlooking the harbor and Clearwater Marina, the Sea Captain Resort is only 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico public beaches, Pier 60, and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Resort features boat slips, fishing dock, grills, heated pool, hot tub, bicycles, shuffleboard, and free wi-fi. One-bedroom suites, efficiencies, and motel rooms available, with complimentary continental breakfast on the weekends; coffee and fresh Florida orange juice daily. One of Winter the Dolphin's favorite places to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sea Captain Resort on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel Clearwater
Sea Captain Clearwater
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing