We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
Ranked #64 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Great location, opposite the beach and near resturants etc. Clean and comfortable rooms, ours was an Gulf View room and had coffe machine, microwave, fridge, plates cups etc, 2 very comfortable double beds and a settee, towels were changed every day. The continental breakfast was Ok if all you wanted was bread/toast, juice, coffee, porridge/oatmeal and cakes, using plastic cups, plates and knives. It is a bit rough round the edges ie no light shade on the bathroom light, hair drier only worked on low power, kitchen units a bit tatty and the sliding doors to the balcony were very stiff, although a bit of shampoo helped! All in all we enjoyed our stay and would go back.

Room Tip: Gulf View rooms are great, watching the sun going down. The other rooms don't have a private ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florida3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

I chose this hotel because of the budget price, despite some of the reviews I'd read. It wasn't that bad. The bed is comfortable, the pool is nice. There are stoneware mugs and plates in the room, in addition to real cutlery (instead of plastic), a fridge, microwave, toaster and coffee maker. The parking is free! I didn't much care for the thin towels and the cheap toiletries. The elevator often smelled faintly of cigarettes. The breakfast could be better--they offer coffee/tea, juice, bread for toasting, individual cups of applesauce, packaged donuts, pastries and muffins, instant oatmeal (but no milk, only powdered creamer) and granola bars from Walmart.
The location is great--right across from the beach. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonCorona_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Too often good experiences go unnoticed. I didn't want that to happen in this case. My time at the Magnuson was great. Not only is the hotel located across the street from the beach. The staff (Raymond) are exceptional. Dave is great too. Though the hotel is a little dated, the rooms are clean and large. I could have put my entire family in my room with little discomfort. The breakfast is very limited, but they weren't trying to sell that on the site. It is what it is. Overall, it was a good room at a great price. There wasn't a lot of noise around the place, but it is the off season. Wanting a place close to the beach and reasonably priced. This is the place. Ask for Raymond he is a rock star. Famous quote of a goofy guest, "Does it matter"?

Room Tip: Most of the westerly and northerly rooms have a view of the gulf. Only the ones facing street have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We reviewed this online without ever have seen this hotel. We stayed at Guy Harvey Beach resort in St Pete Beach for 2 days (2.5 star hotel)... then stayed at Magnuson in Clearwater for 1 day (2.5 star hotel). Not even comparable.
Magnuson is older, few amenities. It is more of a 'motel' with a small pool than a 'hotel'.
Lady at front desk was kinda rude when we figured out that booking online (Orbitz) we mistakenly were given a room with 2 double beds instead of 1 king size bed. We called before even getting there for the weekend... and the lady was rude on the phone and up-charged us $30 more for a room with king sized bed!
So overall... not a roach motel... but not the greatest.
But on Clearwater beach, there are so many out-dated motels that i am sure are worse yet... but this Magnuson was a far cry from the Hyatt or Hilton by far.
PS. the bed springs on our king size bed were horrible!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSteveRacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We were provided with 2 magnificent, spacious rooms, with spectacular sea views, we were able to watch a spectacular sunset from our balcony on our last night here. The breakfast was as advertised and the staff were very friendly and helpful. A great end to a wonderful holiday/vacation.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms facing the sea have magnificent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DemonDave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed here in 2012. rooms were outdated but ok. We were there to be on the beach- the room served as a place to shower and sleep and the pool was clean. For some reason they are advertising over $400 a night for premium weekends (July 4th- 2014). Don't pay it. You can stay at much nicer places for half the cost on the beach

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near stairwells. It's a little creepy and dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sadalsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I picked this hotel due to its location and price. It is across the street from the beach, the cheapest hotel on the beach. It was good for what you pick it for. although it advertises breakfast, what you really get is muffins, bread and juice. if you're wanting a real breakfast, choose elsewhere. i would surely recommend for a family looking for a beach front hotel at a reasonable price

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#48 of 98 in Clearwater
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Clearwater Beach
Residence Inn Clearwater Beach
#49 of 98 in Clearwater
22 reviews
6 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
1.2 mi away
Royal North Beach
Royal North Beach
#47 of 98 in Clearwater
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach

Address: 421 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2508
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £50 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach presents our guests with the very best in tropical island feel as you step outside our hotel doors into the white-sands of Clearwater Beach, Florida. Within seconds you can be comfortably sitting in a lounge chair feeling a wonderful Gulf coast breeze upon your face. You will enjoy soaking up the sun, majestic ocean views and the warm waters of Clearwater Beach.***Please note Parking fee is $15.00 per night*** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing