We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, open hotel but you get what you paid for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
Ranked #59 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I came to the hotel with my family for just one night stay. The room was ok, we got an ocean view room with 2 double beds, a sofa and a kitchenette. Downs are that i found some dirty silverware and the AC was really really dirty. Location is definitely the best about the hotel. Parking is free (one parking pass per room) but the space is limited and completely open, as the hotel. Basically anyone walking on the street can get in. Fragile and aparently old structure so it can get very noisy with your neighbors opening and closing doors. The pool area is very pleasant, the hotel has a cool environment. But you're definitely paying for location.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovananv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Me and my wife went to Clearwater Beach to celebrate our anniversary; we drove from Kissimmee (central Florida area) and went in the morning but were going to come back home the same evening! To make the long story short, we decided to stay in Clearwater, so we started looking at the hotels in the area (including the "big names chain hotels" in the area, which honestly they have nothing on The Magnuson other than "big names", because the service, the room, the view at The Magnuson was awesome); in fact, the last hotel we visited was The Magnuson. Raymond (whom after talking to him, happens to used to live in our same area where we live now in Kissimmee and now we're probably looking into moving to Clearwater area), he treated us like royalty, greeted us and treated us with a 5 diamond service, even showed us the room before we even decided to pick the hotel, awesome view from our room to see the sunset (by the way). He gave us coupons for free drinks and discount vouchers for a nearby restaurant ("Crabby.... something, I think was "Crabby Joe's" or something like that, I can't recall the restaurant name but it was "two steps away" from the hotel and the food was phenomenal too! The place was AWESOME too, from the drinks, the appetizers, the food, etc...!). The room had a mini kitchen with a microwave (which by the way, was great for the left overs! They do give a lot of food at the restaurant, so good thing the hotel is just a few steps down otherwise they'll probably had to roll us back over to the hotel from all the food! LOL!). During the night, we walked down a short distance to the pier, where they have music, shows, arts and crafts, shops, etc.... Then we sat down at the beach till about 12am just listening to the waves, very romantic... At the hotel they also have included, continental breakfast; which I went down to get and served my wife breakfast in bed! It was a great anniversary! (Good price for the room too!) Thanks God and thanks Raymond again, we had an amazing time, it was memorable! I'm running out of the hotel business cards, need to go back and get some more to give away; we're telling everyone about it! :-)

Julio R. (Kissimmee, FL)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRamirez20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just wanted to take a little time for ourselves, to be close to the beach and watch the sun set over the palm trees. We choose the Magnuson, because it was perfectly located across from the beach. Our room was large and clean. The pool was clean, the people were friendly. Raymond told us to visit "Crabby's" down the street for a good place to eat. He was right, we sat up stairs overlooking the beach and palm trees, as the sun set each night. We truly had a relaxing four nights. We sunned, walked the beach, and watched the sun set every night. We only had to open our door and walk across the street. I would definitely come back and stay at the Magnuson hotel again and again. Clearwater and Raymond are the best.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Wanted to reward kids with completing their school year with a surprise weekend trip out to Clearwater. Found this hotel through booking.com. Plenty of space for all 5 us (two beds, one pull out). We usually stay at Coconut Cove but rate entices us to try this spot.

Great: balcony looking out onto beach, walking distance to (the pier 60 activities, ice cream shop downstairs, FlowRider@SurfStyle); beach access across the street
Good: check in was quick, representatives were friendly, pool is no frills but clean and big enough that 10 families were in it at the time we jumped in and it wasn't cramped
Ok: room was a little worn, paint peeling from door, carpet was travelled (but durable for beach visitors)
Slight downgrade: a few fruit flies observed, to turn on shower took some additional torque and pressure-nonetheless water pressure was good.
Only regret: walls a little thin, especially our room near the stairwell so we heard a few interesting drunken exchanges.

BIG WARNING: After checking in, I was told to put the parking pass visible from the rear view mirror immediately as the lot is constantly scanned by the tow company. I did not heed the advice and brought all my luggage/family in first. No exaggeration, 6-8 minutes I returned to get last of luggage and hang my tag and the tow company was in process of hooking up our minivan. I showed my tag and they immediately stopped (which I don't think they had to do and appreciated that the trio did not start out on a sour note).

Hang your tag first!

All in all not a bad economical stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nuonli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Went here for a family reunion, and decided I wanted to stay near the beach by myself. The hotel was nice, but we got to the room (mind you there was no elevator to get to our room), there were clothes in the room from people already staying there. Staff apologized and they cleaned the room. The next night, the shower would not stop dripping and their breakfast was cold cereal and packaged danish. I will stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: get a room that faces the beach, and has an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a wonderful hotel. Doesnt look too great from the outside but the rooms were way bigger than expected, spacious and comfortable. They were always made up immaculately. The pool was average but didnt mind as the hotel was just across the road from the beach. Had chairs so you could sit outside the room and watch pool/beach. Would definatley stay here again for the price i paid

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank AnonyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The only thing good about this hotel is the location from the beach. We arrived here at the hotel, the handle was broke on the door, the sofa bed was broke we weren't going to complain because things happen but the second to last night we found a cockroach. The next morning we decided to check out a day early and they wouldn't refund us our money. The only thing we wanted was for the final night refunded. Was this too much to ask........

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apache831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#51 of 98 in Clearwater
459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal North Beach
Royal North Beach
#46 of 98 in Clearwater
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachwalk Inn
Beachwalk Inn
#45 of 98 in Clearwater
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach

Address: 421 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £87 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach presents our guests with the very best in tropical island feel as you step outside our hotel doors into the white-sands of Clearwater Beach, Florida. Within seconds you can be comfortably sitting in a lounge chair feeling a wonderful Gulf coast breeze upon your face. You will enjoy soaking up the sun, majestic ocean views and the warm waters of Clearwater Beach.***Please note Parking fee is $15.00 per night*** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing