We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Satisfied, great hotel on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
Ranked #73 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Satisfied, great hotel on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

I was very pleased with the Gulfview Hotel. . WE loved the location and the wonderful beach view. Hotel was very clean. Staff was accomodating and would return. A wonderful family resort. Pool overlooked teh beachview. Our family was very pleased and would return again. Love Clearwater beach and am happy we stayed at this location. We walked to all the restaurants and didnt' need a car which was a plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    77
    64
    44
    73
See reviews for
120
82
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
145 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right on the beach but is old smelly and has insects in the rooms. The sheets and pillowcases had stains. The place next door pumps music all day long so if you're on that side of the hotel be prepared for no sleep. Way over priced!!! This was a last minute trip for my husband and I with my ten month old! Not a good place for babies or anyone that minds a clean place to rest their head

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RENEE625, General Manager at GulfView Hotel - On The Beach, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Such accusations are taken very seriously, and would have been aggressively investigated had they been reported. No issues were reported during your stay and we have found no evidence to support it.
Unfortunately, our neighboring property does play music that is excessive in volume, and although we have tried to remedy this problem, we just simply do not have authority over it.
I do apologize that you were unable to rest with your infant. Had we been notified during your stay, we could have offered you another room that was located on the other side of the building, away from the music.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

what do people expect this priced hotel right on the beach all others were far more expensive. Found staff very helpfull any problem and they were there straight away cannot say about breakfast as I HOP was right next door had breakfast every morning there which set us up for the day As for the music yes heard it while on the beach but heard nothing in the evenings this was in october 2012 would go back again

Room Tip: was in middle of hotel and still had gulf view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We just came back from the Gulfview Hotel and loved the location! Ideal family hotel. Kitchennettes in the rooms. Very relaxing, great pool. Staff was friendly and enjoyed the free coffee and danishes in the morning. Located on the beach. We had a great stay and great prices on the beach compared to some of the other hotels. Would definitly return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

This hotel is very antiquated and needs restorations. The "Kitchenette" consists of a nook that you would normally have a counter with a stove top and a refrigerator under and cabinets with dishes above. The "Breakfast Included" consists of pre package pastries that look like they are at least a week old...not even good prepackaged pastries. Not my idea of breakfast. It is on the beach, however the beach is basically only aboutg 150 yards before you run into the next hotel property. I was looking forward to getting up and "walking the beach". Don't plan on doing that here. Best to go to "vacation rentals": and rent a condo or cottage for the week at a much lower price. It was a little over $1100 for the week. I booked really late so didn't have alot of choices. Didn't have time for the vacation places to get back to me as they are closed on Saturdays and I was leaving on Tuesday. I booked my trip on Saturday.

Room Tip: If you don't care about the "breakfast included" or if you don't care if it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kds2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We liked this Hotel, it was right on the beach front, small but nice pool, condition of the Hotel was good and well maintained, rooms where nice and clean with a good selection of TV channels, Beds where comfortable, breakfast was a joke, coffee and a cake, luckily you have an iHop next door. There are two decent bars close by, one next door to the right and one across road to the right, both have live bands. I would definitely use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rooneystephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I just read all the 1-star reviews just for giggles and laughed out loud.. What were you expecting for $79,90 by the beach, Peninsula? Well first of all we hadn't booked anything (road trip) so we just kinda walked in to this one. We parked the car and started walking towards the front desk. Before we even got to the lobby door, we were greeted by the receptionist who happened to be outside. In just 2 minutes he told us what $79,90 would get us and we were happy to hear what they had to offer. We ended up paying 20 dollars more to get a sea view room with a balcony that's facing the sea. We always stay in these low-budget rooms on our road trips and this has been a great bang for the buck so far. Watching the sun set behind the sea horizon from our own balcony was something we didn't know to expect for price this low.

And what comes to the "rudeness" of the staff, we've met only friendly people so far. The young guy at the lobby seems to have a wicked sense of humor and it really works for us. Made me laugh out loud a couple of times.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that has a balcony with an oceanview. It might cost you a bit more, but oh man it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Testikkeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
0.4 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#49 of 96 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel On the Beach
Quality Hotel On the Beach
#34 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.1 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GulfView Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GulfView Hotel - On The Beach

Property: GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
Address: 625 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Econo Lodge Beachfront Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — GulfView Hotel - On The Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your GulfView Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Beachfront Hotel Clearwater
Econo Lodge Clearwater
Clearwater Econo Lodge
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing