We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
Ranked #73 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
kewanee,il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dont stay here”
Reviewed 17 September 2008

This hotel is very unsafe and unsecure. I stayed here with my wife and brother in law on Saturday 9/13/08. At 2:30 AM my wife woke up due to some strange man touching her hair and face. She immediately asked the intruder what he was doing in our room and he said I'm sorry wrong room and he left. She woke me up and I immediately attempted to contact the front desk. No one answered at the front desk. We left room and attempted to take the elevator from our 5th floor room to the lobby. The elevator did not work. While we were waiting for elevator we saw a man running from one room to another. We also saw toliet paper rolls being used to prop open several room doors on the 5th floor. We than walked down to lobby and discussed intruder with lobby staff. He accused my wife of giving her room key to someone else and forgetting that she gave away room key. My wive found her key and finally he called the police. The police arrived and found the back hotel door unsecured with toliet paper roll. they also found that several of the rooms doors were not secured and entered with guns drawn. Finally the police checked everything out and we were able to rest after 4:00 AM. We advised lobby staff Robert that we would be staying for next two days due to incident. He said that the police report said that there was no evidence that anyone had been in our room and we appeared to be intoxicated. We had not been drinking. He said that due to this police report that he could not give us any compensation for our problems. When I contacted the police I found that there was no report submitted so I don't what report that he was referring to. I also found out that Robert was not manager as he stated. I am still waiting for manager to return from her vacation to discuss issue with her.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — safety, staff
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank anonymousKewanee_il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    78
    66
    44
    74
See reviews for
122
84
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smithland, Ky.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We stayed here for our Honeymoon and it was a nice place to stay at the time. It had a nice view of the ocean. We had the 5th floor which made it all better! All in all the hotel was taken care of. We actually stayed there in 2000 but i couldnt go back that far! and im just now getting into this whole trip advisor but i still remember that honeymoon very well! The guy at the front desk was really helpful and nice, he even kept the pool open for us and told us to lock up when we were done! I liked the Tiki thing beside us! Even though i was only 20 i couldnt toast our honeymoon at the tiki hut! Anyway all in all it was a nice vacation for us!

  • Liked — The View of the Ocean
  • Disliked — The stairs coming and going to the pool
  • Stayed July 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ssdlh08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

my daughters and I stayed at the econolodge because of the inexpensive rooms. You get what you pay for in this case... We called in advance with some questions due to some other reviews we read about noise. We were told the noise was just from the bar, and was not constant. My daughter had 2 pillows over her head at 1 am trying to sleep. The noise from shepards hotel next door was very loud, constant, and almost drowned out the noise from the other hotels, traffic, the boats with their music and the parties. The hotel was very rundown, the beach was almost nonexistent (manmade stretch) next to a rocky, seaweedy mess. We did get clean towels, and a teeny kitchenette. Good points, we saw dolphins almost everyday, the public beaches are beautiful, food is easily accessible, and public transportation is available. AND our view from the fifth floor corner room 544 was incredible.

  • Liked — the view from the gulf front room and the public beaches
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missourimom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

Atlanta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

I am still trying to figure out where they get the resort in their name. We stayed here July 13, 14, before a four night stay at Bellaire Beach. First the beach they have is a bunch of rocks that are covered with sea weed. It is located at the entrance to a water way leading to the bay, the current is strong, and there is a lot of trash. The hotel is right next to an outdoor bar with loud music. Request a room with a city view to avoid the noise. Bottom line is the hotel is a low budget, old, moldy beach hotel. The location is right its two blocks from the public beach. There is a IHOP at the hotel on the other side. A lot of partying folks, especially on the weekend. There is a Red Roof Inn two blocks right in front on the beach which is better.
Our room was a corner room that had a window on left side and a sliding door with balcony on right

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — condition
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckinney2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2008

The hotel has a great location with nice oceanview and a beautiful beach. The interior is somewhat worn down, dirty carpets, etc. Our first impression of the room was bad - the window was dirty, there were stains at the table and chairs. When we asked for the window and table to be cleaned and for clean covers on the chair - just the window was cleaned. For the rest of our stay we better put towels to sit on chairs. The room was fine otherwise, perhaps a small cabinet would be helpful. A janitor named "Betty" (or similar) had bluntly asked for a tip for washing the dishes in the room (unrequested). Due to our above dissapointment with the room service we refused, so she was very rude at the breakfast. All other staff were very nice to us, especially the manager, helping with advices, etc. To be completely satisfied the hotel would have to replace or at least clean the carpets and to correct the "attitue" of one janitor.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelerMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clinton township, michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2008

great location and reasonable price, nice and clean rooms with good views of the gulf of mexico and every room has a private balcony, the staff was great and helpful and you are within walking distance of great restaurants and bars. The beach was small but very nice and the pool and hot tub were wonderful.

Helpful?
1 Thank lrobart22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2008

For the price our week here was great. Similar hotels at same price were dumps, Quality Inn, Holiday Inn, Best Western were $75 -100 more expensive per night.

The pool area was small but clean and provided views of the channel. Would only take a couple of partying students to change the atmosphere in the small area, but was quiet all the time we were their. There were sufficient chairs for this time of year (maybe not in March).

There is a patch of sand, but if you want beach and swimming you should walk the 1/2 mile to Clearwater Beach (an awesome beach) - don't expect a tranquill family afternoon on the beach at the hotel.

Our room had been painted recently, beds were fairly firm. Fridge worked fine. Balconey with plastic chairs/table good.

Carpet in room and our floor seemed recent, but I certainly wouldn't eat off of it.

Lobby has been re-done recently.

Continental breakfast is plain bagels and cream cheese (every day). Our room had a toaster & coffee matchine with supplies, so we scored bagels and ate breakfast in our room (on balcony weather permitting).

We were on the side facing east - away from Shepards. Noise not an issue there, but it definetly noticable on other side of hotel. This side of hotel didn't get much direct afternoon sun - concern in Feb probably an advantage Apr - Sept.

I would 1st look for a better hotel at the same price for next year, but if unsucessful have no concerns returning to EconoLodge to save $$.

  • Liked — Location & value
  • Disliked — Biggest concern is proximity to Shepards for rooms on west side of building
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anon078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#48 of 98 in Clearwater
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel On the Beach
Quality Hotel On the Beach
#33 of 98 in Clearwater
781 reviews
0.1 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GulfView Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GulfView Hotel - On The Beach

Property: GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
Address: 625 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2643 (Formerly Econo Lodge Beachfront Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — GulfView Hotel - On The Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your GulfView Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Beachfront Hotel Clearwater
Econo Lodge Clearwater
Clearwater Econo Lodge
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing