We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Property for business traveler. A little above average” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
Ranked #30 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Property for business traveler. A little above average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Good place to stay. I felt safe and relaxed. Please make sure when you go to your room for the first time you ask for very specific directions. The hotel is laid out in a pinwheel. I got lost going to my room. Room was clean and nice, bathroom had no issues. However the temp was set to 64 and it was freezing. The free breakfast in the morning was under par for what I am used to from LQ. In case you dont get full like I did. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Star Level was dead on. Use Express Deal with Priceline . Overall , I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor room 309. I felt like I was in a Corn Husk Maze trying to find my room. But w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deweymikels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    250
    94
    36
    27
See reviews for
228
184
72
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights in the hotels apartment suite, while waiting to get into our rental home.
The kitchen had no stove just a microwave, but there was a Full size fridge, empty kitchen cupboards and dble sink. Perfect for picking up Publix pre cooked chicken and salads, if you forget your paper plates just grab a few extras of the breakfast buffet.
The living room was HUGE and there was even a small dining room. Okay bedroom & bathroom. VERY Clean and no bed bugs.
The Breakfast Buffet was pretty skimpy but the food was good. Not often you see a La Quinta breakfast that doesn't have pastries or muffins. There were waffles, bagels, & toast, plus fresh boiled eggs, yogurt & cereal.
The pool area looked nice but was off limits with the pooch. No problem, there is a second floor balcony with umbrella's & tables that overlook the pool. Perfect for sitting outside and letting the dog stretch her legs while we enjoyed a few cocktails and lunch (prepared in our apartment kitchen). No one used it except us, so it was private and a nice spot to enjoy a cheap lunch.
Only negative. The front desk didn't have a wine opener.

Room Tip: Use your La Quinta points and upgrade to the Apartment Suite. It was fewer points than most rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DogFriendlyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Great hotel for dog people. Location was central to attractions and beaches. Good for the money. Most La Quintas are usually a god bet, and this one wasn't an exception. There is a very quiet side street that runs along the backside of the parking lot that we used to play ball and wear out our k-9 companion for the way home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarheelgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewett
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Satisfied overall. Though the motel was busy day and night (lots of traffic thru the parking lot) it really didn't bother me once the drapes were closed. Beds were good, fridge and microwave, desk to do paperwork, new flat screens, non smoking rooms, but all rooms have a balcony so it wasn't to much of a problem, pet friendly. They actually have a pretty good selection for breakfast, but the biscuits were cold and stale, and the gravy was cold also.

Room Tip: Get a room in the rear - much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed at this La Quinta in order to be able to have access to the seaside areas of Clearwater and the attractions of Tampa. We were not disappointed. The location, while busy, was accessible to major interstate routes and to those leading to the coast itself. The facilities at the inn were very comfortable and clean. We had opportunity to meet various staff as we were at the hotel for five days and all were professional, friendly and helpful. Also of note was the pool area. Always very clean, it was among nicely placed palm trees that enhanced the area even more at night beneath the lights. All in all, a pleasant stay for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, ri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was my third visit to this property, (all for leisure). I am very familiar with the "Gulf Beaches" area and this hotel is very easy to get to from Tampa (TPA) airport. They said it had been renovated, but I did not see anything new. The so-called "fitness" room is a joke, so forget using that.The pool /spa area was always deserted, so I can't comment on that. As for the "breakfast" in the morning, don't go there hungry. My main issue was that I used La Quinta reward points for three out of five days, that I was there. Only when I checked out did I see on my receipt that I was charged over $33.00 for those supposedly "free" nights. No one at the property could explain why. So when I called the 800 number, I was told that because I booked a king-size bed I was charged according to a "tier" system. These charges were never explained at anytime, during booking or check-out. It seems that free is not always free. If the hotel wants to add different "tier" catorgories, they will. PS. most of the rooms I looked at all required the same amount of points.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed in room 329 for two nights. The room was very nice indeed and newly decorated. Shower and wash basin in the en suite facility. The other La Quintas we stayed in had the wash basin outside of the en suite area. Usual La Quinta facilities fridge, microwave etc. Nice desk with chair - also an armchair and a double bed. Free wifi worked well. Lovely outdoor pool area with hot tub and facilities for disabled people. This area was enclosed and quite private. Tables, chairs and parasols available.
Lots of road works just outside the hotel on main highway. Access to the hotel quite difficult. Lots of eating places nearby. Breakfast the usual buffet style but quite adequate. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisatholly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#38 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
#58 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
5.9 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
Address: 3301 Ulmerton Road, Clearwater, FL 33762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#17 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#32 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater Airport was newly renovated and recently named a 2011 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence award winner!NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.The La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater Airport is conveniently located in Clearwater, FL just 1.5 miles from St. Petersburg Clearwater Airport and 12 Miles from Tampa International Airport. Minutes from the hotel you will find many places of interest including, Florida's Gulf Beaches, Busch Gardens and Adventure Island, Ray's and Buccaneer's Stadiums, Salvador Dali Museum, and John's Pass Shopping Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo and LaQuinta so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater Airport Hotel Clearwater
La Quinta Inn And Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater Airport
La Quinta Clearwater
Clearwater La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing