We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked really well for swim meet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
Ranked #58 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed for a week for a swim meet after spring training. We booked the room with two bedrooms, each with a king bed, with a living area in the center. It was really great and I got a weekly rate when I called the front desk a month before the stay.
When you pull up you can be worried - it is on a busy construction ridden highway - but when you pull off and walk through reception you find a little gem. The set up is like a motel - a square around the central pool, two floors. We stayed on the back side facing out to an apartment complex. We were steps away from the coin op laundry which I used several times during the week.
First, the room - very, very convenient. Could definitely accommodate a family. Each room has a king bed and bath and tv. The only downside to the bedroom layout is the bathrooms. They are very tight. The design is not good. You must go in and jigger around to just close the door to use the toilet. The shower curtains are short and water goes on the floor when showering. The showers are good sized but not much water pressure. The sink is outside of the bath with plenty of counter space and outlets. The beds were great! The mattresses where solid and not pitted from too many folks sleeping on them. Each room had its own air conditioning unit with thermostat. The center living area had yet another tv with a sofa that pulled out to a bed (we didn't use it), a coffee table and side lamps and a comfortable chair and footrest. The back of the room has a closet next to the wet bar - there is a sink and countertop with coffee machine and microwave. There are cupboards underneath and a refrigerator. We went to the local Target and bought food and drinks and laundy supplies for our stay. There is also a table desk with its own desk lamp. The only thing I would add there is better outlets - maybe a power strip. Free wifi is MUCH appreciated. The windows has slatted shutters that were great to let in natural light during the day and darken the room at night.
The pool area was well cared for and a pleasure to sit at. There are 3 or 4 tables with umbrellas. The chairs were plastic and could be upgraded a bit to make them more solid. There is not only the usual rectangular pool but a shaded hot tub and wading pool with a waterfall that the kids loved when they couldn't take any more sun. There is a raised gazebo like structure that could benefit from a roof or shaded cover. Leading into the reception area there is covered veranda with about ten comfortable rocking chairs that the parents enjoyed each evening. The only thing I would add is maybe to have it screened in as the bugs got us in the evening. We did sit there for hours.
The maids came late in the day which didn't work great for our schedule but they were cheerful and efficient. The desk staff was friendly and helpful. The reception area had a nice array of tables and comfortable sofas and chairs and a tv. There are two desktop computers and a small but adequate gym. The complimentary breakfast was nothing to brag about but what is expected. You can grab a banana and yogurt or make your own waffle. I would have liked real maple syrup and the eggs were nothing I would chose to eat. BUT right next door in walking distance in Lennys the number one breakfast spot in Clearwater and it is AMAZING!!! A must visit for a great fresh southern breakfast. The redneck breakfast with sausage gravy was delish and the complimentary pastry basket was awesome.
You are a drive away from the beach at Clearwater and the attractions like the marine rescue where Winter is and there is a surprising amount of traffic so leave yourself time. But this place is a clean value. The room we stayed in was a great value for a family - if you have grandma and grandpa along with your family of mom, dad and two kids you would do just fine in this spot and not break the bank. And after the end of a long day you can turn the kids loose in the pool and settle in on the veranda and rock away with your drinks from Target - they even sell wine in Target in the south :)

Room Tip: Rooms further from the highway are quieter and the king two bedroom is a wonderful spacious value...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDMOMLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Ok so I am getting married in September of 2012 and I had a venue you set for a while well wouldn't you know my luck that my venue started implementing new rules and regulations that I could not accommodate at my wedding so, five months before i completely panicked my mom heard about this hotel from our caterer, needless to say i was up to giving it a chance, i showed up twice unannouced and let me just tell you how very clean the lobby and the courtyard was, i was shocked i did not expect such beauty from a place like this but i was amazed it was sparkling clean and the staff at the front desk was overwhelming nice. the third time i went to the hotel i met the general manager and also toured the rooms and the entire hotel, its the HIDDEN GEM of clearwater it truly is amazing. i was shocked at how clean and family friendly this place was, not to mention that all the rooms open up facing the pool... I cant wait to have my wedding here!!1 <3

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mackenzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here six nights, as I checked it out here Trip advisor) first. The pool area is great one large pool a wading pool and a spa or large hot tub. The "construction" was not as bad as others may have written, a slight inconvenience yes but not a big deal And It appears they'll be done in a few months. Breakfast was fantastic each day, well maintained and restocked with anything you'd want. The bath room was small, and the rooms were tight, (A chair at the desk area got in the way a lot) But we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. Service at the desk and house keeping were great. We were there for spring break and it was a short drive 6-7 miles to the beach and straight down Gulf to Bay Blvd. Good value considering the time frame we stayed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fan4Football
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Hampton Inn Clearwater Central is a "motel" style Inn. Rooms have been upgraded, but they should get their money back from who ever installed the floors and bath - looks dingy. HVAC is noisy. Three pools - a waterfall kiddie pool, large pool and spa is entertaining. I just felt I paid a premium price for a so-so Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bestdeb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodhsi_admin1, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear bestdeb58,

We appreciate getting feedback from our guests. I’m sorry you found the flooring in your guest bath to be below standards. I will discuss with housekeeping to make sure we are maintaining the floors to their optimal potential. I will also try to locate which you room you stayed in and have maintenance check the HVAC. I am very pleased that you were able to enjoy our outdoor courtyard with all three swimming pools; we take great pride in its upkeep. I hope that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary breakfast, guest coin laundry, and free wifi. We always welcome suggestions for enhancements. If there is anything that we can provide to your stay more enjoyable, please let us know (727) 797-8173.

Sincerely,
Robin Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights to go to Phillies spring training and had a wonderful experience. We did have a king bed suite which was more than we expected and may be part of the reason our experience differed from some other reviews. The pool area was outstanding, the breakfast more than adequate and the proximity to the ball park ideal. While the outside entrance is not a usual Hampton feature, our room was up to Hampton standards, except perhaps the bathroom, but it was certainly adequate. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed suite
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Webesterly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodhsi_admin1, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Webesterly,

The hotel does seem to be the first choice for many when it comes to spring training; our location is great for the players and just a short walk to the field. We are so you happy you enjoyed our wide variety of breakfast selections, also that your king suite was comfortable and exceeded your expectations. We are doing all we can to make ensure the property is up to date and will consider your comments on future development. Thank you so much for your recommendation and the likelihood of your return to our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback!

See you next time,
Robin Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed here in march for 4 nights during march 2012 for phillies spring training. i chose this particular location because it was within walking distance to bright house field. on first arriving i went to check in and they informed us our room wasn't ready yet, we arrived at about 11 am but had a game to get to. at around 4 or 5pm after the game, we came to check in and the guy informed us that they 'ran out of our room type' but they had a pool view room available. i didn't really care where the room was located at on the property as long as i had a room.

the room was nice and clean. typical hotel room. but the bed was AMAZING. so comfy, soft, clean and big. i thought it was updated and modern and kept clean. the tv was a flat screen tv but the picture was not very clear on some some channels. the shower was kept clean and the shower head was like something at home with changeable water pressure.

one problem was when we arrived back one day our door was not closed all the way. we searched the room and didn't find anything missing. i am assuming the cleaners just finished up and thought they shut the door but didn't.

if you are going for phillies spring training the hotel is very close to bright house field. it is about a 15 minute walk to the field but it is on a highway, but luckily there are police who cross to the park.

it was also walking distance to lennys and a shopping center that included small resurants and tilted kilt pub.

the pool is a good size and has a waterfall and hot tub.

i was not able to get to the breakfast because they stop serving it at 10. but the waffles looked good. they do have coffee served all day thought which is a plus.

i think that the shop inside needs improvement. there wasn't many options on snacks and drinks. since there is not a convenience store within walking distance they should take that into consideration.

overall i would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicol1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodhsi_admin1, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear nicol1103 ,

As General Manager for the Hampton Inn Clearwater, I thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience. The feedback we receive is a constant help to ensure we’re focusing on our guests ever changing needs. I am sorry that your room was not available when you arrived. However, I am very pleased that once you were checked in, you found your room to be more than adequate. I do apologize for the mishap you experienced during your stay; I assure you this is not common. However, I will talk with the staff and make sure all rooms are fully secured after cleaning. We will consider your suggestion regarding our suite shop’s goods and see if there is anything we can bring in to accommodate. Thank you for letting us know how we can make your stay more enjoyable.

Sincerely,
Robin Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at this Hampton Inn to see the Phillies play the Yankees at Bright House stadium. The hotel was clean and the free breakfast hit the spot. We walked over to the game. I couldn't be happier with our decision to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkbride55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodhsi_admin1, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you were able to share your experience and we have met all your needs during your stay. If there is anything that we can assist with during your stay please let us know. See you next time.

All the best,
Robin Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Clearwater Central
La Quinta Clearwater Central
#30 of 98 in Clearwater
667 reviews
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 98 in Clearwater
391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Clearwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Clearwater Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Clearwater Central

Address: 21030 US Highway 19 N, Clearwater, FL 33765-4415
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#26 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £70 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Clearwater Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Clearwater Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing