We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
Ranked #46 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Almost lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I always try and stay with Hampton and have rarely been disappointed. Hampton did a good job renovating an old typical Florida motel. It was Hampton quality beds and furniture but in very small rooms.The breakfast was good, the pool area was super -Quiet, landscaped well and they even had floats for the pool.. My husband and I had cocktails each day by the pool. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times. They don't have standard refrigerators but when we asked they had a few that can travel from room to room. It was close to the beach (10 minutes drive) and we couldn't beat the price. Except for the size of the room it was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: poolside is the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkmacbct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beki L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I am so happy you enjoyed your time with us and was able to take advantage of the pool area and courtyard as well. I wish I could walk out there and do the same however I wouldn't ever get any work done, LOL...We actually use to be a full service Holilday Inn years again when it was first built. I hope that a return visit is in your future before the new year happens. Thanks again for the review and have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    248
    166
    92
    75
See reviews for
342
245
54
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I should have written this sooner but in any case, this is a great property to stay for Phillies Spring Training in March. My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend in March 2014 for Phillies Spring training. This Hampton was a good value - we used points and paid for a night. Book early if you are doing Spring Training. The hotel was pretty much filled for Spring Training. The grounds were nice especially around the pool. We didn't get to use the pool but it looked nice and relaxing. Plenty of chairs etc. Free breakfast available but we didn't take advantage of because we walked to Lenny's for breakfast or went to Bright house field early. But the free breakfast is one of the reasons I usually stay at Hamptons. Be aware as mentioned in other reviews there are NO elevators. If you stay on the 2nd floor, you will need to carry your bags up the stairs. Also the rooms open to street. This looks to be a former motel that was converted to a Hampton. But don't let that scare you, the rooms seem to renovated and the lobby and breakfast area were modern and sleek. Our room was a tad small but it was fine as we weren't there much - out at Phillies games. The room did have a small fridge and coffee maker.

We did not rent a car. We took a shared shuttle to hotel. Walked to Brighthouse Field every day (less than 1 mile). Plenty of restaurants within walking distance (1 mile or less). At the time we stayed, the hotel offered a shuttle to beach via a private company. I think it was $5 (or$10) each way. When we wanted to try a restaurant at Clearwater beach, we took a cab which could get expensive but it was fine for a few nights.

The staff at the front desk were very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel any time of year but definitely for Phillies Spring Training.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor so you don't have to lug your luggage up stairs. They are NO el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalThatTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beki L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review even if it is months after your stay. It makes me feel good because you are still thinking about us even as time passed by. I did want to clarify something that not just you but other guests have mentioned. We do have and elevator for the second floor. It's directly outside the breakfast area. I apologize if the front desk team didn't mention it upon you checking in because that is one of my big points when checking a guest into a second floor room. I want them to give everyone the option to use the elevator and walk around to your room or use the stairs in front of your room, either way the choice needs to be offered. You are correct about booking early for spring break though, we were full pretty much from the middle of February to the end of March. Lenny's is awesome as well...many guests walk down to there to eat breakfast and they have been voted top diner in Pinellas county for 5 years in a row. Thank you again for your review and I hope you have an awesome summer and we will see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I almost always stay at Hampton Inn because they are consistently reliable. I did have some gripes with this particular location though. 1) No refrigerator nor microwave in the room. 2) Heated pool was obnoxious on a 95 degree day in Florida. But the kiddie pool with waterfall was refreshing. Other than that, completely satisfied. Rooms are clean and bedding smells/feels fresh. Continental breakfast is always satisfactory and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beki L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I know that I already wrote to you on your survey however wanted to thank you as well for writing a review. I completely understand your thoughts on wanting a fridge when traveling. We plan on putting fridges in all the rooms when we renovate down the road however as of right now we only have them in the suites. We do offer several complimentary portable one's however they are limited. I am sorry about the pool being warm however the wonderful Florida sunshine is to blame. Our pool heater shut off in May and won't turn back on until around October because the sun keeps it warm enough. I wish they made a cooling unit for pools because I agree with you about the pool being warm, I get into my pool at my house and it is very warm as well. Hope you have a great summer and I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The grounds around the pool and outdoor porch are great. If you are on the 2nd floor you will need to carry your bags up a flight of stairs. Our room faced the pool. It was a quiet and peaceful night. I really liked the option of the breakfast porch with the rockers. Close to the beach without the beach front price. The staff were all friendly. I would return. My kids would love the pool.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HisGirlCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beki L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I love those rockers myself and I am glad you did too. We find many guests that enjoy the patio area for breakfast because of the tropical view while eating. Thank you again and we hope to see you back sooner than later with the kids this next time. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family and I stayed there from June 25-29. We enjoyed our stay at the Hampton. I read a lot of reviews before leaving for the trip as I always do. In reading those and they were very accurate. The breakfast is an ideal way to save money and the waffle line can be long but you can do better. I had no issue with the staff as they were professional to my family and I. The beds were comfortable and clean. The travel to the beach isn't very far maybe 10-12 minutes. Now...If you're expecting anything other than a motel style setting you're mistaken. The rooms are outdated but the grounds are nice. The bathrooms are incredibly small so there is just room enough to close the door if you're using the toilets. The age of the rooms show in the carpet and tile of the floor. The AC/heat units are those from the eighties and depending on where you're placed it could be noisy. The lighting is average so if you want bright, open the window and turn on all the lights you need. The local selection of food and entertainment were good as well. There's traffic construction in the city which could sour things. However, the highlight for us was the swimming pool. It's a heated salt water pool that absolutely was warm and inviting regardless of the weather. Oh and the cookies were great! I thought it was cool that the hotel even did an outdoor movie night. So in conclusion, you could get more if you pay for more but depending on what you're willing to live with the hotel was not updated but still a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akribis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beki L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I couldn't have said it better myself...thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us and I hope there will be many more in our future. We just started doing movie night by the pool this past March and it has been getting rave reviews. This past weekend was July 4th and the kids were so disappointed that we couldn't do the movie because it was raining so we did it inside in the breakfast area and everyone loved it. Thanks again for the review and have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I booked the Inn by the amount of good reviews on this site and we were not disappointed. From the moment we entered the lobby to the almost tearful moment we left to come home, our stay here was without fault. Reading the past reviews makes you believe that you can't please all the people all the time, but I can truly state we enjoyed our stay so much we are already planning next years visit.
Clearwater beach is only 10 to 15 minutes away, Honeymoon Island, Dunedin, Safety Harbour, St. Petersburg and Tampa all local travelling , easily inside the hour. I recommend Lowry Park zoo in Tampa.
The room was very good. An upstairs room overlooking the pool, the view through the trees and past the waterfall was idyllic. Maid service every day, the room was spacious and very clean. I found out too late that we could have had a fridge complimentary, but I'll save that until next time. The air-con was superb if a little noisy (that's not a complaint, it was acceptable)
All the staff, without exception were friendly and I thought genuinely happy, such is the atmosphere around here. David was always cheerful and very helpful, as were the whole staff.
I could go on to the point of boring, but in a nutshell I am looking to our next visit already with the emphasis that we won't be looking to stay anywhere else but here

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Battpack2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beki L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Next time you plan your trip my way please email me at beki.lewie@hilton.com so I can make sure that we reserve that fridge for you. We have a limited supply of movable fridge's on property and I will do everything I can to make sure your get one. Thanks again and have an awesome rest of the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovely Midwest
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We loved this hotel! It took a few extra minutes because we had trouble locating it due to construction (we were on Hwy 19 and the hotel was on the frontage road) but as soon as we walked into the lobby we were relieved. The lobby and breakfast area is very well maintained. We were given a room on the first floor right by the pool and when traveling with kids that was wonderful. I called the morning we were traveling and asked for a refrigerator so one was in our room when we arrived. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean and well maintained. The pool area was very nice as well.

Even with the road construction, the hotel is in a great location. Close to dining, Walmart, Target and 15 minutes from the beach.

Room Tip: First floor room on the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2kids4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beki L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Clearwater Central, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us. I remember the days I was traveling with small children and the relief that just comes over you when you arrive to a hotel and it was everything you could have ever asked for. Our staff really try to make every guests stay a great one because we ourselves know what it is like to go on vacation and not get the best service or cleanliness room. I am glad our efforts paid off. We hope to see you again very soon and just remember to call and ask for that fridge and poolside room on your next visit. If we can provide it we will make sure you get it each time. Have an awesome summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Clearwater Central
La Quinta Clearwater Central
#33 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#19 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Clearwater
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Clearwater Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Clearwater Central

Property: Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
Address: 21030 US Highway 19 North, Clearwater, FL 33765
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#26 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Clearwater Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Clearwater Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing