We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in St Pete area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South
Ranked #67 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
A TripAdvisor Member
New Oleans LA
1
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel several times and it has always been perfect. It so nice to have someplace to stay where you don't have to worry . soooo relaxing. I have also come here with my husband and we both have the same opinion that it is a great hotel. Everything is clean, the breakfast is great and the people are friendly and helpful.

Joan

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 319 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Had a very nice room. Clean. / Love the waffle for breakfast. / We were right near 19 so we could get where we wanted quick (heard highway)/ Nice pool clean (small). Nice whirlpool. Nice General Manager.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I am very pleased with the service of this hotel. it is close to the interstates and the Manager is awesome. We really enjoyed our stay and felt very welcomed, this is a very clean and organized hotel with a full breakfast bar which is a new experienced for us especially for the price we paid. We definitely will return.

Room Tip: talk to the manager for he is very honest as to the upstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melvin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Huge breakfast area. They change the meat and eggs up each morning. Superb cleaning, front desk, and breakfast staff. Pool, spa, and gym were amazingly clean. Rooms are HUGE with amazing amenities. Great location. Mr. Patel checks on all the guests in the breakfast area each morning. Nice swivel TV. I couldn't find something wrong with this hotel if I tried! My husband, myself, and our 9 month old Sheep Dog (who stays free!) was here for a week and enjoyed every second of it. Quaker Steak & Lube behind it was amazing. Anything you could possibly need is a stones throw from the hotel. Amazing rates. STAY HERE!

PS: Everyone says that this wasn't built as a LaQuinta...WRONG! Ask the manager like I did. LaQuinta paid Wyndham to build this location and add all the nice updates and upgrades. Hotel is only 1 year old too.

Room Tip: Quiet AC, no noise coming from US 19, elevator is quick and nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoTideWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

When you come to the Tampa Bay area NOT looking for a hotel near the beaches you have got a wide range of choices. Having staid at a La Quinta in Clearwater a few years back (which has obviously aged a lot since then) we decided to try a different one in the same area. Our first challenge was getting there. The official address is on US-19, DIRECTLY on US-19. Lucky for us there wasn't too much traffic as we pulled over to the side of the road and turned into a small driveway which leads to the hotel and a couple of other buildings. It was only later that day that we learned of a second route using the parking lot for some shops at the next intersection. But once you know where it is you actually can't miss it.
The building doesn't seem to be an original La Quinta, but it looks nicely maintained on the outside. The lobby is spacious and is directly adjacent to a large breakfast area - compliments, finally a hotel with enough room in that area. They guy at the front desk was very friendly and pointed out all the amenities, everything you need to know as a guest. When we entered our room my initial thought was "best hotel on this trip". The furniture looks new, it's the new La Quinta style with dark wood. It all looked neat, nice carpet, nicely made beds, all very comfortable. The only thing we immediately spotted made us smile because it just seemed a little sloppy: while re-decorating they obviously moved some pictures around, you could still see their old positions by the lighter shade on the walls. Nothing serious I guess...just about as harmless as the A/C that did some strange noises when it was on, but then again, so do many others as well, nothing I can really rate this hotel by. What is more serious and truly disappointing: this hotel needs better pest control, DEAR MANAGEMENT please get better pest control. We had a room on the upper floor and the first thing we noticed was a single ant by the window. Well, nothing too bad, happens all the time, crawls up the building, through the A/C, deal with it. Yup, we did, and we did with the other three or four we found. But the more we looked around into the corners, the more living things we found - nothing that would eventually drive us out of our room, but enough to feel annoyed and a little uncomfortable. I guess finding things in our bed would have done it, but all we saw was some more ant-like things on the desk and around the bathroom door, as if they were hiding in or beneath the carpet.
Our night was mostly quiet - 'mostly' because there was a family/group with kids living on the same floor as us that apparently occupied more than one room. And as is with all hotel rooms, nobody feels the need to quietly close doors. We've had worse, children actually playing in the hallway, it wasn't that bad, but you still had to wait for them to go to sleep (which they fortunately did before 11PM) before it became quiet. I don't know if they were permanent guests or not, but we kind of got the impression. Apart from the door slamming the hotel was quiet - not too many guests judging by the parking lot, even though the price seemed very competitive. In the morning we could hear the highway outside our window, not disturbing, but it could be heard.
The next morning we used the business center to print some baseball tickets. We had some trouble with the printer and got into chatting with the guy at the front desk who was also very open and helpful with the issue.
Overall I have trouble coming up with an adequate rating for this hotel. If it weren't for the ants in our room I would easily go for a 4 just because of the overall appearance and the room layout. But I guess this review should be comprehensive, so I'll go for 3 for now...be your own judge, I would stay again and I would recommend the property to others if I knew I wouldn't run into the same pest control issue again...

Room Tip: Rooms to the front (US-19) are more noisy than those to the back (pond).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aRTie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed for daughters softball tournament. Right off highway for easy access to eating or for a short trip to Clearwater beach. The Staff was fantastic. Always asked how the team was progressing and made sure everything we asked for was received.
Rooms have basic double beds which are kinda small for 2 adults but have a comfortable padded top that makes them comfortable. Rooms were always cleaned and maid service was great working around our crazy schedule.
Breakfast was not real exciting. Same thing every day but was hot and kept full during the breakfast hours. Behind the hotel is a place called Quaker Wings and Lube, I think. It has a great variety of food. Many other eating places just south on HY 19.
Always felt safe at this La Quinta. Thanks La Quinta for making our stay great!

Room Tip: We were on the back side of hotel so not sure if traffic noise from HY 19 was an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItMattersToMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Excellent place to stay if visiting family and friends. Nice pool area, excellent king suite. Real nice lobby. Would definately stay again. Lots to do in the surrounding area. Q
Quiet. Not Gulf blvfar from the beach and restaurants. Enjoyed Palm Pavillion in Clearwater beach,Jimmy Guana"s off of Gulg Blvd. and Bubba Gump's at John's Pass also off of gulf Blvd. Nice beach on the gulf.Lots of shopping for tourists especially at John's Pass.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank 353judyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
7.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#40 of 98 in Clearwater
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#44 of 98 in Clearwater
228 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 98 in Clearwater
403 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater East - Icot Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South

Address: 5000 Lake Blvd, 49th Street Bridge & Highway 19, Clearwater, FL 33760-5000 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Clearwater)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range: £71 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Wyndham Clearwater
Clearwater Wyndham
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing