We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater
Ranked #53 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My family and I were going to see the Yankees at Tropicana Field and wanted to make a weekend of it so I looked for Marriott hotels in the area. I really like TownePlace Suites because the 2 bedroom units are very roomy and every room has a TV. I read some of the reviews and was a little hesitant, but Marriott has never let me down before so I decided to stick with my reservations. I am so glad I did not listen to the negative reviews.

Would I stay here for a weeklong vacation with my family, not if I had small children because there is not a lot in the immediate area to occupy them. But for a long weekend, or traveling with older teens and adults, this is a really good place.

The hotel is clean and this location offers a deluxe continental breakfast (most TownPlace Suites do not offer breakfast - continental or otherwise). The staff are very friendly, professional and responsive. Check-in was a breeze and about 15 minutes after I left the front desk I received a call from the front desk. The staff was just checking to see if everything was OK and if we needed anything to help us settle in.

For those not familiar with TownPlace Suites, the rooms are suite style which means they offer sitting and cooking areas. The types are studio, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom. The 1 and 2 bedrooms have small kitchens with full size refrigerators, stove top and oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, pots, pans, dishes...you get the picture...and a dishwasher. These units also have a living room with a sleeper sofa.

Our unit was updated with flat screen TVs in the living room and both bedrooms. The units come with one bathroom that has the sink/toiletry area separated from the commode and bathtub/shower area by a door that locks. For longer stays the kitchen area is a real money saver. The beds are very comfortable, although my husband prefers much softer mattresses. The bedding is very nice and they offer plenty of pillows.

TownePlace Suites also offer a laundry room and fitness room. There is also an outdoor pool with a grill nearby.

The location was great for us, not too far off the 275 and right off 688. Of course if you are looking for a scenic stay this is not it. But it does have easy drive access to the beaches (straight down 688) at a very affordable price. We made it to Clearwater Beach in about 25 minutes and that included time waiting to park at the beach. It is also easy access to Tampa and Busch Gardens.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to spend a long weekend at a location not too far from the beaches or historic St. Petersburg. Also good for someone going to Tropicana Field, like us, and wanting to make a getaway out of it. Families with small children may want to go elsewhere because of its proximity to the highways and lack of activities for children.

Townplace Suites are also pet firendly for an additional $100.00, non-refundable deposit.

Room Tip: The two bedroom units sleep 4 - 6 and are always at the end of the corridors, so no noisy neighbors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OviedoFLTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor! It's always nice to hear great feedback about your recent stay.

Our location is fantastic if you have many activities planned throughout the area. In the fall of 2012, we upgraded the beds and installed the flat screen televisions. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed the upgraded. In the fall of 2013, the hotel will under go a complete renovation. We are so excited about this and the finished product is going to be fabulous!!!!

If you get back to the Clearwater area, I hope that you will stay with us again!

Warm Regards.
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

This hotel was located relatively close to a prison across from a school. That in and of itself should convey that the location of this hotel was poor and more or less in the middle of nowhere. It was much longer to the beach than appeared. Although a 2 bedroom suite, it was quite cramped. As an understatement, the pull-out bed was excruciating. To put it kindly, the breakfast was spartan. The room had not exactly been cleaned on our arrival and the empty bottles that we found under the end table upon arrival were still there when we checked out.

Bottom line, the rate was about twice what it should have been.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DearthFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you did not like our location due to the proximatey to the Pinellas County Court House. I can assure that our area is very safe and extremely popular due to the easy access to I-275 and the three main bridges.

If you get back to the Clearwater area, I hope that you will stay with us again!

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

having spent four hundred dollars on a three night stay I have spent 2 hours since 7 am listening to a whining barking dog two rooms away it is audable outside and to reception but no action , they have alowed me to change rooms but the problem still exists for all other guests. suposidly a quality hotel ? Why would it have doggy rooms with nuisance certainly no place to go for a holiday unless you are a dog.

Room Tip: avoid the ones near the pool constant cild noise outside the window only come with a dog its on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blue23uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Please accept my sincere apologies in regards to the barking dog. As a pet friendly hotel, we try very hard to please all our guests; with and without dogs. We greatly appreciate your business and sad that we did not meet your expectations.

If you get back to the Clearwater area, I hope that you will give us another chance.

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We were in Clearwater for a few Spring Training game, and we greatly enjoyed the TownePlace Suites. It was clean, comfortable, and fairly roomy. The location was a real plus - convenient to Clearwater and the ballpark, yet close to the bridge to Tampa and accessible to St. Petersburg.

The only minor issues we had were with the bathrooms - the toilet flush was acting a bit wonky (but easily overcome), and the showers are way too short. If you are over 6 feet tall (OK, maybe 5'10") you will have to be a contortionist to use the shower.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJE1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
It is always nice to hear that your stay was enjoyable! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.

If you get back to the Clearwater area, I certainly hope that you will stay with us again!

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Very nice two bedroom suite with kitchen. Nice to have three televisions so kids could watch what they wanted when it was raining outside. Liked having the full size refrigerator. Beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BWHClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with TripAdvisor. It is always nice to hear from our guest as it affords us the opportunity to make improvements or highlight our successes with the team.

I am glad to hear that you found our kitchens to be well equipped and made your stay more enjoyable. The beds and flat screen TV's are new and the feedback on both has been amazing.

If you get back to the Clearwater area, please come stay with us again!

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I was thoroughly impressed with every aspect of my stay at the Towneplace Suites St. Petersburg! The clerk who checked me in was very friendly, the bed was super comfortable, and the studio suite was the perfect size for me. Very very clean! I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the lovely review of the hotel and the staff! It is always so nice to hear that we exceeded our guest's expectations. Our hotel has recently made numerous upgrades, which included new beds, flat screen TVs, and new state of the art fitness center.

I have shared your review the entire team. If you get back to the Clearwater area, please come stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This is my third stay at this hotel and it was great, as always! Since my last stay, the hotel got new beds, big flat screens and a fancy new exercise room. The new beds are very comfortable. They offer a nice breakfast with a great cereal selection, fruit and yogurt. The staff is always so helpful and really knows the area well. They always have great recommondations to offer for dining and fun things to do in the area. The kitchen is nice and has all the items needed to prepare a meal.

Room Tip: I love the second building looking at the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review of the hotel. As a repeat guest, it is so nice to know that you noticed all the recent upgrades we havemade. Yes, we recently did replace all of the bedding with the new Marriott Standard, which is rather plush and comfortable. The new fitness center has certainly been a hit with our guest as the equipment is state of the art.

In addition to the aforementioned upgrades, we have also upgraded the cable TV to offer more channels and HD. The pool was also upgraded with new furniture.

If you are back in the Clearwater area and stay with us again, please stop by the front desk and say "Hello". Many thanks for the kind words and your loyatly. I will share your comments with the staff as they always love to hear from our guest.

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton St. Petersburg Clearwater
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
#58 of 98 in Clearwater
199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater

Address: 13200 49th St N, Clearwater, FL 33762-4020
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range: £76 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Towneplace Suites Clearwater
TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing