We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater
Ranked #52 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed 27 June 2007

We had a reservation at this hotel June 15th thru June 17th. We checked in about 9:30pm on Friday June 15th and we headed over to a fast food restaurant for a quick bite after a delayed flight to Tampa. We entered the hotel building around 10:00pm and we noticed a lot of undesirable people hanging aroung the parking lot, the pool area and in the hall ways. As soon as we opened the door to enter the building the whole place smelled like urine. As we proceeded to our the room the urine smell did not get any better. There were cigarette burns in the bathroom and the room and bed were extremely SMALL. This was not a queen size bed. We were only in the room about 2 minutes and we could tell by the noise and smell that we were NOT going to stay here. My husband looked in the local phonebook and we booked a room a few doors down at an even better price than Towenplace and it was much much nicer. I went down to check out and complain and was told we could check out with no "penalties or money due". No "were sorry" or anything. DO YOURSELF A HUGH FAVOR AND AVOID THIS HOTEL !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank love2travel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 167 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
new york
15
Reviewed 7 July 2006

This was a great hotel for the price. My boyfriend and I stayed one friday night after a long flight delay and were pleasantly surprised by the "spanking new" feel of the hotel. Not only was the staff friendly and accomodating, but the rooms were impecably fresh and modern, there was plenty of free parking and most of the rooms offer a small balcony (not large enough to lounge on...but enough space to stand and enjoy a morning cup of coffee). This was a definite steal for the price...as compared to more expensive neighboring hotels that were actually not as nice as the Courtyard. We enjoyed the hotel so much that we stayed an extra night and plan to stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2006

I'd give this about 3.5 bars. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, with 3 kids and 3 adults.

The good: Room was reasonably priced for peak season. Pool was clean. Breakfast was as expected. Location is nothing special, but it was a safe area and is "about 20-30 minutes" away from everything (Clearwater Beach, Fort DeSoto Park, 30-35 minutes to Busch Gardens). There is an internet access computer in the lobby, and site has free in room internet via a wireless kit you get from the front desk.

Not as good: If you are clean freak, FORGET about this place. Once you know pets are welcome, you should reduce your expecations accordingly. I could have sworn I could smell pets from two floors below us. After a day there, either the pet left or my nose got accustomed to it. With three young kids, we aren't as particular as others might be.

General:
This place reminds me of a scaled back version of the Courtyard by Marriot hotels- same 3 floor structure (elevators everywhere), but instead of full service and hot breakfast, expect minimum service and continental breakfast. No seating area for breakfast tells you that this is not really a fancy place (they don't mind at all if you carry your breakfast back to the room). Expect two cereals, yogurt, packaged muffins / danish, bagels, and some hard boiled eggs. They do have a juice machine which is open 24 hours, so your kids can get apple/orange juice at any hour of the night.

In the suite rooms, they have two l bedrooms (one large and one very small) plus a small living room with a sofa bed. I wouldn't recommend the sofa bed for anyone but small kids- it suited us fine cause the kids are flyweights.

The kitchenette came in handy- fridge was filled up with juices and snacks; there are dishes and silverware which is convenient. We never cooked on the range but used the microwave a couple of times.

Considering that this is a "category 1" hotel in the Marriot rewards system- it's decent. It is not, however, ever going to be confused with the Clearwater Sands Marriot. Good for budget-minded travelers with kids who want a safe place and are willing to drive everywhere. Not recommended for people who need pristine conditions, or want to be near the main attractions.

Caveat: I stay predominantly in Marriot hotels- I suppose their loyalty program has locked me in...

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AC2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
CENTRAL VALLEY
15
Reviewed 4 March 2006

For starters: customer service including management-horrible horrible horrible,room smells, carpet dirty.This place should not be a Marriott brand. Don't do it! stay away!!you will be disappointed!We had to leave shortly after our check in-it was so bad.
Go to residence inn in Oldsmar not to far away excellent Hotel, very clean, outstanding customer service there not here at the clowneplace(Towneplace).

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2003

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in July. The room was comfortable enough, but smelled like "ramen noodle" the entire time, even after we told housekeeping the problem and asked to have the room sprayed. The twice-a-week cleaning service was not enough to keep the place fresh and clean. When housekeeping did "refresh" the room, they just brought new towels and sheets to us, made our bed, but did not do much else. No cleaning, no matter how minor!! The hotel is in an industrial part of town and there's not much scenery around it. The beach is about 25 minutes away and so was downtown St. Petersburg. The complimentary breakfast was extremely basic and unexciting. Pre-wrapped muffins and danish, bottled juices, machined coffee (terrible!), and some bananas or apples. After trying it the first day, I went without breakfast from then on! There's a small pool that was frequently used by the guests, mostly the children. Overall, since we had a good rate, the hotel was good enough for our stay. But nothing more!

15  Thank HappyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Viviana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank oelore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater East - Icot Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton St. Petersburg Clearwater
1.5 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater
7.4 mi away
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater

Address: 13200 49th St N, Clearwater, FL 33762-4020
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range: £90 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Towneplace Suites Clearwater
TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing