We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good stay at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Ranked #61 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I travel alot and stay in a lot of Candlewood Suites. I was so excited to see that there was one in Clearwater, as I am in the area at least once a month. It was a complete disappointment. The staff was so unfriendly and their night staff looked like I had woke him up when I checked in around midnight. He didn't explain anything about the property to me, basically just handed me the keys. I had to ask how to get to my room! The room was dirty. I had to clean the bathroom and kitchen before I could use it. We went to the pool the next day and it was AWFUL! My daughter didnt want to move in the pool because it was so dirty. We checked out a pool towel and when we went to open it at the pool, it had some type of brown substance on it. It was hideous! When I took it to the front desk agent, all he said was, "Sorry". Seriously??? I will NEVER stay here again and dont recommend it for anyone, whether traveling with family or on business.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

Looks recently renovated. Clean rooms with nice finishes. Low pet fees. Not in the most scenic neighborhood but I guess it caters to business travelers rather than pleasure seekers. Staff helpful if a bit impersonal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Earthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I stayed at this hotel on three different occasions as I was searching to purchase a house in the area. On my third stay, I booked online, through Expedia, Travelocity or Hotwire--can't recall which, but the transaction was NOT done through Candlewood's reservation system. I checked in the hotel, stayed six nights, and when I went to my room on the seventh day, my key wouldn't work. I went down to the front desk, and was told that my reservation was for six days, not seven. I booked the hotel after I'd booked my flight, so I know that I needed seven nights stay. It must have been a typo. At any rate, the front desk attendant told me that I would have to pay FULL price for the room for the seventh night, which was $40.00 MORE per night than I'd paid for the previous six nights. I felt given the fact I'd stayed there for a total of 21 nights during the past two months, it would have been common courtesy to offer me the last night at the same price. She refused and so I ended up paying the additional $40.00. I have NOT stayed at Candlewood again, I would not advise people to support a business that doesn't care about customer loyalty. I now stay at the Comfort Inn and Suites down the road, and have found their hotel much cleaner and more importantly the staff more courteous and professional.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
2  Thank EllieMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

Arrived late, stroppy blue finger nailed staff forced us to pay $25 just incase we got up in the night & took food from a self service shop (that relied on your honesty & filing in a form to say what you had taken & then paying in the morning).
We opened the door to our room & it was obviously unmade, we thought someone was actually in there!
Our second room was great, clean, well equipped, perhaps the best to date.
We did get our deposit back the next day & morning staff much better.
The deposit thing would put us off using this chain again, or at least the way its staff enforce it like drones.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabatical14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Booked a trip thru travel agent for king size no smoking. When we get there they tell us all we have is a smoking double. After arguing and calling out travel ageant,we are told. Well you should have booked it thru our site. Your non smoking would have been guaranteed then. The corporate office told us that threu a travel agent they only guarantee a room not the choice of the people coming to stay. Guess I do not have to say. I will never stay at a Candlewood Suites or any Holiday Inn affiliated Hotel ever again.

Room Tip: If you want a good tip. Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hokies13vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Booked one night to stay in Clearwater and then planned on going to Bradenton. Newly furnished room and kitchen was so nice and clean. The kitchen even had a dishwaher. There were free washers and dryers, an exercise room, and an honor pantry where you could buy soda, candy, popcorn, frozen foods, ice cream... all at VERY reasonable prices. We decided to stay an extra 2 days and cancel our other reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethandSteve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

My husband, dog, and I had been driving for about 16 hours moving down here. We arrived about 4:30am, too early to check in and unable to even recline our seats because our car was so packed. The first attendant told us to check back after 7 (although I didn't explain our situation to him). When we came back at 7 am the new attendant was so nice. She gave us a card and said to call at 10. We watched the sunrise over Clearwater Beach despite our exhaustion and came back at 10. She worked us into a room right away! The studio suite is perfect complete even with dish towels, Rubbermaid containers, a pitcher and even a dishwasher. There is a common cupboard with food for the taking, with an honor based charge system. (Who has something like that anymore?) There are plenty of feee washers and dryers. The rooms have been remodeled this year and are up to date, clean and well furnished!! The staff is very friendly and helpful! The owner seems to be thoughtful and caring. There is even a radio in the fitness room. Our AAA rate made this the cheapest option available (pet friendly). I would very highly recommend this extended stay hotel and I'm picky!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allabouttravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#38 of 98 in Clearwater
366 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 98 in Clearwater
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater East - Icot Center
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Clearwater

Address: 13231 49th St N, Clearwater, FL 33762-4015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £62 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Clearwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Clearwater hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay. Studio room has one queen size bed and all have a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the over stuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our on site fitness center or heated outdoor pool. Visit our Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers, you can earn Priority Club Rewards Points for each qualifying stay We are centrally located and easy access to Interstate 75, Tampa International Airport, and the St. Petersburg Clearwater International Airport Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel is only 15 minutes away from the beautiful Gulf of Mexico Beaches!. Busch Gardens and Adventure Island are popular area attractions to visit. We are a pet friendly hotel with a non-refundable pet fee - $15 for 1 first night $10 for each additional night capped at $150 for duration of stay. Two pets less than 80 lbs. Per suite . Pet agreement must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Candlewood Clearwater
Clearwater Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Clearwater Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing