We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay 1/11-1/13 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Ranked #57 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Rooms are clean and well equipped. A bit musty though. Do not count on the pool as it is not heated at all. Staff is very helpful. Having a free laundry is a plus. Over all good for the money.
Request the 3rd floor due to noise!

Room Tip: 3rd floor for noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Myself and my wife stayed on thursday (01/09/14 and Saturday 01/11/14. Both times we thought the rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful. The only issue we have is that they charge your debit card, 25.00 for cupboard use. I explained that i don't use the facilities, but they still tie up your cash.

Other than that it was a pleasant experience, also the exercise room was awesome!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clifford A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed in late December at the Candlewood Suites in Clearwater after reading positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately, this is not a hotel we would stay at again. We inquired about upgrading to a one bedroom which is what we thought we had booked, however we were refused, even though there was apparent availability online. (Note: online explanation of the rooms can be confusing). The rooms are well furnished, however the cleaning appears not to be as thorough as expected particularly around the edges of the room and in the corners. The hallways are narrow and not very bright. There is no breakfast because these units are designed for extended stay and contain a full kitchen and required accouterments to prepare meals. The check in experience was ok, however the entrance and lobby area are very tiny and cramped and lower the initial perception of the facility. Overall, this is not a hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perpetualtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear perpetualtravel,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel has 2 room types, studio suites and one bedroom suites. What they fail to inform guests of is if they book a "standard suite", they will end up just paying an inflated price for a studio suite. This is coercion!

The room standard was poor. Ancient fittings, smelly, old and noisy fridges. There was a lot of noise all night from upstairs and communal areas.

On arrival into the room it was dirty, with faeces in the toilet from the previous guest. Sheets were also stained. Felt so horrible being in such an awful place that checked out 2 days early.

Regularly use Holiday Inns, am very surprised that they allow such a franchise to tarnish their name. Will avoid candlewood suites in the future as there is no brand consistency between locations.


I strongly advise people reading this review to book another nearby hotel (there are many in the area at a similar price) as this hotel is barely fit for human habitation.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank victairinternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Victairinternational,

I appreciate that you took the time to review our property. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations on this visit. I have sent you a private message to discuss. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Booked hotel with last minute dot com. Paid extra for standard suite with two rooms as per website on ihg and last minute dot com only find that the type of room did not vary from the cheaper room
Slight musty smell in room although very clean. Staying for three nights it seem good value

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Jeffrey K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow us to apologize for the challenges you had in making your reservations online and the unusual smell of the room you received did not live up to your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Excellent, clean, newly renovated, modern, exceptional staff very roomy. Staff went out over there way to assist me in my future booking with Hotels.com. This the first time I have tipped a clerk at a hotel.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Excellent services, rooms are very modern and exceptionally roomy. Very clean. Staff was very helpfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The property seems to be right on the line between a good part of town and a bad part of town, which concerned us a bit when we saw a couple of people loitering near the entrance.
I suppose the price reflects this so you get what you pay for.

Inside the staff was nice and I was surprised at how nice the room looked. The kitchen was convenient and everything was nicely decorated. However, there was a very strong musty, moldy smell every time we opened the door to the room. The smell did not match how the room looked -- as if someone had carpeted over a moldy floor and remodeled with no regard to actual condition of the room.

The fire detector in our room kept beeping and we had to tell management about it twice, but it was resolved after the second time.

Overall would recommend for a brief stay (even though this is an extended stay property.)
They also allow dogs, which is nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hhols2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#40 of 98 in Clearwater
355 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 98 in Clearwater
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater East - Icot Center
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central
9.0 mi away
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Clearwater

Address: 13231 49th St N, Clearwater, FL 33762-4015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £67 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Clearwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Clearwater hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay. Studio room has one queen size bed and all have a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the over stuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our on site fitness center or heated outdoor pool. Visit our Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers, you can earn Priority Club Rewards Points for each qualifying stay We are centrally located and easy access to Interstate 75, Tampa International Airport, and the St. Petersburg Clearwater International Airport Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel is only 15 minutes away from the beautiful Gulf of Mexico Beaches!. Busch Gardens and Adventure Island are popular area attractions to visit. We are a pet friendly hotel with a non-refundable pet fee - $15 for 1 first night $10 for each additional night capped at $150 for duration of stay. Two pets less than 80 lbs. Per suite . Pet agreement must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Candlewood Clearwater
Clearwater Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Clearwater Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing