We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mom and Pop!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clearwater - CLOSED

Clearwater
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mom and Pop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Pete and Shorty's is one of the best little secrets on the main drag to get to Clearwater Beach. It is a block away from the original Hooters and is the best! A quaint nothing fancy bar and restaurant where you can get bar food, great specials, and comfort food like meatloaf, Shephard's pie and macaroni and cheese. The best.....Shorty Burgers. Our family orders at least a dozen each time we go, and that is at least 3 times in the week we go for Spring Break. Embarassingly enough, we also sneak home extras in our suitcase for the flight and ride home!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenJ1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“RUMBA, a tropical beach patio restaurant in the heart of Clearwater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

When I want to enjoy a tropical patio atmosphere with a live steel drum musician and fresh seafood, but I don't want to drive all the way to the beach, I go to Rumba in Clearwater. They have the best fresh Ahi Tuna, Jalepeno and Guac nachos! They are a must try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nullequation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Leary, PEI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Spent a few hours just walking on the beach at Clearwater beach in April 2013. Beautiful white sand, warm water and palm trees. My heaven. We then drove down the coast as far as st. Petersburg beach and I have decided that my next holiday will be in this region. Beautiful color everywhere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mays Landing
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“VUNDEBAR!! German Bistro 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

My husband and I and our 2 friends haded out to the new restaurant, German Bistro 2, wondering what we would find. We found a gem in a strip mall! It was friendly from the minute we walked in. We were offered free wine and beer because they didn't have a liquor license. Have you ever received such hospitality? In a restaurant? The menue was pure German and the food was excellent. We all loved the schnitszels, red cabbage, sauerkraut, dumplings and the apple strudel was just like my Mother and Grandmother made. The restaurant was veryated and clean and the atmosphere was one of fun and good will. We left knowing that we would be back many times, especially since Lee promised us free apple strudel when we returned.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jivicarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Beautiful place, love the food...everything was amazing there. had a lot of fun, i always take my family when they come from overseas or from the north. they love it

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clearwater also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing