We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good start to vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver bc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good start to vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Travelling with friend from vancouver, she actually booked 3 nights through RCI. Resort was very well kept, tidy gardens , litter free, quiet & friendly, helpful staff. Apartment was spacious, clean & all we required.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwise36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,639
    2,670
    1,169
    393
    371
See reviews for
5,844
1,373
106
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were staying at Summer Bay for our honeymoon recently. I had already read reviews about the sales pitch to buy a timeshare, and we had decided we were going to be a firm no. Upon arrival, you check in and are given your parking permit, which then has to be validated at the concierge desk, which is just a ploy to get you there so they can sell the timeshare pitch. We were ready to say no, and then we were told that it would be 90 minutes (which I doubted), but at the end, we'd be given $100 either towards park tickets (which we already had) or on a MasterCard, so we decided to go. First you get to enjoy the plastic complimentary breakfast. Then we were made to wait until a salesperson arrived. Turned out, the guy who took us around said he was really a vice president and didn't normally do the sales pitch (which was a lie, because we saw him again during the week taking people around). He was very nice until it got to the actual pitch back at the Preview Center. We asked about cost, and he said "I'm not gonna lie, it's expensive", but he wasn't the numbers guy, so he went to the salesman. Came back with some numbers, and as soon as we said no, he got very nasty to us. Then, of course, the sales guy comes back and tries to work us a deal. We told him it sounded good, but we would need a few days to talk about it. His response was that Florida real estate law requires we accept then, because they can't offer the deal later. Are you kidding me???

Then we told him we were leaving and wanted our $100 MasterCard so they sent us to the place to get our gift. Turns out, the $100 could only be used retail - no restaurants, no gas, etc. We were never told there were restrictions - deceptive practices to get you in for the sales pitch, which, by the way, took 2 1/2 hrs., not 90 minutes. BOTTOM LINE, DO NOT GO FOR THE SALES PITCH! IT'S NOT WORTH YOUR TIME.

With that said, the resort is beautiful. We were in a 400 building, which was an older unit, but it was still very nice. They have plenty of activities, particularly if you have kids. The pools are very nice, but the lake/beach was a little disappointing.

The room we had - and I believe most of the rooms - have kitchens. If you plan to cook, it's probably a good idea because eating right on the premises isn't that great. Of course, if you leave the resort and drive down 192, you'll find every restaurant imaginable.,

I would definitely recommend the resort, but say no to the sales pitch! It will ruin your day!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phillyfilly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Canada
Level Contributor
329 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We spent a week in the 500 building. We all loved the activities and the unit was clean and spacous.

The kids loved the pools, the activities, especially holding the alligator.

The beach was a disappointment, but the rest was great value and we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NovaScotiagirl-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stay here every year for our annual WDW trip. We book through AFVC so the value is unbeatable. But the resort is amazing. It's not in the busy part of the area so it's quiet and kind of a hidden gem. So many activities and things to do at the resort that we never get to do them all. Condo Rooms are huge with everything you need. Rooms are always clean and well lit. Never have had any issues staying here. We will be back next year. Great place for kids or for adults with no kids. Pools everywhere. Tiki bar. Lots to do. Only takes 10 mins to get to main entrance of WDW.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ecu_jmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Alright, probably my own fault - Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me. Stayed three years ago on a timeshare tour, promised one of the new condos, but stuck in one of the old villas (no private patio just plastic chairs outside front door, had to deal with neighbors smoking outside of their's with smoke wafting into our villa). Of course now that Villa is in a sinkhole. Very hard timeshare sell by slimy sales manager, kept us waiting way too long after finally saying no numerous times. Didn't feel that I was treated nicely at all. Sales rep and sales mgr seemed to have little inside jokes at my and my wife's expense.

Fast forward a year and two days after returning from Florida (stayed at Mystic Dunes, great resort), get a call from Summer Bay inviting me back the next summer (a year later). This time I was very specific and voiced my concerns from a year ago. I was promised in writing one of the new condos, was offered a great price ($560 for 7 nights) so I couldn't pass it up. This is a nice resort even though it is far down the 192 corridor and takes forever to get back after a long day at the parks, especially if you go to Universal and not Disney. A year later and after driving 1,000 miles from home, we check in only to be told I'm in a Villa again. I show him my email stating that I was promised a new condo and the front desk manager states that the timeshare people can't offer those. I was told there was nothing he could do knowing that with a car loaded down with my family and suitcases - what am going to do. I had to get very ugly with him and the sales desk associates, something that I didn't like having to do and it made me look like the bad guy in front of all the other guests checking in.

The front desk manager finally found us a room in the new condos, but it was a handicap accessible room. Many of the amenities found in the condo we had to tour were not in this room. No large vanity in the master bath. Worse part, no door separating the toilet from the bed - real nice since my wife likes to read in bed and there I am sitting down with my pants around my ankles waving "Hi Hon" - real romantic!!!!!

Summer Bay is off my list and I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
224 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The staff are friendly and check in is easy. The condos are great. Each one is complete with full kitchen, appliances, two tvs, micro. There is a main pool and satellite pools all over the place. There is a small restaurant and two great tiki bars. This place is great for kids. There is a water park for the kids. The vegetation is lush. This is also close to all of the Orlando theme parks. We will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sctmster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This place is great! The grounds with like 5 pools and a huge lake were just a fraction of what this resort offers. We could have not done anything in the area and been very happy with the many things to do at this resort. We spent many days just relaxing at the pools, grilling out, shopping the roadside fruit and veggie stands and just soaking up Florida outside of Disneyworld. Of course we enjoyed our time there too but the resort was just amazing. I highly recommend going to this resort for safe, enjoyable stays.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clermont
0.1 mi away
Crown Club Inn Orlando By Exploria Resorts
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Maingate West
Quality Inn Maingate West
#6 of 17 in Clermont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Caribe Royale All Suite Hotel & Convention Center
11.2 mi away
Floridays Resort Orlando
Floridays Resort Orlando
#20 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,710 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Property: Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando by Exploria Resorts has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando's world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we've got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot(R), Magic Kingdom(R) Park or Universal Studios Florida(R).Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts Florida/Clermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing