We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vacation overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I would have rated this resort as an average but my daughter and I came as guests of my significant other's annual family vacation. And we really did enjoy ourselves. The resort grounds are beautiful, but I felt there was a little nickle and diming. I mean, $12 a day per child for playing on a few inflatable rafts on a lake is a bit much. Maybe half that amount, if you had to charge, considering most people coming here are families and have a number of children. We had a party of 18 - again, almost half were children and they certainly didn't want to spend an entire day on the lake. That's one thing. Another is that for the amount of people we had, we rented four 2-3 bedroom units. Two of the three bedroom lockouts were really nice, clean and sunny. However, comparing those to the two bedroom units at the villas we had across the street was, as one staff member informed us, like comparing round steak to a filet. Hmmm, a bit of truth there, although we in the villa units really preferred our room layouts more than the newer models. One complaint: The villa units, at least ours, had a musty smell everytime you entered the room...maybe it was the carpet. Our villa also seemed a tiny bit rundown, albeit clean. We did take advantage of the free shuttles to DisneyWorld, although it would have been nice to have a second shuttle or bigger bus available as there were quite a number of people waiting and there's only so much standing room available, especially travelling the 9 or so miles to Disney. The resort staff was pleasant and accommodating, One other complaint: in booking these rooms, we were under the earlier impression that the zip-lining, rock climbing, etc. addition to the resort would be completed by June 9th. That was not the case...in fact, it doesn't even appear that the ground hasn't even been broken to complete this newest phase. This laissez faire attitude continues onto the poolside activites such as dueling pianos. Yes, it rained as it does each night we were there, but couldn't the resort have a Plan B to assure a safe covering or alternate site for these nightly activities? Just a thought. All in all, and despite these few setbacks, we really did enjoy our stay. BTW the flat screen TV's are great!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toadsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerBayResorts, Manager at Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We're glad to hear that Summer Bay Orlando exceeded your expectations and that you and your daughter REALLY ENJOYED yourselves.

Summer Bay Orlando features a collection of four distinctively different accommodations types, having been developed at different timeframes, therefore featuring different floor plans. A renovation of resort accommodations is currently underway which will bring a fresh new look, smell, and feel to our guests.

The Adventure Park remains scheduled to open this summer and we'll continue to provide updates as available. Follow us on Facebook and watch for the latest updates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,862 - 8,868 of 10,165 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We are just finishing up our one week stay at Summer Bay and we have enjoyed it very much. The 2 bedroom villa that we rented is very spacious with plenty of room for the 4 of us. The beds are comfortable and we were supplied with everything we needed to start out with. ie: paper towels, dish soap, toilet paper, etc. The room was well stocked with dishes, towels, pans, etc. and at no time did we ever need more than what was provided. The pools are great, but a little crowded on the week-ends. At the club house pool we found that nobody sat in the kids pool area so we always parked there and it was much quieter. The first day we ate at the Loretta's Italian Restaurant by the club pool. Do not eat there unless you like microwaved Chicken Parm! There are many restaurants all along Highway 192 that are a way better choice. The only other thing is do not believe them when they ask you to go to their time share presentation and they tell you it is about 1 to 1 1/2 hours. We were there for 3 1/2 hours! We did get $100.00 in gift cards that could be used at Red Lobster, Olive Garden and any other Darden Restaurant. Not a bad deal but I just want you to know what you're getting into. All in all, Summer Bay was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We were in building 107 which was close to the club house pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerBayResorts, Manager at Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your compliments! Yes, Summer Bay Orlando is a GREAT place for families!

Your recommendation to others is our highest compliment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Heard doors opening and closing (more like slamming) all night if it wasn't from the room next to us, it was down the hall......very loud. Pillows weren't very good to sleep on. Room smelled a bit awkward when we first arrived and was a little outdated.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerBayResorts, Manager at Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

A $14 million dollar, 2-year renovation project was launched earlier this year and is the largest resort renovation project of its kind to date at Summer Bay Orlando. Scheduled for completion in 2015, all 500+ units will be completely refurbished!

Fresh spaces for your return visit next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The resort is nice, and very typical of timeshare resorts. The location is a bit further away (west) from the Disney attractions than I thought.

The 2 main complaints that I had about the resort were:

1) The resort provides free shuttle rides to the main attractions. These shuttles (small buses)were extremely overcrowded, and it is uncomfortable and unsafe to ride in them. People were sitting no each other's laps and stacked like sardines standing up on the small bus. People were falling over when the shuttle came to a stop or turned. The shuttles only leave the resort a few times in the morning, and only go to one attraction. If it transports you to a Disney attraction, you can take another shuttle from one Disney attraction to the others. One evening the line leaving Disney World Magic Kingdom was so long to board the shuttle to go back to the resort, a few families were left at the Magic Kingdom. and the next shuttle bus would not respond to pick them up for a 2 hours. I went to the front desk to complain about this, and the desk clerk volunteered to take my number and call me back to speak with me about it. That manager never returned my call. If you stay at the resort, either arrive early to catch the uncomfortable shuttle, or I would just recommend paying the $17 parking fees at the Disney attractions like Magic Kingdom, Animal Kingdom, Epcot etc.

2) My second complaint is that the resort charges a fees for you to use their beach on their small private lake?? I didn't understand that. Also, they charge very high unreasonable fees to rent things like jet skis to use on the lake.

If you are using your timeshare points, I would recommend that you look for a resort that is closer to the main attractions (further east or northeast from this resort), and I would also see if other resorts offer better shuttle service to the main attractions that run more frequently and are less crowded.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BeachSlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerBayResorts, Manager at Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Please note that there is NO FEE to access the picturesque lakeside beach at Summer Bay Orlando. This area is open to all guests who are welcome to walk the shoreline and enjoy the shaded seating area and lounge chairs. There is a small fee for the full day enjoyment of the Aqua Park featuring numerous climbing, jumping, and all-around fun water features. The Aqua Park is open daily from 10am - Sunset, weather permitting.

Jet ski rentals are very popular with our guests. A recent survey of area rental fees at other resort locations indicated that the 64-acre spring-fed lake at Summer Bay Orlando, one of the largest resort lakes in the area, offers guests the best value for their dollar. Additionally, the analysis reports that other area resorts charge an additional fee for extra passengers to ride on the Jet skis. This is NOT the practice at Summer Bay Orlando where there has been no increase in rental fees for more than 8 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at Summer Bay for our honeymoon. The resort was mostly families and big groups. Our room was nice and it was really clean. The pools were nice, they provided shaded areas, nice chairs and towels. They have a lot of events scheduled around the resort which was nice. They provide shuttles to the parks, we did not use them. The only shuttle to Universal left at 7AM and didn't return until 7:45PM, we felt that would be too much time there and we were correct, we were exhausted by 6PM. We also were excited to head to the lake, we wanted to spend an hour there one morning. We were disappointed to find out that it cost $12 to go onto all their inflatables on the lake! We decided it wasn't worth it, so we didn't try it out. The only complaint I have is the food at the restaurants wasn't very good. I wouldn't eat there for a single meal - there are plenty of nice places around there and we had a kitchen in our suite.
That being said, everything was nice and the pools were fun but food was gross. I don't think I'd ever stay there again - it was just so so, if I go back to Orlando I would try somewhere else. Maybe if I had a family and took advantage of all their offerings I'd say different.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerBayResorts, Manager at Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Congratulations to you on your recent marriage and thank you for your feedback on the cleanliness and overall excellent condition in which you found your accommodations and the resort grounds.

Yes, Summer Bay Orlando is filled with activities and it is a popular vacation spot for families. The 64-acre lake with white sand beach offers jet ski, canoe, pontoon and paddle boat rentals, an Aqua Park, and fishing dock providing activities for guests of all ages. And the kid's interactive water playground, five heated swimming pools, mini-golf, and daily scheduled activities and social gatherings complete the experience.

Best wishes to you as you build a lifetime of vacation memories -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Summer Bay in the beginning of June in a 2 bedroom condo for about $125 a night (including taxes and resort fees).

Pros:
1. Publix supermarket is next to the property, about a 10 minute walk. Transportation provided by the resort takes you there in 3 minutes. Publix has a variety of freshly prepared fried chicken that is very tasty and a family of four can eat for $12. There is a Denny's next to Publix that is open 24 hours. Publix is not open 24 hours.

2. The condos are bright, spacious, clean, have a refrigerator, stove and are fully equipped with all of the necessary essentials. Washer/dryer in the unit. Jacuzzi in the two bedroom condo (some units do not have a jacuzzi). Temperature control of the condo completely up to you. I have included photos with my review.

3. You can purchase Disney park and Universal tickets in the lobby. Free transportation to Disney and Universal. Otherwise, $35 one way taxi fare to Disney and $50 one way taxi fare to Universal. Remember if you miss the bus returning to the resort you can travel within Disney to the next pick up time at the next location. In the same way, if you miss a departure to a specific Disney park you can take the next bus and travel within Disney to the park you want to go to.

4. Absolutely loved yoga class however I did not like that it started at 7:30am!

Cons:
1. The grout in the shower of the master and guest bathrooms were not clean, needed a good scrubbing and bleach. I have included a photo of the master bathroom.

2. I found two water bugs that were moving very slowly inside the condo. I'm assuming they were poisoned with insecticide.

3. The temperature in the 24 hour pool next to the lobby was not warm one day. When I asked if the pool could be heated I was informed that maintenance was gone for the day. The resort charges a daily resort fee therefore 24 hour heated pools should be heated 24 hours.

4. Shuttle bus to Universal Studios has only one departure and one return time daily verses the Disney transportation schedule which has more departures and returns. For Universal Studios the bus leaves at 7:05am and returns at 7:30pm.

Remember to unplug your phones if you do not want to be disturbed by timeshare calls! We were awaken twice! We did not do the timeshare presentation because we felt that we wanted to enjoy every minute of our hard earned vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scotwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerBayResorts, Manager at Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Being comfortable on vacation is so important and we are delighted that you found Summer Bay Orlando to fit the bill.

Yes, the complimentary yoga classes start bright and early however what a wonderful way to start the day - refreshed, revived, and centered! For the not-so-early-risers, other fitness, social, and crafting activities follow throughout the day to entertain, help you keep fit, centered, and active.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent two nights here as it was part of a travel package we bought. When arrived at the hotel(was a resort), they tried to make us attend a mandatory "marketing tour" etc. Took a few phone calls overseas(cost me a fortune) to sort this out, finally we didnt have to attend. The hotel itself was ok, pretty average or a bit under the par, compared to your basic Hampton Inn etc. Same goes for the breakfast. The location was a bit far off though. I guess it was ok for the price.

Room Tip: Make sure if you need to attend marketing events, tours etc. that is mandatory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P_H_Helsinki_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerBayResorts, Manager at Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Glad to hear that all was sorted out! Our guests' satisfaction is our greatest compliment. Many special packages are available to guests to get acquainted with the concept of vacation ownership as putting families on vacation and helping them to realize their vacation and travel dreams is our daily pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clermont hotels
0.4 mi away
Crown Club Inn Orlando By Exploria Resorts
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Clermont
21.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Clermont
Days Inn & Suites Clermont
#10 of 17 in Clermont
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Orlando Clermont
14.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Clermont
14.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clermont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Price Range: £61 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando by Exploria Resorts has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando's world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we've got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot(R), Magic Kingdom(R) Park or Universal Studios Florida(R).Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts Florida/Clermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing