We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing on Many Levels”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clewiston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roland Martin's Marina and Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Clewiston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We reserved a two bed room condo at $150.00/night. The place is old, and dirty. The washing machine did not work. The "King" bed in the master suite was really two beds pushed together with a King sheet stretched over them and yes there was a gap and a height difference between the two. NOTHING was included, not even coffee. The refrigerator was old and rusty and dirty and the ice maker didn't work. The staff at the marina were absolutely uninterested in offering any help at all. The lady that checked me in couldn't even tell me what building our unit was in. The Tiki bar was the best thing there. The food was good and prices reasonable but the service was very slow. The fishing was awesome and the guides are as good as I have ever used. Shiners cost $20/dozen and we went through 5 dozen in less than three hours. Bring your wallet! If you are looking for clean, nice lodging and service with a smile stay away!!!! If you want great fishing this is the place. We stayed three nights and fished for two days. Cost for the fishing and lodging was $1500.00 which included the shiners. Add food for two, tips for the guides and we were at $2000.00 for the 3 days.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank CRNAPREZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramoniglesias, General Manager at Roland Martin's Marina and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

My name is Ramon Iglesias and am the General Manager. I apologize for your disappointing stay. Unfortunately I can not find a reservation for you under your screen name and would like to discuss further to help improve and remedy the situation. Please contact me @ 863-599-0460. Thank you in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

After spending time at SeaWorld we decided to do something different so we went Bass Fishing on Lake Okeechobee with one of your guides. We had a great time. We are already planning a trip to bring friends back. Great night sleep in your motel the goose down is a nice touch. Steak Night was awesome and the Airboat Ride was COOL!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now. The rooms are clean but slightly older. They have new electronic locks and room lacked a secondary deadbolt or locking mechanism. On site Tiki bar is convenient and reasonably priced. Popular stop for people doing the state crossing via the lake by boat .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Excellent way to get to the Big O. A completely self contianed resort. All you need for a great day of fishing. Restraunts, tackle, convenience all here. Great guides. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. A fun tiki bar too. It's all good here

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 336timc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Motel rooms by boat docks.
Clean / convenient to boat slips / short walk to tiki bar/ restaurant . Reasonable price / good housekeeping. is it a hilton , no , its essentially an old fish camp, tv/ cable works fine
a/c works good shower drains a lil slow but its 40+ year old building reasonable price / great for the serious fisherman/ not so great for any high maintenence ladies lol

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank fishhunt555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

You would think that on a sunny Saturday the owners would schedule plenty of wait staff for their restaurant. After our party placed orders a very large group came and there was only one waitress. She was so busy that we didn't even get drink refills, yet the bartender was eating lunch. The tiki hut has a relaxed decor, but has a funky smell from drains or something. A little bleach would do a load of good.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MataMcCree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Holy crap ! I've never seen such an ignorant bunch of hillbillies. If you expect service at the gift shop (and by "service" I mean running my credit card for a couple thousand dollars), you HAVE TO WAIT FOR THE GIRLS TO FINISH THEIR CIGARETTE BREAKS. Pathetic. Rooms were pretty gross, food comes one way - deep fried and covered in grease, the restaurant is FULL ON SMOKING - there is no escape from the smoke ANYWHERE - sections include SMOKING and CHAIN-SMOKING. And the "dock master" is apparently a drunken crabby elf-like man who is never there when you need him. Oh, and the facility is situated in a ghetto. Looks like Somalia. Avoid this dump at all costs. Jolly Rogers marina is a much better choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldFisher77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clewiston
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clewiston
1.9 mi away
Best Western Of Clewiston
Best Western Of Clewiston
#3 of 7 in Clewiston
124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clewiston Inn
Clewiston Inn
#6 of 7 in Clewiston
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Plaza Travel Inn
Plaza Travel Inn
#5 of 7 in Clewiston
14 reviews
19.2 mi away
North Lake Estates RV Resort
North Lake Estates RV Resort
#1 of 6 in Moore Haven
21 reviews
1.2 mi away
Motor Inn - Clewiston
Motor Inn - Clewiston
#4 of 7 in Clewiston
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roland Martin's Marina and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roland Martin's Marina and Resort

Address: 920 E. Del Monte Ave., Clewiston, FL 33440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clewiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Clewiston
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the Southern Shores of Lake Okeechobee in Clewiston Florida. Get away from the hustle and bustle of the big city and visit our quaint fishing resort. Hire a guide, take an Airboat Ride, Rent a boat or just hang out at the pool. Great food at the Galley Grill or enjoy a Gator Bite at the Tiki Bar!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roland Martin`s Marina Hotel Clewiston
Roland Martin's Marina And Resort Clewiston, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing