We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal place to stay in the centre of Clewiston”
Review of Clewiston Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clewiston Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Clewiston
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We visited Clewiston and the lake in November and needed somewhere to stay overnight.before continuing our visit next morning. The first call was into this hotel, where the receptionist was very helpful and offered us a fine room at an acceptable price. Search over - we did not bother to look anywhere else. The room was a good size, well presented and clean, with a big comfy bed. The bathroom was well appointed.
A complimentary breakfast was available, with a good choice. We found enough to satisfy our wheat-free diet.
We were very impressed by the service given by the receptionist who also tried to get us a place on the sugar cane tour. That was not possible but we will try next time. However, we went to the town museum and found that very interesting.
So, we recommend this hotel to you, and wish you a good stay there.

Room Tip: If you have luggage, try for a room on the ground(1st) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NIGEL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

The service is so bad hard to know where to begin. Rooms are not clean and even during our stay we had to go to front desk for soap and other necessary bathroom items two days in a row after our room had been visited by maid service. In our 3 day stay room was not vacuumed and wi fi never worked. Heat stopped working and Mosquitos bit me in the room. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nattyjef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This restaurant has sort of lost it's charm. Food tired, little atmosphere. Granted we were there for an early lunch, but we were the only one's in the restaurant. Went to the marina for dessert and should have gone there for lunch instead.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank TheRaininSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I helped to organize a group travel trip to Southern Florida and our base camp was the Clewiston Inn. The service was great, the rooms were nice, and the Clewiston Inn provided us good buffet style meals at a super reasonable price. They let our group have the run of the hotel for a week, and went above and beyond to make our group happy. Of the 30 or so rooms that we booked, two people complained to me about air conditioning problems in their room. The hotel owner explained that they were trying to resolve the ac issue in those rooms, so hopefully that does get resolved.

Other than that, everything went super smooth and we will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brenda0922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

About a week ago, I was looking to go fishing in Clewiston, Fl. My first choice in a place to stay was very close to the water of course, since I would have my boat and would be using a fishing guide from a well named fisherman's resort in Clewiston. It took sometime to get someone on the phone to help us from the resort, but once we finally got to the right person, though she seemed a little rushed and not "customer service"friendly as I had hoped for, I reluctantly made the reservations hoping for a better outcome upon arrival. Well, unfortunately, this was not the case. We arrived at the resort, where we were told our key was to be in a mail box at the side entrance, there was no one around & there WERE NO KEYS. Now, though there was numbers on the door, it said in case of emergency only..that was a little scary..the wife and I were wondering how one runs a motel that is occupied 24/7, with nobody to assist around. Im supposed to call this number, at 11pm at night, and tell this person on the other end of the phone, whom with which I hope is not upset with me for calling so late in the hour, so, per the wifes instructions, I call the first number on the door. Just a voicemail. So, by this time, Im getting a little upset. We got back into our vehicle and drove down the highway. Just a few blocks down, we spotted The Historic Clewiston Inn. Once we walked through the door, the young woman behind the desk, as alert as if it were afternoon, not now almost midnight, quickly assisted us. We told her our story of the terrible time we had down at the resort & marina, and she kindly showed us to a room, and even though it wasn't her trouble caused, she gave us a discount on our room just because we had already had such a tough time!! Can you believe that? The young lady gave us a discount even though it was not her mistake...SHE DIDNT EVEN WORK THERE!! She was super nice to us, showing us to our room personally and letting us know about the FREE wireless internet, FREE hot breakfast in the morning, compliments of the hotel and also informing us that someone would be at the front desk 24/7. Once in our room, we didnt feel like we were in a historic inn at all! You could not tell by looking in the rooms that the place was built in the 30's. They are decorated very nice and the beds were SOOO comfy! As a fisherman, I like to get up early. So I call the front desk and ask the nice young lady if she could get me an alarm clock. Instead she informed me that sh would give me a wake up call. This place is soo cool!! It has so much history behind it, yet it is a nice, modern place to stay! And the food in the restaurant was GREAT!! The service was a little off, but the dining room was very elegant and the atmosphere was very country and comforting. It was a very nice meal. If I had to rate the great Historic Clewiston Inn located in Clewiston, Florida, I would stay its definitely a four star hotel! Who would have thought such a small town would have such a nice, upscale place at such an affordable price. Dont hesitate to give them a call and ask about their rooms, their great breakfast and their relaxing Everglades Lounge. And dont be afraid to ask for a discount!! Not only are they friendly and clean, they are also very generous & professional!!

Room Tip: Due to renovations, The Inn no longer offers a fitness room, but there is a nice little park across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randolph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We were part of a group for the buffet lunch. We arrived at our reserved time and found our salads had already been set out for us. The salad had obviously been there quite some time as the onion rings placed atop the salad was limp, the lettuce was brown where it had been cut and one tomato slice. Ranch dressing was all that was available. Iced tea was the only drink and had to hunt down someone for a glass of water.

The buffet was quite limited, chicken, very dry meatloaf, dry, sticky mashed potatoes, California vegetable mix which was overcooked and had become mush and spinach. Also a small corn muffin which was very good. Two members of our group were vegetarians and the only thing there for them to eat was the vegetables, no effort was made to find them something else from the kitchen or not charge them for lunch. Dessert of white cake with chocolate frosting had also been set on the table before our arrival. Others seemed to be getting the same dessert so this was likely the only dessert available.

Service was non existent, if you needed something you had to go find someone to assist you. Table linens were stained and wrinkled It appeared there was not much care taken to provide good quality food or service.

I would not go to the Clewiston Inn again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waytoofun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the inn Sunday Feb 19th in order to visit STA-5 on Monday. The inn is attractive, well kept up, and charming. However, perhaps Sunday afternoon isn't the best time to arrive or maybe we just hit it on an off day, but we were not entirely satisfied with our experience.

For one, staff appeared unmotivated and unenthusiastic. Although our questions at the desk were answered, no information was volunteered, including what time breakfast was served. The king bedroom was small but adequate, and the bed comfortable. A TV upgrade would be helpful, as the old set doesn't quite fit in its cabinet, and the remote doesn't control all functions. As the hotel restaurant is apparently not open Sunday evenings, we can't report on dinner. However for breakfast at 7:00 there was no server in evidence, so we helped ourselves to coffee, found the cook in the kitchen, and ordered breakfast. At that point a person who claimed to be our waitress appeared, asked if we had coffee, then disappeared. Again we had to enter the kitchen to inquire about the juice and fresh fruit that was supposed to be part of the guest menu. We never did get the fruit.

A previous review noted that the Clewiston Inn might benefit from a bit of 'tweaking' and we agree. Perhaps starting with the somewhat out of place electric sign board at the hotel entrance announcing "Breakfast Buffett" and "Fisherman Welcome". The place could be a lot nicer with only a little effort.

Room Tip: Rooms vary - ask to see room first. Be aware of the public tennis/basketball courts across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EasternWillotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clewiston
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clewiston
1.0 mi away
Best Western Of Clewiston
Best Western Of Clewiston
#3 of 7 in Clewiston
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plaza Travel Inn
Plaza Travel Inn
#5 of 7 in Clewiston
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
North Lake Estates RV Resort
North Lake Estates RV Resort
#1 of 6 in Moore Haven
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motor Inn - Clewiston
Motor Inn - Clewiston
#4 of 7 in Clewiston
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clewiston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clewiston Inn

Address: 108 Royal Palm Ave., Clewiston, FL 33440-2931
Region: United States > Florida > Clewiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Clewiston
Price Range: £55 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clewiston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clewiston Inn was built in 1938 by the U.S. Sugar Corporation to host company executives and visiting dignitaries. The Inn is a very elegant structure in the Classical-Revival style. The Historic Clewiston Inn is a boutique hotel offering 57 rooms, 8 lovely courtyard villas, a 200 seat Colonial dining room, a world famous Everglades cocktail lounge, tennis courts, a safari massage spa and a lovely park filled with native Florida trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clewiston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clewiston Hotel Clewiston
Clewiston Inn Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing