We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad attitude cook”
Review of Clewiston Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clewiston Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Clewiston
Reviewed 29 April 2013

On a 2 week touring holiday to Florida from UK we opted to stay here for 2 nights since it promised to be charming as a US National Historic Place.We had booked a King room but found there was only one bedside table with lamp and one rather uncomfortable chair.The room looked shabby and in need of some restoration, as did the bathroom. After complaining, we were moved to another and better room though the bathroom still left a lot to be desired i.e. green scale round shower head and taps with drainage that took forever.

The advice I most wish to give however is to avoid the restaurant at all costs. This is a separate enterprise to the hotel though that is not made clear until one questions the service and standard of food. Unfortunately we arrived quite late at the hotel and after having to move rooms it was approaching 8.45pm as we entered the dining room where we found the place empty and the waitress vacuuming the carpet. We asked to be seated and were then told we'd have to order food quickly as this must be done before 9pm. After placing our order which we made as simple as possible, given the time restraints, we could hear the cook complaining about us from the kitchen and the food we were served was disgusting. The waitress then proceeded to make us feel even more uncomfortable by continuing her vacuuming. The following morning we were advised we could have a choice of how our eggs were prepared and opted for scrambled which duly arrived looking like something between an omelette and scrambled with accompanying sausage and greasy fried potatoes. No cereal, no fruit juice and in all, an unpleasant experience. The following day we thought we'd be sensible and order omelettes from the outset but were politely informed by the waitress that the cook does not do omelettes!! No win situation we felt. Needless to say we ate dinner elsewhere on the second night of our stay.As we checked out I passed comment on our unpleasant and disappointing experience of the restaurant and from the person on the desk got the definite impression that I was not the first to complain. Perhaps if they sacked the cook and got someone who can cook and keep her mouth shut so guests cannot here her grumbles then the hotels other faults would be more easily over looked.

Room Tip: Room 124 was acceptable but if possible look at a room before making a firm commitment to stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbie56_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2013

Options were the Holiday Inn or here and I opted for "charm" and stayed at the Clewiston Inn given slightly cheaper price and same listed amenities. Next time I'll stay at the Holiday Inn. The room was quiet and clean enough but a bit worn. No fitness facilities as listed on the website - I was told they turned it into a storage room. The main reception areas had a stale, mustiness to them. Breakfast is included but I only could only eat a few bites - potatoes were hard, biscuit was greasy and scrambled eggs without flavour. I ended up at McDonald's for an egg McMuffin...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingScotNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

It is very unique experience staying at Clewiston inn. Staff are very helpful and food was great. This place is registered under "US National Historic Place". Mural in the Bar is breathtaking, painting itself worth millions of dollars. It was amazing one time in life experience.Thank you again.

Room Tip: Ask for honeymoon sweets or rooms on back courtyard it is very unique and wonderfull experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charliepatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The Clewiston Inn is a historic hotel on the National Register located in Clewiston FL. It is a landmark in the area and has a good reputation. For that reason I made a reservation for myself, my wife and another couple for the Inn's Easter Brunch. We drove 70 miles on Easter morning in anticipation of a delicious meal in an interesting location.

The menu sounded great with a salad bar, omelet station, soup, fried chicken, ham, roast beef, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, southern style collard greens, green beans and more. Also advertised were a variety of desserts. The reality did not meet expectation.

The salad bar was a skimpy arrangement of lettuce, sliced tomatos, sliced cucumber, sliced onion, shredded cheese, cottage cheese, canned peaches, pickled beets a few other items I forget and a previously frozen and mushy fruit cocktail.

The buffet consisted of a soup that I did not try, an omelet station, deep fried chicken that my wife said was cold, spiral ham and sliced roast beef in a pan with gravy. The remainder was pretty much as described in the menu with the exception of the desserts which I will describe later.

The chicken was cold and flavorless, the ham was ok, the beef was very tough and tasteless.
The entire buffet was plated by employees behind the counter and portions were very skimpy unless a larger portion was requested. The potatoes, collards, green beans rice and sweet potatoes were ok but nothing special.

Our server did not supply our table with rolls until asked. When they arrived they had obviously been microwaved and were dry and crusty.

Finally, the desserts consisted of carrot cake and German chocolate sheet cake that was served by employees from the center of the buffet line. The cakes were both very dry and obviously not fresh. At that point it didn't matter but the size of the cake slice was slightly larger than a postage stamp.

In this part of the world, $14.50 will buy a very nice meal in most restaurants and buffets. For a festive meal at a somewhat premium price most similar venues would provide an extensive salad bar, an extensive dessert bar, one or more carving stations and a larger variety of sides. Overall, our group was very disappointed with the meal and do not recommend the Clewiston Inn as a restaurant. We did discuss our displeasure with the cashier even though she did not ask us if we enjoyed the meal.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel, we only ate in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Duane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I was one of a large group who selected this hotel for an overnight. We had some special needs and all were accommodated by the friendly staff. The lounge is one-of-a-kind, and Antonio made us all feel right at home. We had dinner in the main dining room and enjoyed the best fried chicken ever - served up by Erica, who tolerated quite a bit from our rambunctious and very hungry group. The nest morning Cheyenne served up a great buffet breakfast and went above and beyond by helping us with photos and getting us on our way. The owner/manager is on site and keeps a close eye on his guests needs, I really enjoyed getting to know him and the other fine staff. The rooms are awesome - this was the best nights sleep I can remember away from home. The hotel is a jewel in Florida's crown. Thank you so much for maintaining such old Florida charm! Staying at the Clewiston Inn made our trip to "America's sweetest city" even sweeter!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_M34618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Lovely inn with much character. Beautiful wood and decor. Staff polite and helpful. Breakfast of eggs, bacon or sausage, homefries or grits, toast or biscuit and beverage included in stay. Also ate dinner there excellent salad bar, good food reasonably priced. When there be sure to check out the unique bar with all the walls painted with surround scene of Florida landscape. This was painted in the 1940's...a beautiful treasure. This building is a national historic site so some of the rooms are small and updating must be kept in line with the historic regulations. Will make a return trip this inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 41576KathleenMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We had 2 rooms in this hotel. Both were tiny, dirty and in desperate need of an updating. The shower barely worked in the one room and the drain pipes were completely plugged in the other making the shower useless.

I reported the problems to the front desk several times. Nothing was done about it for our entire stay and we kept getting passed around to a "manager" who conveniently never materialized. It culminated in an argument with the receptionist upon our departure where we were told the same BS story and that she couldn't do anything about it.

Though we didnt eat anything in their dining room, the locals advised against it. We'll look for another place next year. It ranks near the bottom of list of all hotel I have stayed in.

Jim

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clewiston
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clewiston
1.0 mi away
Best Western Of Clewiston
Best Western Of Clewiston
#3 of 7 in Clewiston
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plaza Travel Inn
Plaza Travel Inn
#5 of 7 in Clewiston
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
North Lake Estates RV Resort
North Lake Estates RV Resort
#1 of 6 in Moore Haven
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motor Inn - Clewiston
Motor Inn - Clewiston
#4 of 7 in Clewiston
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clewiston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clewiston Inn

Address: 108 Royal Palm Ave., Clewiston, FL 33440-2931
Region: United States > Florida > Clewiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Clewiston
Price Range: £54 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clewiston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clewiston Inn was built in 1938 by the U.S. Sugar Corporation to host company executives and visiting dignitaries. The Inn is a very elegant structure in the Classical-Revival style. The Historic Clewiston Inn is a boutique hotel offering 57 rooms, 8 lovely courtyard villas, a 200 seat Colonial dining room, a world famous Everglades cocktail lounge, tennis courts, a safari massage spa and a lovely park filled with native Florida trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clewiston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clewiston Hotel Clewiston
Clewiston Inn Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing