We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious ribs & brunswick stew!”

Kay's Real Pit Bar-B-Q
Ranked #28 of 126 Restaurants in Cocoa
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Delicious ribs & brunswick stew!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The spare ribs were great and the Brunswick stew was awesome! Very tasty, although the prices were a bit higher than I expected. I'd go there again for sure.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    29
    14
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprising!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I purchased 4 take out lunches today. The chef salads were very nice and most generous. The sliced pork sandwiches were pitiful. I ordered 2 "regular" size sandwiches. There was not enough meat to cover the very small bun. They looked like a kiddy menu serving. I was really disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Psaw4052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good portion if you like vinegar based BBQ”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Pulled pork had a real vinegar bite. Tasty, but I like vinegar. Cole slaw very tart but excellent. Beans are molasses based so sweet. St Louis ribs were tender and tasty.

Seems like a popular local lunch place - we stopped there on the way South. Service was very good.

Helpful?
Thank VirginiaFJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Bar-B-Q”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had some time to kill before our grandson's ball game so we decided to grab dinner before the game. We searched for something close by and happened upon Kay's. Homerun!!!! My wife ordered the half rack of baby back ribs along with sides of baked beans and coleslaw. The baked beans were sweet and creamy while the coleslaw was fresh and had a slight bite to it. So far so good! The portion of ribs would have been a full portion any place else. They were fall off of the bone cooked! Grand slam!!!! I had the fried flounder sandwich served on a hoagie roll along with lettuce and tomato. They served a side of tartar sauce if I felt the sandwich needed something to complete the meal. The fish was so moist no dressing was necessary. If you are ever in the area and find yourself in need of nourishment do not hesitate to stop in and enjoy!!! You'll thank me later.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manotick
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent Ribs, Huge Portions, Tired Decor”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were stopping overnight near I-95 and drove around looking for somewhere to eat. The neighborhood does not look inviting. In fact, this was the first place that looked like it was not fast food and likely safe for a couple on holiday. We even took a look inside before we agreed that we would stay to eat. We were pleasantly surprised. The shared rib platter (my wife has recently been converted to eating properly prepared ribs) was very good. The prices were also good. The portions were too large - so be careful what you order. The service was friendly and efficient. The décor can best be described as "tired local eatery." I am not sure it deserves a very good rating, but it is also somewhat above average. The prices and quality of the ribs took it up one notch, or maybe it was just that we were hungry and desperate to find a restaurant late in the evening after ten hours on the road!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kay's Real Pit Bar-B-Q also viewed

Cocoa, Brevard County
Cocoa, Brevard County
 
Cocoa, Brevard County
 

Been to Kay's Real Pit Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing