We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for lunch”
Review of Sonny's BBQ - CLOSED

Sonny's BBQ
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Silvis, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent for lunch”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Ate there 3 times in two weeks we were in town. The chicken and pork were good but the brisket midday twice was to die for. The third time for dinner it was a little drier. The meat had goo flavor, didn't need sauce. Lunch excellent value. For $15 and change 2 lunches fed my wife and I two meals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael1972P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Michael1972P, thank you for the great review! We're happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your chicken and pork meals. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    63
    27
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Visited Sonny's for lunch Saturday on a recent day trip to Cocoa Beach on vacation in Florida
Place was quiet but food & service was awesome!
If you want genuine American BBQ this is the place
Loved it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dave C, thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear that you decided to stop by and enjoyed our BBQ! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4.5 out of 5”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Excellent, tasty, delicious BBQ ribs, chicken and everything else... cook to perfection.
Great Value! Great Price! Good Service! ... just needs to be a little neater.
I will go again anytime.
JO

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for the great review, James O! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our service and great value for BBQ. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon for more ribs and chicken!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classmates”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband meet some friends he had not seen in 50 years for dinner here. The food was good and we did not feel rushed to leave.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sgibeachcomber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Sgibeachcomber1, thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your service with us! We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will to see you and your husband's friends again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baie Verte, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great value for your dollar”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Sonny's Real Pit BBQ was a suggestion from our friends. We decided to have the sample platter, which included the following:

Brisket - Fabulous
Pulled Pork - Great
Rotisserie Chicken - Excellent
Ribs - not so great

We definitely would NOT have the ribs again, and later our friends told us that the pulled pork was the reason they go there. There were ton's of options for side dishes, and the pink lemonade was huge and to die for!!! Make sure you ask the waitress for your last glass to go!

We would go again. There was way too much food for one person, so next time if we get the sampler, we will definitely share!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for the great review, GregCrystal! We're glad you hear that you enjoyed many of our menu options. We hope appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
 
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
Cocoa Beach, Brevard County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing