We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hollissaestep
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed here on a time share. The staff was friendly, the room was huge and clean, and the view amazing. I loved the big balcony off the living room and the bedroom. The beach was nice and clean. I liked the hot tub and the heated pool. The in house restaurant was very good and cheap. I stayed here with 3 other people and we had plenty of room and fun. Cocoa Beach is not very touristy fyi. Madd Jack's Grillin Shack next door is fantastic as well. Great basketball court and tennis courts as well. Very fast elevators, too.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hollissaestep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    95
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
122
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

My friend and I stayed a week at the Discovery Resort Cocoa Beach, FL. On arrival staff very friendly and helpful. Lobby area clean and decorated for the Christmas holiday. Once we got to our room I was initially disappointed. The furnishings and bathrooms/kitchen were very 1980s motif and pretty worn out looking. However, the place was clean and had a fabulous view of the beach and ocean. We had a balcony but the chair cushions were thread bare not an impressive look (haha). On the up side, the view, the view, the view! Plus, full stocked kitchen, (we were missing a fork or two when did our checklist). Beds were comfortable (King in Master bedroom, twins in 2nd bedroom). Last day they delivered a new couch....nice to look at but awful to sit on..very uncomfortable! We spent most of our time at pool or on the beach. Pool area was small side but plenty of loungers, in fact too many for number of people! Had to push aside to get in, no tables to place your things on. Hot tub great! Nice umbrellas and staff helpful in putting them up for guests. Activity person was wonderful, she was alot of fun and very friendly to all the guests. Overall, stay was great, met alot of nice people, relaxed and enjoyed the florida sunshine! I would stay here again because it was clean, great location and wonderful hotel staff.

Room Tip: All rooms have beach view so no bad rooms, we were on 4th floor with great ocean view...any lower wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Runaway47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I recently stayed at this property with friends for 1 week. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo.
The kitchen was very adequate and was stocked with dishes, cutlery, pots & pans. However, there was 1 dish towel and 1 role of paper towels. There were no condiments (salt, pepper, sugar, etc.) provided so bring your own. Also no plastic wrap or foil or covered dishes to save leftovers. Beach towles and bath towels are provided and you could exchange them daily.
The condo was very clean and well maintained. However, the furnishings need to be replaced. The sofa in the living room was very uncomfortable to sit on and the chairs for the dining room table had permanent indentations. There were 2 chairs provided on the balcony and these were not too comfortable. The view is wonderful. Beds were great. Very quiet at night.
The pool area was clean & maintained. One day there was live music and it was pretty awful. Mostly country but not even that was good. A nice tiki bar serving lunches, snack & drinks. Drink prices are very reasonable. The pool is heated and very nice for swimming. The pool chairs are the type you can't lay on face down but are in good condition.
A very short walk on a wooden bridge over the dunes takes you to a wide beach. Lots of shells and you can walk for miles. This time of year the ocean was cold so hardly any one went in. There wre surfers in wet suits. Lots of people fishing.
Cocoa Beach is a kind of sad area. Run down and drab. A Publix is within walking distance, but I would recommend a car unless you plan to stay at the resort every day.
The staff here are great and will do anything for you. Very friendly and competent.
We did the gambling cruise out of Canaveral - don't. It's pretty depressing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are quietest and have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funtrips82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This was the place we stayed at when I was a little kid. I loved it so much. It's a close walk to the lovely pier, and the apartments themsleves are pretty nice. The balcony is roomy and the place we stayed at had 2 bedrooms: a master and a "kids room" with two twin beds. The best way to do a beach vacation is to have your own condo with a kitchen so you can enjoy breakfast on the balcony. That's always the best. There's nothing quite like having the balcony door open and kicking back on the couch, reading a good book, and just enjoying the sound of the ocean. Not sure about how much this place cost (spoiled child as I was, I was never aware of how expensive anything was) but my dad wouldn't get anything if it wasn't a good deal so I'm sure this place is budget-friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbugher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this resort with our 2 grown up sons in June. The apartment was very spacious, clean and in a great location, we particularly loved the sea views and easy access to the beach. We hired sunbeds and umbreallas on the beach and enjoyed the close proximity of the pier. Publix and Dunkin donuts were within walking distance and the discovery beach cafe on site served great food. The staff were very pleasant and polite. Overall, we had a fantastic holiday and would return in a heartbeat!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank N_IrelandNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Discovery Beach...the staff were friendly and were quick in solving a maintenance issue. All rooms face the ocean and the rooms have been updated since our previous stay a few years ago. We dont have any young children, but there were daily activities for them

Room Tip: We were at the end of the hallway so we didnt hear the elevator or any hall noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susanwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Our family has been coming to Cocoa Beach, FL for years and has always stayed at Discovery Beach Resort. It is a very family-friendly atmosphere, best view of the Ocean from the balcony in the room, great service, kind people, and just an overall pleasant experience each and every time. I highly recommend this establishment!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tah0227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Beach Resort

Property: Discovery Beach Resort
Address: 300 Barlow Ave., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
Discovery Beach Cocoa
Discovery Beach Resort Cocoa Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing