We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Discovery Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent family resort”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This resort is a wonderful place for a family to stay. Everyone was very friendly. Small town atmosphere with good places to eat close by. There were activities for both adults and children. Room was very clean and loved the ocean view from the balcony! We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor cannot view the beach because of sand dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    99
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
126
59
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

This resort is too good to believe! Staff friendly and helpful - Lauren and Peggie at the front desk bent over backwards to make sure all was PERFECT - Ken with property security is amazing - beyond polite and helpful in what can only be described as total southern hospitality (Grandma must have raised him right) beautiful accommodations - spa-pool-game room-nice exercise room-sauna-Tiki bar-rooms with beach view balconies-full kitchen and very comfortable beds. Very clean and in good condition. Did I mention tennis courts- covered parking and full sized equiped kitchens with dishwashers and washer/dryers? Grocery stores 5 blks away. Nothing missing nothing lacking. Oh yeah - onsite rest with great food. Try the grilled or blackened catch or turkey club at lunch. Prices were great all around!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VirginiaFJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Week-long timeshare swap. Had a 2-BR unit on the pool end (_20). Simple, clean accommodations. This is not a luxury resort - it isn't trying to be. If you want to be pampered, go elsewhere. If you are looking for a reasonable, clean, convenient place to stay, this is your place. On the beach, decent pool area, Publix nearby, restaurants within walking distance. Location is great. Very friendly and helpful staff. Kids activities are a welcome break for parents (and kids!). On-site restaurant is good. Get the turkey club sandwich. Only complaint is a small one: for long stays, you can swap towels, but only once per day. Not sure why you can't swap dirty towels for clean towels more than once per day. Strange rule. Overall, a good stay.

Room Tip: Music at the pool kicks-in at 8AM. You'll hear it in the bedrooms of lower floor rooms close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aljamach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I had our 5 year old grandson with us...we lucked out with a 6th floor corner unit (2BR/2BR) that was just perfect! Maybe it was the beautiful weather...or the beautiful beach...or the great location...or the great food at the on-site restaurant...or just maybe it was the Discovery Resort!!! We had the best time and loved all of it! The only negative was that the pool area was having lighting installed and it was not landscaped as I hope it will be in the future. The pool area was closed 1 day while we were there so we went to the resort down the road which actually had a nicer and larger pool. If not for the pool issue, I would have given this a 5 star, for sure. I want to go back!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Upper floors have the views...all rooms are ocean front. Corner units have a larger deck area with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Ocean front resort with great views and great beach! Rooms are nice, clean but very basic in decor. We stayed in two bedroom with a pullout sofa, dining table and full kitchen. It had everything we needed to cook and everything we need to be comfortable with two kids. The ocean is beautiful and fairly calm, but perfect for kids to boogie board and surf, and parents not to worry. The resort is very close to the largest Ron Jon's in the states, so you get do lots of great shopping and get all the surfing and boogie boarding gear you want. The resort has it's own kids club, basketball courts, tennis courts, a game room, a ping pong table and a very impressive gym compared to most places. My kids made use of everyone of these amenities, especially the game room. The restaurant is also good. I recommend Friday night, outside with the steel drums. It is a fun atmosphere, although it can be smokey outside. The pool is a little small and looks like it could use some renovating and landscaping. Overall, great trip for all.

Room Tip: You want a room on the 5th floor or higher for the best views of ocean. The second and third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beatriz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The resort is located beach front. Great people to deal with for service and help. We totally enjoyed our stay thanks to the staff and amenities. They have a great restaurant and tiki bar as well as a comfortable pool and pool area. We will be making this top on our list for fun spots. Great location near the Pier and shops.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front but the south corner units face the pier. North corner units face NASA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ggfbroker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casselberry, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We snagged a great deal at the last minute to enjoy the 4th of July week on Cocoa Beach. Discovery is nice, clean, not luxurious but with a full range of amenities.

First, unlike some other places, EVERY unit has a balcony that faces due east toward the beach. There is a nice wild green space between the resort and the dunes, so the view is perfect. My only cautions on the units are to insist on 3rd floor or higher (2nd floor is too low to actually see the beach I think) and avoid rooms ending in -12 (312, 412, etc.) Those 12's bedroom windows are in the alcove of the elevators, which are enclose echo chambers. We were initially assigned 312 and thankfully were able to switch over to 314. Odd that a single room over would make such a difference, but it does.

Our unit was 2br/2ba and included washer/dryer, dishwasher, coffer maker, vacuum, hair dryer, etc. Everything was fine except the stove's burners acted odd one night - the two large burners wouldn't stay on properly. Otherwise everything worked well, plenty of a/c, hot water, etc.

We received a courtesy call the first morning to make sure everything was ok. The master bedroom door was a bit out of place and wouldn't close, so I mentioned it but we weren't worried about it. Ten minutes later a maintenance guy arrived to fix it.

The staff was friendly and helpful all weekend. They had some live (semi-karaoke) music by the pool several days and evenings, and at their little tiki bar.

Common areas were clean though a bit dated. Our recreational focus was the beach, which is a short (75 yards?) hike over the dunes. They did list activities for kids.

The pool is nice but a tad undersized for a busy week. The water was VERY warm. The hit tub seemed always full.

We didn't try the restaurant except we did have a nice lunch at that tiki bar on day. Food was standard beachside fare but well done and great service.

We will definitely keep them high on our list of rentals for Cocoa Beach. If I had a timeshare, I'd be happy with it and/or trading to it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theologator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
926 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Beach Resort

Property: Discovery Beach Resort
Address: 300 Barlow Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Discovery Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
Discovery Beach Cocoa
Discovery Beach Resort Cocoa Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing